1991 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 12 of 17

1991 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Great First Car or Starter Car!

Faults:

CV Boot has had to be replaced twice in four years.

Axle was replaced at 150000, yet broke again.

Distributor and Ignition switch have gone bad three times in four years.

Radiator busted at 160000.

Master cylinder (works the brakes) going bad at 194000.

Air conditioner quit working at 147000.

Seats are firm, not soft.

No elbow room for larger people.

Transmission has started slipping after 190000.

General Comments:

This car can handle anything. I went from a 83 Firebird to this Honda and drive it like it is a sports car. It keeps up for the most part.

Dummy oil light works really well. I continuously ran this car low on oil (about 1 - 1 1/2 quarts in it) and the engine never blew!

Takes a licking, keeps on ticking.

Handles on curves really well.

Loves to go over 75 miles per hour.

Very fuel efficient!! When gas was under $1, full tank of gas costs approximately $8 - $9!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

13th Jul 2004, 11:08

When gasoline was $0.89 per gallon, you could spend eight or nine dollars and fill your tank in a Honda Civic dx, assuming you had a little bit of gas in the tank. If you have absolutely no gas in the tank, the sending unit in the gas tank will read below the empty line on the dashboard gas gauge.

24th Oct 2008, 18:06

It only has a 10 gallon tank so $8-9 makes perfect sense if gas is under $1.

1991 Honda Civic DX 1.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance148534 miles

Summary:

Fantastic car at a bargain price

Faults:

Had to replace the muffler 3 times.

Radiator cracked on top at 110,000 miles.

Seat belts have a retraction problem in humid weather.

Seats seem to get stiffer over time, I have no idea why.

Driver seat fabric wore out at about 80,000 miles.

Replaced the clutch at about 90,000 miles.

Main relay module failed at 100,000 miles, causing starting problems.

Valve cover seal failing at 148,000 miles.

Emergency brake cable snapped for left rear wheel at about 60,000 miles.

Headlights retain rain water and are constantly fogged over.

Taillights retain water and are molding up on the inside.

Red paint fades after about 5 years of age.

Oil pan leaking very little at about 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

This Honda Civic is an extremely reliable car.

Very sporty and quick, if you have the manual 5 speed.

I get around 30-35 miles per gallon in the city and about 35-39 on the highway.

Easy to work on mechanical and electrical parts of the car.

Interior is easy to clean.

Kind of loud engine noise at or above 75 miles per hour, but still has extra power to pass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

18th Nov 2004, 08:33

Sounds about identical to my 1991 Civic DX. Been a great car! Red paint started going south a few years ago. Headlights and taillights leak water. Replaced muffler at least three times. Radiator just cracked this morning 109,799 miles. Had to replace the cv joints a couple of years ago. Been a great car, but I think it is time to start looking for a new ride. Going to try and find a used Accord with low miles!

1991 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carSubaru DL

Summary:

A rice burner that handles like it is burning risotto, not rice

Faults:

My radiator sprang a leak, easy fix with some cold weld adhesive.

I'm on my 3rd muffler. They keep rusting out.

Constant velocity joints, but it's front wheel drive so that is to be expected.

General Comments:

This car has been the best car I have even had.

I'm over 175,000 miles and still on the original clutch.

If looking get a stick, you can't go wrong, it will get up and go when needed.

There are not many cars that can save you money with insurance and still have a little bit of sport to keep it exciting, not to mention great gas mileage.

As a used car you can't go wrong with a Honda product they just won't die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

13th Jun 2006, 20:52

I feel really bad for many Civic owners. I've driven some Civics and have found nothing wrong with them at all. Honda makes some great quality engines, and I've never seen them broken down on the road.

If you are going to soup up a Civic, then do it right! Damn-it! A good acquaintance of mine had a 1991 Honda Civic with a b16 engine in it and nothing at all to the body. It was a frigging bullet! She raced that thing and smoked = many cars. She even took out a 5L Mustang and other Civics that tried to race her. Civics are incredible used cars and I might consider one because of their dependability. My point is seeing these big fart cannons on them give them a lousy reputation. Same thing applies with a Crappalier... oh, sorry Cavalier.

21st Dec 2006, 11:11

A 95 5.0 is a P.O.S...0 handling, can you say solid rear axle, can't stop to save your life, and such a big gas guzzler for such little horsepower, what a waste. There is a replacement for displacement and that's horsepower to weight ratio. Try my 91 SI with a USDM B18C1 and LSD trans. This car is not a world beater, but it's been built to put out 190hp to the front wheels, the car weighs 2300lbs, and all you will see is a small red car getting even smaller.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 63 reviews