2005 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2005 Honda Odyssey LX STANDARD from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission STANDARD Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

For $32, 000 this vehicle is a piece of junk

Faults:

AIR CONDITIONER FAILURE AT 39,000 MILES.

At 39000 miles the air conditioner stopped working, I I returned to the dealer who advised me that it was out of warranty and that the part that I need was $250.00, I had it installed, the unit worked for 2 days and again failed, I returnd to the dealer and they advised me that the condenser had rotted out and I needed a new one. The condenser installed cost over $500.00.

BRAKE PROBLEMS

Purchased this vehicle new and the front end vibrated when stopping. I returned to the dealer and they said the rotors were probably warped and they did not replace them, but cut the rotors that were on vehicle. This solved the problem, but now I have reconditioned rotors on a new vehicle.

General Comments:

My two previous vehicles were an Explorer and a Wind sar and never had such serious problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

20th Jul 2006, 21:13

Gee, why an I not surprised?? As one who has had first hand experience with the myth (and it IS a MYTH) of Japanese superiority I feel for you. We went back to American cars and will never again be mislead by advertising hype and clueless magazine writers. We currently own 2 GM vehicles and one Ford. None of them has ever required a single repair. You should have kept your Explorer.

2005 Honda Odyssey L 2.4L from Japan

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

Almost perfect

Faults:

NOTHING!

General Comments:

Smooth, precise, reliable handling. Interior design is the best. Honda internavi system is easy to use. Seats could be alittle more comfortable, but I was spoiled with the Volvo seats of my previous car. Bottom line: I went from a Volvo V70 T5 to a Honda Odyssey (Japan model is different from U.S.A. model) because my Volvo was a disaster and mechanical nightmare. My Honda has cost me NOTHING for repairs, the dealer has given me 5 YEARS of free oil changes, and the gas mileage is great. It's no wonder Honda and Toyota are taking over the auto market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

2005 Honda Odyssey EX-L 3.5 Gasoline from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

I'm extremely disturbed by the poor quality and service, and currently looking to get rid of it

Faults:

Problems I've Had:

1. Steering wheel vibration

2. Alignment problems

3. Inoperable Conversation sunglass holder

4. Arm rest panels not flush (dealer confirmed, but didn't repair)

5. Glove box out of alignment (dealer improved, but didn't repair - said it is a factory defect that cannot be fixed)

6. Poor radio reception - crackles over bumps.

7. Engine resonation into the cabin at low engine RPM under slight acceleration (dealer dismissed as normal)

8. Passenger door window and power locks stopped working.

9. Dashboard cover over passenger airbag warped.

10. Scratches on the exterior finish.

11. Squeaking noise / driver sliding door (dealer repaired squeak, but now there is a new clunking noise in the door over bumps)

12. The spare tire came loose and clanked around over bumps. (I tightened it back up myself)

General Comments:

Positive:

Sporty and good power for a minivan.

Smooth Powertrain.

Negative:

-Poor Sales experience

-Poor Service experience (9 visits, 3 rental cars in 6 months-some things dismissed as normal)

-Poor Fit and finish

-Poor reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

11th Feb 2006, 03:44

And all the time I thought the Odyssey was the best. If you want my advice sell this car while new.

5th Mar 2006, 06:17

It sounds like you've got a lemon.

30th May 2006, 22:03

Yes, sounds like a lemon. My Touring model has worked perfectly, and I have never heard of the problems you have had. Ask for an exchange or something similar. Odysseys are the best.

2005 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance400 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Nice but not as good as the previous model

Faults:

It is a brand new 2005 Odyssey.

General Comments:

We had a 2003 Odyssey which I preferred to this new model.

The older car had a nicer ride, quieter ride and the smaller engine on the 2003 seemed more responsive.

I hate the cheap 4 speaker radio/CD, Hate: Transmission on the dash, the handles on back sliding doors are not easy to use inside the van. My older mother couldn't shut the door from the inside.

Ride is much harsher on this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews