1993 Honda Prelude VTEC 4 cylinder 2.2L VTEC from North America


It is the best car for its class and price


I have had the same problem as many other people with the starting of the car. Sometimes it just wouldn't start. the main problem was the fuel pump relay. I got a new one and it started like a charm. don't get fooled if you have that problem, get a new relay and nothing else. and another problem I had was with the under-drive. all I did was buy a lightweight one from eBay for 40 dollars and it runs great and it added a lot of power to the car.

General Comments:

This car is fast. I've gotten to 138 and the speed governor kicked in. the only problem is that the fuel pump relay gone bad and that's a common thing on preludes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

18th Feb 2007, 08:40

Good car However also consider toyota celica.

18th Feb 2007, 22:32

Also consider the Chevrolet Beretta.

19th Feb 2007, 05:57

And not forgetting the Fiat Coupe.

30th Jan 2010, 01:22

I'm partial to the Yugo GV.

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland




Distributer changed 30/03/06.

General Comments:

Great speed and road holding.

Starting problems are caused by the main relay under the steering column, it sticks open so no fuel pressure,take out and clean

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.3L from North America


Nice looking car with average performance


The radiator and 4 coolant hoses had to be replaced shortly after purchase.

The air conditioner shuts off occasionally and there is a general electrical problem with the heating/cooling controls; the lights don't always work and it has problems switching air direction (ie. changing from defrost to floor, etc.)

No serious repairs have been required and still runs well for its age.

General Comments:

I love the exterior and interior style of the car. While it's not very fast at 160HP it handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

1993 Honda Prelude 2.0i from UK and Ireland


Good looking, timeless, reliable, working man's sports car


Radiator, but due to it being the original, it ran its time.

General Comments:

Excellent buy if you want a good looking, reliable, original sports coupe.

The car is quick, and it does give you a surprise if you're not careful. It's everything you want in a sports coupe; head turning, good looking, nice reliable speed every time, good on petrol, and will go forever. Those Japanese guys are geniuses!

No matter what people say about the room, I have had everything in the car, from going away on a self catering holiday on the coast, to all the flooring in my house in my car. It's what you make it, and whoever likes to ride in the back, be my guest, I have had countless grown ups in the back who loved the journey!!

She handles like a dream, and rides flat to the road and around corners. She purrs like a cat, and roars like a lion when you open her up above 50mph. Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

22nd Sep 2010, 18:01

I also own a 93 2.0i, I have a private plate and people are shocked when I tell them how old it is.

With a factory body kit from new, she's simply stunning; full grey leathers, no rips, everything works.

I receive 40+mpg easy down the M1/M25, which I never expected from this car, however on supermarket fuel you'll never achieve this, nor on V-Power etc. Total/Shell premium unleaded gets the best mpg for mine.

As for space, I have 3 kids, and the 2 in the back love the fact they get their own space, and claim its very comfortable. I also regularly take 2 other adults in the car (not inc the kids obviously), and there's plenty of space.

As for reliability, the car just amazes me, apart from a blocked fuel filter (well overdue on recommended replacement) and dirty ABS sensors, the car has been faultless. Regular maintenance is key; I use the best rec oil Mobil 1 0w40 every 6k miles, and I feel confident this car will go on for many years to come!

Great looks, good economy, fantastic build quality, and a near future classic, if it isn't already.