1993 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1993 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.3L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Very frustrating to fix

Faults:

Timing belt went at 90K mile. 2,000 miles after I bought the car. Car needs alignment.

General Comments:

I bought the car from a private seller in June of 05 for $3,700. I drove the car for 3 weeks/2,000 miles before the timing belt went. After the timing belt went I took the head to a mechanic to get rebuilt. After I installed my new head and belt the car wounldn't spark. I replaced the distributor, distributor cap, rotor, coil, sparks plugs and wires and the car still won't start. Total cost for repairs:

-Rebuilt head with Timing belt kit $700

-Distributor $225

-Cap $18

-Rotor $10

-Wires $65

-Coil $103

TOTAL $1121.

The car has been sitting in my driveway for 3 weeks. I can't seem to figure out what the problem may be. I bought a Chilton repair manual, but that doesn't cover much. I recommend buying the factory Honda service manual.

When the car was running (only three weeks) it ran well and the car is fun to drive. This car is good, but unfortunately this particular car hasn't been good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2005

25th Jul 2005, 22:02

You bought a car without checking if the timing belt had recently been replaced?

You don't say if the valves were bent, but I guess they were, otherwise, why remove the head?

1st Aug 2005, 08:16

I knew the timing belt needed to be replaced. I was going to do it that Saturday and the belt broke Thursday. 12 of the 16 valves were bent.

25th Sep 2005, 22:23

Check your timing. make sure the #1 cylinder and the cams are TDC(top dead center) 1 tooth off with miss it all up.

27th Sep 2005, 10:41

Perhaps your problem is the igniter or pick-up coil. They are both part of the distributor. I have a similar situation, car quit and won't restart. My timing belt is fine, I'm just not getting a spark. My coil appears fine, so I believe it's the distributor.

6th Jul 2006, 17:43

A very very very (did I say very??) common problem is the starter relay. All it takes is for the joints to be re-soldered (easy DIY job) and it's good as new.

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 Non Vtec from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Non Vtec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance213500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliable if well maintained, not the most exhilirating

Faults:

175,xxx : Valve cover gasket replaced.

175,xxx : Minor oil gasket leak - no action taken.

190,xxx : 2nd water pump failed. Luckily, no damage was incurred. Replaced timing and water belt.

213,xxx : Appears that the slave cylinder or clutch may need to be replaced. Original clutch is still in the car.

General Comments:

I whole heartedly recommend this car, but gave it lower scores than other people. I rated the vehicle in comparison with my impressions of other cars close to its class; a 96 Acura Integra GSR that I owned, and a friends 2004 Hyundai Tiburon GT; opposed to my previous Accord or Nissan pickup.

When I first purchased the vehicle, I was 21. I enjoyed the low seats, but now find them a nuisance 3 years later. The vehicle handled better than the GSR stock vs. stock; Sport springs were installed when purchased anyways though. I'm still able to drive through snow in the mountains.

Trunk space is low, and hampered further by a structural bar placed diagnol. One small snowboard can be placed inside, or maybe two sets of skiis.

Rattling developed on the passenger side door around 18x, xxx, but otherwise the fit and finish is exceptional.

The car is slower than the GSR in every aspect, but still quick enough to overtake vehicles on the freeway.

Repair costs have been average, and repairs have been less frequent than my previous Nissan or Ford.

Back seat should not be used except for extra storage.

Overall, I've enjoyed the vehicle and will probably be the last owner of the car. I would purchase this car again, but would seriously look at what is needed in a vehicle before hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

21st Feb 2007, 08:04

Whoever said they got beat by a GSR must have one of three things, one you can't drive, two you have the F22, or three you have a H23, because any stock GSR will get beat any day by a stock H22.

16th Jan 2008, 07:11

Um no... the gsr would win... pretty sure its lighter and has more hp... also has good gear ratio in it.

The prelude is (stock) a luxury vehicle. GSR wins...

But prelude can be modded nicely.

30th Jan 2010, 01:18

Um yes, the first guy was right.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews