1993 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1993 Honda Prelude VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Fun car!!

Faults:

The headlights go out when driving down the road. Eventually they will come back on, but it is a big hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

1993 Honda Prelude Si 4ws 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

A dream car in disguise

Faults:

A month after purchasing the car I had to replace the clutch. Other than that nothing at all has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of torque and lighter than Vtec. The 4ws adds a nice touch and really helps with cornering. Honda has really outdone themselves with this car. The only downside is no freaking cup holder, that back seat is literally for insurance services no grown adult can sit back there. Other than that it's a dream car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

13th Oct 2005, 20:38

The insurance on a 1993 prelude 4WS 2.3SI is cheap.. I'm 16 and it was my first car.. and it is cheaper than a 2000+ civic.. so don't worry about the insurance.

30th Dec 2005, 22:06

I have a 93' 2.3 SI prelude (non vtec) and I have a loan on it and full coverage and its $150 a month and I'm only 17.

20th Feb 2007, 09:49

I am 18 with a 93 prelude SI 4WS and has a JDM H22, and I took out a loan to do the swap and the insurance is so much it isn't funny, but it's fast and was worth my time!!!

30th Jul 2007, 20:57

If you still have issues with insuring, try getting it insured under your dads name or something (then you as the second driver). Works in Australia.

11th Feb 2009, 00:04

Yeah get it under a parent's name.

Here in Australia, if you are on your L's, insurance is up in the $2000 mark.

Under a parent, and you as a second driver, it's around $1000.

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

...don't get one

Faults:

My Eclipse, the battery died on me at 80,000. Then my gas tank had a leak, the air bag light went on then it needed a tune up at 85,000 really bad after 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very slow, it gave me a lot of trouble and everyone has one. why?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

1993 Honda Prelude Si H23A1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission H23A1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

Very Nice Buy

Faults:

The muffler had been deteriorated and there was a leak in the mid-pipe. They had to both be replaced. Also, there is a bad squeak in the brakes. I'm going to replace both the rotors and pads.

General Comments:

This is a great car for the money. I bought it for $5,000 and it has been worth the money I paid for it. Pretty fast car. I'm looking to throw a H22A4 in it though. Overall this car is a good buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

13th Oct 2002, 03:38

I own a '93 prelude si too. Moderate mods, I love the car! My only complaint is the top-end pick-up, there pretty much is none. But the car is great in first and second gear, I can deep up with the best of um, up to about fifty miles!

2nd Nov 2002, 01:18

I love the car, it's the fastest one I've had so far. As for acceleration , well let's just say it's really good for a import if it's stock. If it is like mine the top end won't disappoint you at all...

15th Dec 2005, 10:02

I had a SI(1993). It was fast, but the one that I have now (1993 vtec) is much faster. It is incredible the speed you get in third gear and when you get 4th nobody can stop it.

15th Mar 2006, 23:48

When it gets to fourth nobody can stop it... We are talking about a Honda prelude, right? Or any Honda for that matter. The ignorance of people is astounding these days. the lug nuts on my GTP require more torque to tighten then your engine produces.

26th Oct 2006, 15:57

I Had my lude in 5th and nobody could stop it... that was until a deer ran out in front of me. Trust me, we came to an abtupt stop and it wasn't pretty... they are still trying to remove the advanced VTEC cams from the poor deer's rear.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews