1993 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1993 Honda Prelude Si 4ws 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

$3200 for the style!

Faults:

Paint is starting to oxidize. AC had an electrical grounding problem, common. Check engine light comes on after a few miles of driving.

General Comments:

This car looks great for it's age. I love the round design, this is one of the best looking cars to modify IMO. Put on some rims, JDM headlights, lower it and it will look like a million bucks. There is NO space in this car, the "GLOVE BOX" can fit a letter, yes it's like a door that opens with a wall behind it. What a joke!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2002

21st Nov 2002, 09:17

Your article was so true. I am a 1993 Honda Prelude Si 4ws owner also. I am 18 and my car has 97,000 on it. I have just recently had flywheel trouble, and some clutch trouble. The motor makes a knocking sound and today the clutch stayed down and would not come back up. It was very hard to shift gears and at first it would not let me.

If you have any information that could help me please e-mail me at: gunshowlee@yahoo.com.

22nd Jun 2004, 20:02

Hahaha--the glove box is SO true. The body design of this year is excellent, and although I have a knocking noise coming from MY engine, the rest of my car is heaven. A Prelude is great car to own and play around with.

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.2i Vtec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2i Vtec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Affordable sports car that looks great

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car comes into it's own once the 5200 RPM mark is passed.

Rear seating is cramped, which is to be expected in any sports coupe.

The 4 wheel steering is essential for those awkward parking spaces as the car seems to have a large turning circle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 V-tec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 V-tec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance122000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort RS Turbo

Summary:

A spaceship on wheels

Faults:

Has a small seepage of engine coolant from the rear of the head gasket, but it's been like that since I bought the car.

General Comments:

Usual Honda ultra reliability.

The world's most amazing noise when the engine comes on cam at 5200rpm, but the fuel doesn't last long at those revolution's.

Everyhting is electric , very comfortable multi adjustable electric seats.

Climate control can be a bit either toasting or freezing, difficult to set to a mid range temperature.

4 Wheel Steering just superb for all driving.

Traction control superb in wet weather, even better in deep snow, it just keeps going no matter how deep or steep the hill.

Original stereo system is good when working, especially with the 13 speaker Digital surround Sound Processor, My autochanger's constantly playing up.

Handling nothing outstanding, it is a heavy car though, even although it's a coupe.

Automatic gear box is extremely lazy and very unpredictable at changing gears itself, you have to use the gears manually to go quicker.

Only real pain is it likes the juice, averages 26mpg, treating it easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 23:52

Mate, I don't know where you got all that weird crap from, all 1993 Honda Preludes did NOT come with 4-wheel steering, 1988-1991 models had 4-wheel steering. And traction control? Where did you pull that from? They don't have traction control.

11th Jul 2001, 15:28

Some preludes do have traction control, the import si I am buying at the moment does, I`m curious to hear that you feel the car does not handle well, when it has won so many acclaims to its brilliant handling...

1993 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2L 4CYL from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4CYL
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10

Faults:

Electrical System had major problems.

Two new timing belts in under 60k miles.

Front stereo speakers shorted out.

General Comments:

Great sportscar, just wish mine was more reliable, also absolutely no storage or cargo space. Would have been nice to have fold down back seats, a glove compartment or arm rest storage bin, or anything at all... yeesh. Defrost does not work for beans.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 1999

16th Feb 2001, 14:37

I have a Red, 1993 Honda Prelude VTEC and I love the car. I had ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS with the electrical or front speakers shorting out. I drive my Prelude hard and fast and have not had one problem with it other than blowing out both drivers side tires. My Prelude is great. You got the one bad apple from the barrel.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews