2000 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2000 Hyundai Accent Unknown 1.5 liter I think from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Unknown 1.5 liter I think Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Faults:

Well, I love my Hyundai, except for the fact that the CHECK ENGINE light stays on continuously. I took it and had it diagnosed, and the auto shop told me it was my throttle sensor, when come to find out, it was because the gas cap wasn't on tight enough. So, another auto shop, where I had a good throttle sensor replaced, reset the check engine light for me, but guess what? It's on again.

I like driving my Hyundai. It is a really comfortable ride, and makes driving fun. I didn't pick the car out when it was purchased, it was a gift, but I really like it, besides all of its faults.

The dealer told me that it needed a 33,000 mile tune up, which most people I know have never taken their car in for that. I think that they just want the money, because it is not covered by that wonderful warranty. I even took my car to the dealer once, and it came back with a dent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

26th May 2005, 08:54

I have the same problem withe the check engine light. Every time I have it diagnosed it says something different. When I first purchased the car, the throttle positioning sensor was messed up, and the engine would speed up and slow down. Sometimes when I left off the gas to coast, this would happen and the tranny would slam into another gear. I'm not impressed with the car, but it does ride nice.

7th Feb 2007, 12:24

I am having the same problem, my engine light stays on also only I was told it was my sensor/bank whatever that means and my car slows down and picks up speed on it own. acceleration is not all that great.

24th Nov 2009, 21:39

Well mine has all those problems... plus the check engine light flashes on acceleration or when you try to accelerate too quickly!!! This is not a very reliable car, and I would not recommend anyone to purchase one :(

2000 Hyundai Accent GLS 1.5 petrol from India

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Very bad sheet metal used for the body

Faults:

This is car is good in looks, interiors and engine engineering.

But this car is not manufactured to withstand Indian conditions. All Hyundai cars - Santro and Accent of my friends, have developed serious corrosion in the body. The corrosion is not visible to at the first look. I suggest that all Accent and Santro owners take the car to the work shop, remove all the door panels, lights, jack up the car and personally inspect the car along with the service staff. You will be shocked to see the corrosion that has set in.

My Accent is 3 years old and it has developed corrosion all over - joints, welding points, inside the bumper frame, battery holder, inside the doors and under chassis. I am running pillar to post to get this manufacturing defect rectified and compensated by the company. I have written to CEO - Korea, MD, India and the customer relation department in India. I am waiting for a response for them.

My suggestion is that you buy this car, use it for 18 - 24 months and sell it off. If you own it longer you are in for trouble. The corrosion will eat away at your pocket very badly, month after month.

Unless this problem is looked into, these cars will be a failure in the long run.

General Comments:

Very bad sheet metal used for the body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

26th May 2005, 09:09

All you have to do is have the underneath of the car sprayed with oil once a year. A little maintnance from the owner wouldn't hurt either.

2000 Hyundai Accent GS 1.5 L4 MFI SOHC 12 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 L4 MFI SOHC 12 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres

Summary:

Lemon, do not purchase one!

Faults:

Two front rims were bent when I bought it.

The engine was burning oil internally.

Front exhaust cracked a few months after purchase. Not under warranty.

Rear break pins were broken.

The engine sputtered and shimmied in damp weather.

Needed new plugs and wires.

Shifting issues: would rev really high and not shift down unless the gas was pumped.

Was told by dealer I required a new coil, then found out I did not via another garage.

General Comments:

The car was my first car and the last one I will buy from Hyundai.

It has serious pick up issues.

There are numerous reports of people with all the same issues.

Shifting, Breaks, Oil burning...

The service at the dealer is very sketchy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

17th Feb 2004, 08:47

With the mileage on the car when you bought it, it sounds like most of your problems are down to mistreatment by the previous owner. Especially things like bent wheel rims. Stuff like this can't really be blamed on the manufacturer.

27th May 2005, 09:07

I bought one as well and have the same problems. My rims are bent too. The metal used must be cheap, or the previous owner beat the crap out of it.

22nd Feb 2006, 17:39

I own this same car. I has been burning oil internally for several thousand miles. We bought the extended warranty and the manufacturer won't honor it. They say it is because it is normal that a car burn a quart of oil every 1000 miles. If that was the case, there would be absolutely no oil in my car when I take it in for an oil change. Is that manufacturers specifications? What bugs me is they won't do anything about it under the warranty that covers it. What did I pay for?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews