2000 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 10 of 15

2000 Hyundai Accent MVI 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles

Summary:

Decent looking and cheap to run. Horrible to drive

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car in the 18 months I had it. Very reliable.

General Comments:

The MVI model looks quiet good.

The 1.5 engine is weedy and over revs. Sounds good, but it isn't.

Interior is plasticy and dull.

Handling is terrible, almost dangerous in icy conditions.

Seats are uncomfotable and headroom at a premium.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 10:50

I owned a 1997 MVi which was an excellent car. Sadly the same could not be said of the 2000 onwards MVi that I owned from new until January 2004 covering 44,000 miles.

Probably the worst car that I have ever owned (and I am now on my 29th car). Performance not very good for a 100bhp engine - the gearing not sporty, the older model had a close ratio gearbox. Air conditioning was not very good and eventually stopped working. MPG - 5mpg less than the old model. Not very comfortable and the interior cheap.

But the worst aspect was depreciation - the value reduced by nearly 75% in less than 4 years.

2000 Hyundai Accent GS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

A good deal for what it is

Faults:

Purge Control Valve replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Very cheap new and great warranty.

This is one of the smallest, lightest cars on the road, so crash safety concerns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

2000 Hyundai Accent L Base 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap car good mileage, but poorly built safety concerns for clutch and brakes

Faults:

The clutch never seems to want to engage. I have brought it back to the dealer 2 times for the problem only to have them say that is normal. I don't know what is normal about letting the clutch out on a hill and the car just sits there and just moans and doesn't move. This is extremely annoying and dangerous. The fact the dealer thinks that is normal is disturbing to me.

The brakes on the front since new have made an awful grinding noise (again normal to the dealer and the car is very hard to stop).

On the normal side of a cheap car it is a rattle trap since new off the floor.

General Comments:

This car is not built as good as my 1999 Hyundai accent which has been an excellent car!!. The 1999 is 100 times better build then the 2000. Other than the oil changes and 30,000 mile service required to keep the warranty the 1999 hyundai accent has needed nothing except a dome light bulb and that only burned out cause I left it on all night.

The 2000 Accent which has 20,000 miles acts like it has 120,000 miles.

The 1999 Accent which has 38,000 miles acts like it has 1,000 miles.

If you are buying used get a 1999 it is the better built car. I have owned both since new and believe me the 99 is a quality car compared to the 2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

2nd Feb 2004, 03:39

I own a 2000 model Accent and like you owned the 1999. I totally agree with you the 1999 is a much better car. When you say when you let the clutch out it moans and just sits there that is exactly like mine. Do you find yours worse when the a/c is on??? I do it doesn't even want to seem to go anywhere and it will nearly stall and then you have to floor it and it will take off. The gearbox to me if the worst part of the car and I have only owned it for 2 months. Let me know if that sounds like your problems. Thanks Jason.

9th Oct 2004, 21:44

I too own an Accent model of 2000 and in my case too the clutch use to moan. The mileage of this car is very poor. But still it's a luxurious car. I tried it in gas, but it gave me only low power. It's a/c is very pleasing.

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 ltr 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 ltr 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance40200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Definitely a wonderful get-the-most-for-your-money stylish little car that will repay you over again

Faults:

The only things that have went wrong are that the interior light and passenger rear side light went out. I took it in to my dealer and they happily and very nicely fixed it the same day.

General Comments:

The car is exceptional on gas. We get about 300 to 320 miles to a tank of gas, and it's only a ten gallon tank!

However, I feel it is a bit too small, considering my husband is 6'2.

The engine is wonderful and runs smoothly, but it is not very powerful.

The 6 speaker sound system is great along with the CD player.

I love the fact that it comes with power windows, locks and mirrors for a fairly cheap price. You can't buy a standard cavalier for the price of the fully loaded Accent GL.

The rear spoiler I have also adds a bit of sport.

The warranty is also wonderful, but I have to admit I have never used it due to the wonderful upkeep of the engine.

The air conditioner is also extremely cold and the heater is extremely hot when you want it to be.

I don't know about everywhere else, but from where I come from (Florida), the Hyundai dealers are wonderful and willing to help. Especially Buchanan Jenkins Hyundai in Jacksonville, FL. Id recommend them to anybody.

This car is wonderful for the city, as it gets wonderful gas mileage and is very zippy to get in and out of places with its handy-dandy overdrive button, but is not a good choice for people who live in mountain or very hilly areas. That tends to overwork it.

I'd like for it to have a center console though.

It looks very stylish inside and out and comes in very nice colors.

I could say things about this car all day long, but I'll sum it up that this is a superb car for people who are looking for a very stylish, economical, get-the-most-for-your-money type of car. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

26th May 2005, 09:06

Save yourself the pain and just shell out the extra cash for the cavalier. You'll thank me later.

14th Mar 2006, 22:02

Gee, could this be an AD for the dealer?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews