2000 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 13 of 15

2000 Hyundai Accent GLS 1.6 from India

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

The car is pretty good, however it tends to be sluggish in second gear. Pick up could be better in second.

Dents easily.

General Comments:

Overall an excellent car. Takes on rough roads very well. Steering handles exceptionally well and driver comfort is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

Water pump had to be replaced at 14,300 miles.

General Comments:

Good car, cheap to operate and own. Good value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent GS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Low performance and bad service

Faults:

I have owned this car for a year and I am extremely disappointed. I have been having transmission problems and the dealer refuses to do anything about it. They added a little transmission fluid and told me that the problem was fixed.

My Accent makes a loud crashing noise when I am driving on inclines or declines. For example, it feels like the transmission disengages when I am coming off an on ramp. It is scary and I believe that the transmission needs work. However, the service personel tell me they do not have time for a test drive to try to reproduce the problem.

I will never buy a car from Hyundai again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

13th May 2001, 15:39

Sounds like the dealer is a schmuck not the manufacturer. What about taking it to another dealer?

19th Jun 2001, 12:48

You're not the only one that is having this transmission problem. We have an Accent 2000, and it is doing the same thing. The dealership claims this has never happened with any Accent 2000 when they look in their database.

If you want further confirmation that it's not in your head, check out http://www.epinions.com/auto and look for a review done by sharp2513 dated May 9, 2000. It appears it's a Smart Transmission problem.

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance30300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

From point A to point B and back - good tool

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

With air and auto transmission, a great commuter car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

26th Apr 2001, 09:39

I bought a Hyundai Accent 2000 GL. I have had nothing but trouble with car. I would not recommend this car to my worst enemy.

My wiper motor went out on me, alternator, battery, and front disc brakes. The car has only 17,000 miles.

The brakes and rotor had to be changed. I never got a squeeking noise indicating the brakes needed changing. I took it to dealer and he didn't want to listen to me.

Caesar and Dolores Nieves,

807 Grandview Ave Westfield NJ 07090.

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired137 miles
Most recent distance5200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Best car for the money

Faults:

First car I have purchased that has not had any faults.

General Comments:

Excellent performance, mileage and comfort for a car of this class. My dealer has offered superior service. I am looking forward to many years of happy motoring with my Hyundai Accent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent GS 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance11860 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel GLX 4 door

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Complete clutch assembly replaced at 1500km service (apparently a fault with many!)

Plastic trim in the boot replaced due to being broken when delivered.

Noisy CV joints at 7000km (notified the dealer - will replace at 15000 km service)

Poor wheel alignmemt from delivery. Eventually the dealer paid for external tyre service to get it right.

General Comments:

Although a few teething problems, this is a great car.

Very fuel efficient.

Excellent performance and handling.

Improved exterior/interior finish.

Well optioned.

Comfortable.

Nice factory body kit and white dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Faults:

The Accent was a bit of a surprise, the pace of the car has improved dramatically with some mileage, but the fuel economy has also increased.

It's not the biggest small hatch inside, but the boot is massive.

It's a bit of a hoot on twisty country roads, a bit of tail happy fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

25th Mar 2001, 15:34

I am a 17 year old with a new license and drive my parents' Accent enthusiastically! Kickdown performance on the 1.3 auto is surprising, and I agree that it has an element of 'tail happy' fun to it! FUEL ECONOMY FOR A 1.3 IS HOPELESS! 30 mpg at best, 20 if driven hard!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews