2000 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 12 of 15

2000 Hyundai Accent CDX 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

A good performer and a bargain

Faults:

Nothing at all, a brilliant car.

General Comments:

The car is better than a Focus at Fiesta prices.

The car is fast as it is light.

105 mph top speed is very wrong, it could do 120 easy.

Very high spec and quality for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent L 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

A piece of junk and crap service

Faults:

I shouldn't have bought this car. The car is a year and half old and I'm driving a rental because it won't start. This is the second time this has happened (12000kms).

Last time the dealer had the car for 5 days, I had to call Hyundai Canada to get anything done. The dealer told me to rent a car if I wanted to get around, what am I making payments for?

The car has 31000kms on it and it leaks oil like crazy. When you're driving you can smell oil burning.

At 8000kms I had the rotors replaced because every time you pressed the brakes the steering would vibrate so bad.

General Comments:

The car looks OK. Drives OK. But mechanically the car is junk, and the dealers and Hyundai don't care about you, they've already got their money.

I will never own another Hyundai again and I'm trying to sell this one. Take my word for it, spend the extra and get a Honda Civic. And if you have Hyundai now, I would get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

10th Feb 2002, 01:42

Have had totally the same problems - if not more. We are from Australia and have an engine misfire problem. Totally ready to "give it away". Absolute rubbish and to make it even more hilarious our dealer who sold us the car will not buy it back off us - even for trade in.

2000 Hyundai Accent GLS Max 1.3 from Italy

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A good deal

Faults:

Nothing, I just had an accident and I had to buy another one.

The quality was good and the used car I had had the full options.

General Comments:

The car was safe.

Very fast.

Comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

2000 Hyundai Accent GL from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Rattle, Rattle, Rattle, but drives well

Faults:

All 4 inside door cards rattle.

Rattle in dash.

Back brake pads are playing up, something is wrong with them.

The Air Intake is not working.

Cup holder does not always come out, jams on something.

Window is hard to wind up and down.

General Comments:

This car handles really well.

Rides smoothly on the road.

Hyundai Automatic, doesn't do that well with regard to fuel economy. It doesn't like hills, but when driving around town on flat roads, with no hills, it does very well.

This car rattles really bad, and it drives you insane.

The overall appearance of this car is great.

The inside of the car is roomy and offers plenty of leg room and head room, compared to others.

When driving it surges ahead when it changes up a gear. It doesn't go smoothly into each gear. (Note: this car is a automatic, so its not my driving.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

20th May 2005, 19:49

I've got a 2000 accent gs. I agree with the rattling. mine rattles, but its not so horrible I can't stand it it just gets somewhat annoying at times. last tune up and oil change I had fixed most of the problem. I was hoping I wasn't the only one with that problem. other than that its been a great little car.

2000 Hyundai Accent GSi 1.5 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Don't listen to what people say about. TRY IT OUT it costs nothing!

Faults:

When I would take off the sunroof I would have a hard time to put it back on. Hyundai Dealership fixed this and now it's perfect!

The shifter broke off. Hyundai had put a bolt too small for the shifter. They installed a bigger bolt and no more problems.

General Comments:

I love this car. I'm 21 so I have a heavy foot, the car takes a beating and keeps on going! It has a good performance comparing to the Civic's, and Cavalier's. I have tried myself against quite a few cars, and have been very impressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

11th Jul 2001, 11:51

You are lucky to get maybe the one good car out of one thousand cars.

Eventually the piece of junk will let you down in a big way.

25th Jul 2001, 03:32

Felt the same way when I first got my Hyundai. The magic phrase "All in due time." Advice: Sell it or trade it in before you get too many miles and get what money you can. You will take a loss. Get something more reliable that will hold its value.

25th Oct 2001, 09:46

Have you taken your car in for the recent SAFETY RECALL?

10th Sep 2002, 15:49

I have had my Hyundai since new. (2000 Hyundai accent) No problems. The only thing I have noticed is the rear suspension makes a clunk on large bumps. I have driven all over BC and Alberta with it. If you drive this car good, it won't let you down. But, if you drive it like it's a hot rod, you'll probably have a couple problems.

16th Jul 2003, 12:54

It looks like only me and this guy have been satisfied with our Accent. I have a 2000 Accent L with 47000 miles on it. No problems at all. Only oil changes. It is just amazing. I am also 21 years old and with heavy foot. I have never had unexpected dealer visits. My car is running flawlessly. I have even put some upgrades.

Extremely satisfied with my car!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews