2000 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 11 of 15

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired39 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A quality car for a great price!!

Faults:

The oxygen sensors both went at about 30,000 Km, but were covered under Hyundai's great warranty.

General Comments:

I love my Accent. I know Hyundai's quality has been in question in the past, but since they came to Canada with their launch of the Stellar and Pony, they have made tremendous improvements to their vehicles. Is it any wonder they are one of, if not the only car company, that is making profits nowadays? The cupholders in my car are CD-rom like, the literally appear out of nowhere at your touch and don't become containers for junk, change etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

2000 Hyundai Accent GS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

If you want a cheap tin can with a good warranty, this is the car for you!

Faults:

Water pump went bad at 23,000 miles. To quote the mechanic, "in 20 years I've never seen a water pump go bad at only 23,000 miles."

Auto body dents extremely easily.

General Comments:

You get what you pay for.

The car shakes a lot and the interior noise is very loud.

Great warranty, but I would prefer to not have a car that breaks down so that you have to use it!

Interior is way too small for comfort.

Windows are hard to roll up. I have had this same problem on all 3 Hyundai's I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

2000 Hyundai Accent GL from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance25600 miles

Summary:

Best Economy Car; great gas mileage, great price, very reliable

Faults:

Now, I know the Accent is not a luxury dream car by any means, but it is a good, reliable, little car!

I have owned my Accent it for one year, and the only maintenance I have taken it in for are oil changes.

Although the Accent is a small car with a small engine, I have no problems pulling out into heavy traffic, accelerating, or passing in heavy traffic.

I have never been involved in an accident in the car, however, I did rear end a Chevy Blazer going 5 MPH. My front bumper hit the trailer hitch, and all it did was leave a small imprint - no dent or ding, just a paint scratch.

My job requires me to drive many different cars every day. I would pick the Accent over similar "economy and compact" cars (Neon, Metro,Mirage) and cars in considered "intermediate class" (Sunfire, Cavalier, Escort) any day of the week!! The Accent is much quieter and rides much smoother than almost any of the aforementioned cars.

The Accent is my first car, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great little zippy car at a great price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

2000 Hyundai Accent GL 2000 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Nice car, but not worth what was paid for it

Faults:

The only thing I notice when I drive her car is that it takes a long time to kick into gear. Expecially when you are going up a hill. It stays in 2nd gear the longest.

The dealer said this car was fuel efficient. This car has a 10 gallon tank and it goes through at least one a day.

The inside of the car is still very clean and new looking.

General Comments:

I don't understand what the big deal is with everyone saying Accents are bad cars.

My mother has owned hers for almost a little over a year now. She has kept it maintained well.

If you keep ANY car maintained it will go for a long time.

Even if the Accents break down on you, everyone who owns one knows that they have an unbeatable warranty on them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

2000 Hyundai Accent GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I thought I had a good deal until the rusting started

Faults:

The paint on the front bumper has begun to flake off (the paint warranty ran out at 36,000 miles).

The transmission was skipping badly due to a faulty setting in the car's computer. This was fixed by the dealer under warranty.

The oil dipstick tube rusted completely through and allowed oil to spray onto my engine. This was fixed under warranty.

The entire engine and underbody of this car is rusting very badly.

The inside of the brake rotors are completely filled with rust, and will need to be replaced.

The spark plugs and wires needed to be replaced. This is normal maintenance for the plugs, but unusual for the wires.

General Comments:

I don't know what to think about all of this rusting. No one can give me an explanation for this. I do no unusual driving, and the winters in Ohio (were I live) are not that bad. I have never had a rusting problem with another car, so I am certain it is not something I have caused.

I am curious whether any other Hyundai owners are having this same problem. It is becoming quite a hassle to deal with the problems the rusting is causing.

In addition, the regular maintenance schedule is frequent. For example, I was required to have my transmission and coolant fluids changed at 30,000 miles (and spark plugs replaced) to maintain my warranty.

I have otherwise had a good experience with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

10th Sep 2002, 13:50

I need to talk to this person who provided this review. I am having the same rusting problems and wanted to see what you did. Please email me at dice@sssnet.com.

16th Oct 2002, 17:19

Your cars were probably sprayed with sea salt water on trip to america.

28th May 2003, 15:50

My friend has a Hyundai Accent. She recently purchased it new. The three year, 36,000 mile warranty on the paint was supposed to cover any problems with corrosion or flaking. As it turns out, the paint on the front bumper just started flaking. The car barely has any miles on it. She brought it in to the dealership and they told her that paint does that sometimes when there is a rock chip, and that it was normal wear and tear (i.e. not covered by the warranty). That is only true if the paint was bad to begin with. The paint should not flake a significant amount, even around a chip. Minor flaking could be expected, but not softball size. Beware of who you buy your car from.

26th May 2005, 09:13

The car wasn't sprayed with sea salt. The problem is a lack of maintenance. have the car oiled once a year. In the winter, spray the car off frequently to keep all the road salt the road crews put down from sticking on your car.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews