2004 Hyundai Elantra GT Hatchback from North America


An OK car for the price


The Passenger airbag off light goes on even when there is a passenger.

There was nothing (not even in the owners manual) that showed me how to work the radio.

General Comments:

I have contacted a few Hyundai dealerships about the airbag, and they all want to charge me for them looking at the car. It is still under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

25th Feb 2005, 22:06

I just bought a Elantra (05) your comment of dealer wnanted a fee to look at something as important as air bags that scared me, one of the major reason I bought this car is for the warranty, but I think I didn't read the fine prints : (

Keep us updated.

6th Mar 2005, 22:14

(You can't possibly be a decent driver if you can't figure out how to work a radio,)

I think the radio on GT came with something call MP3 stuff that might made the control little bit complicated.

(what an airbag light means, or why you have to PAY people to work on your car. (it's called a deductible) )

There should not be any deductible on oringal warrant work.

21st Apr 2006, 16:56

There is currently a recall on the 04 Hyundai Elantra for the airbag sensor, if you google search it it should pop up and just take that to the dealership nearest you and they'll set yu up. A word of caution it will probably require you leaving your car a day or more.


2004 Hyundai Elantra XD MY04 2.0L 16v from Australia and New Zealand


Zero image, but good value


Drivers seat a bit loose - yet to be seen to.

Paintwork has blistered and flaked off in places on all the flat panels; the bonnet, boot lid and roof. After a little fight, Hyundai Australia are now repainting the above mentioned panels, not under the 5 year warranty, but as a "good will" gesture...

Other than that, its been an OK set of budget wheels!

General Comments:

Cheap car, for same price as a Jazz, less than a Fiesta, and much much less than similar sized Golfs and Focus', a load of kit for the money.

I got the windows tinted so no one can see me driving it, I'm the only other male under 55 I've seen in one ;-)

Seriously, so far, apart from the paint issues, its been a good experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

8th Apr 2005, 09:14

Why would you buy a car you don't want to be seen in? by the sounds of things you would have been better off with a BMW wagon or something... you know, wouldn't want to destroy your image.

I own a Hyundai Elantra Elite, and it's an excellent car. and I'm only 17 and choose to buy this as my first car because I loved it.

2004 Hyundai Elantra Hatchback 1.6 from Ecuador


Absolutely great, inexpensive family car


Driver's seat a little loose. Dealer fixed it.

Windshield wipers are noisy and don't clean as well as expected.

General Comments:

The Elantra hatchback is very roomy and comfortable. Great leg space in both rows; the trunk is large enough to carry my two kids' pedal cars.

Driving it is a pleasure; it is extremely smooth, stable, although slow to accelerate (I couldn't afford the 1.8 liter engine).

The whole car is full of niceties, little places to hold everything: coins, cell phone, sunglasses, CD's, books, documents, etc. (I mean, besides the usual glove box and cup-holders). Everything is on hand's reach and perfectly designed.

My Elantra is a real head turner. In my last trip to the beach, the hotel owner saw the car on the parking lot and asked me if it was a BMW. Many people are surprised to learn that it is a Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

6th Jan 2006, 10:52

You could not afford the 1.8 because they don't make a 1.8, and the 2.0 is a bigger engine with more power.

9th May 2007, 13:03

Actually, there were Elantras with 1.8 liter engines. They stopped making them and kept the 1.6 and 2.0 engines.

20th Jul 2007, 11:54

This is an update to the original review.

After owning and driving my Elantra for more than three years, I could not be happier. This has proven an excellent investment in every sense. Beside its great looks, it is very comfortable, safe, and economic to run and maintain.

Of course, there have been some problems:

- One night a burglar broke into our home and tried to steal the car; he broke the driver's window with a hammer; the man escaped at the alarm noise. Then problems really began. The dealer didn't have the original window so they installed a glass that just fit it, but didn't have the proper adjustments; so the glass kept falling every time I tried to open or close it; the dealer fixed it time and again, with the same result. Then, I went to several workshops specialized in car windows, until someone was able to put it right into place and work properly.

- Sometimes, rain water leaked into the cabin from the back door (mine is a hatchback). I got it checked at the dealer, but they wouldn't find the problem. Finally I removed the rubber around the back door, cleaned the dust... and got the problem fixed for good.

- The car has new tires. Instead of the Khumo stock tires we put Dunlop radials. This made a huge improvement in stability, drivability and even the car's looks. Hyundai should consider shipping new vehicles with better tires.

- At 70 thousand kilometers, I am considering tuning the car a little bit: a good radio with CD changer would be celebrated by my kids; we already got an LCD-DVD-MP3 combo; probably new shocks, and perhaps something to improve the engine's power. We'll see.