2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 11 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Summary:

Check if your car was made prior to April 1, 2003

Faults:

Everybody with a 2003 Tiburon made prior to April 1, 2003 has clutch problems.

I've got good news! I emailed "the new motor vehicle board" and I think they are the answer to our problems! Send your complaints to (nmvb@pacbell.net) and follow their instructions! The more complaints they receive, the more complaints they can show to Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

22nd Apr 2005, 03:56

Is this a serious review? One possible clutch problem mentioned and it's written entirely in capital letters.

21st May 2005, 16:02

I am assuming this review is correct. I own a 2003 Tiburon with 34,000 miles on it. My clutch completely failed leaving me paying $1600 to repair it. Very disappointing having only owned the vehicle for less than 2 years! I did email the New Motor Vehicle Board, but haven't heard anything.

17th Sep 2005, 17:32

My 2003 Hyundai Tiburon is going on the 4th clutch, flywheel, bearings and slave cylinder. It has also had two batteries replaced, a engine coolant leak fixed and the motor to the passenger window replaced. It also has the air bag light on. I'm looking for any information I can get to help with getting this clutch problem fixed. I would sell the vehicle, but, I would have to pay someone to take it. Please email me at karlapatella@aol.com.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10250 miles
Most recent distance21063 miles
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Summary:

Bad Engineering and no customer appreciation

Faults:

Clutch worn out at 20,000 miles. Have to replace Clutch plate, Pressure plate and Flywheel. The flywheel itself cost $1100.00. Total cost is 2180.00. There is a Service bulletin out on the clutch system about replacing it with an improved system, but it is not a recall. The local service rep will not warranty it. I have found a lot of V6 GT owners are experiencing this problem and are getting the same run around.

General Comments:

I have purchased 5 Hyundai's in the past 6 years. We purchased three for each of my kids as they graduated school a Sante Fe for my wife and a 2nd Tiburon for my son after he totaled his first. I will never purchase another. It isn't that they aren't good cars, but that Hyundai does not stand by there customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

24th Apr 2005, 10:54

I just wanted to say that I am sorry to hear you are having so many problems with Hyundai standing by their cars. I am currently driving my second--it is a Tiburon GT my first was a 1989 Excel GLS--and I highly recommend Hyundai. One of the things I tell my friends is that I have never been treated better than I have at Hyundai dealerships. I have dealt with dealerships in Massachusetts, Washington State, and Arizona. I have never had a problem getting anything done that needed done. They have stood by their cars every time something went wrong--which is not often. Again, I am sorry to hear you are having unfavorable experiences.

7th Sep 2005, 09:08

I want to just comment about dealerships. Every car dealership has its own personality. I had no problems with the dealership I bought my vehicle from, but when I moved and had the glove box break the dealer refused to warranty it. I had to arrange an appointment with a Hyundai Rep who immediately approved the work and asked which clerk at the dealer refused to warranty it. So just ask for an appointment with the Hyundai Rep.

19th Oct 2005, 19:33

Most hyundai dealership's do not stand by their cars/customers...

The dead clutch @ 30 000km is nothing new in all the reviews for the Elantra and tiburon...

It is sad, they work so hard to build up a reputation and most of their dealerships is just KILLING IT.

15th Aug 2007, 20:18

I'm one of the few Tiburon owners with the clutch-flywheel-pressure plate issue where Hyundai DID warranty the repair. But I had to contact a law firm in San Francisco and threaten a lawsuit.

When they fixed it, they said it was a (I'm quoting here) "good will gesture." They reiterated that the parts were NOT deformed or defective, even though there is a lot of hard evidence that they were. Hyundai is just hoping to cover up this little disaster.

By the way, I asked to inspect and keep the flywheel assembly when they took it out of my car. It was definitely deformed and was thermally weak.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews