2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 14 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon SE 2.0L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L I4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Beauty and the Beast

Faults:

Nothing has really gone "wrong" with the car so far. The only thing I can say bad about it is that it isn't as performance oriented as some of its sport compact counter parts. The intake and exhaust has been designed with noise reduction in mind and requires some modification to see the cars full potential.

General Comments:

I have driven a number of foreign imports and, though it's a bit slower than most, the Tiburon is the most fun to drive.

It corners like it's on rails with minimal body roll.

The aftermarket performance parts market is starting to pick up and numerous products are becoming available to the average tuner.

While a completely stock Tiburon may not be the fastest car off the lot, it is by far one of the best looking. You will get complimented on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great bargain!!!

Faults:

I have had no problems.

General Comments:

This car is great!! I added the 8 disc CD changer and does it blast with the big speaker in the rear (no distortion).

If you don't hot dog it, I get 31 miles to the gallon on trips, 25 around town. I think it is great.

It hangs to the road as good as any sports car I've ever ridden in!! I used to own an Acura Legend and it is very, very close to that quality, but was way less money..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

3rd Sep 2004, 06:44

I have had the 2003 gt automatic for 1 1/2 yrs. I've never got gas mileage that good. I get 20 in city/mixed driving and 25-26 on pure highway.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Faults:

The paint on this 2003 model is coming off all over the place. I wash it and 2 minutes later it is disgusting.. the paint quality it horrible. I looks like someone dropped acid on my car!

General Comments:

I took the car to the dealership to get it repainted... also to see if it was covered under warranty. They said it was and to call back and make an appointment... isn't it ironic that I can never get in touch with the service manager!? Is anyone else having this problem?!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

29th Mar 2004, 12:55

I have a 2003 tiburon and although I love the performance the paint job is really bad. I can scratch the paint with my fingernail, also if I lay my keys on the car and slide them off, It will scratch the paint. I took It in to show the Hyundai Rep. He said nothing was wrong with the paint and was not covered. I tried to reason with him, but it was like trying to reason with a wall.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Dangerous/Cheap

Faults:

Intermittant high idle (scary).

Defective Sunroof.

Defective Sunroof frame.

Defective rear view mirror.

Defective air vent.

Now, marked up trim and hanging from Tech.

Slower pickup after 7 months.

False advertisement. (Engine output)

Rattling from back window.

General Comments:

Great look with cheap parts, do NOT buy one and the service is horrible! They think I am lying of the high idle and now Hyundai has to weld a new Sunroof frame which = new paint on roof which will not match as well as not the same car I bought. Not happy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT-V6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

Decent bargain if it doesn't break down

Faults:

At 400 miles, the car broke down completely. I think I'd had it a week or two at the time. They were never really clear about exactly what went wrong (I'm not mechanically literate) but it was something like a valve falling off. My car was in service for 15 days. I drive a lot between home, work, and school, and wanted them to replace the car since it broke down in the middle of the interstate with only 400 miles on it, but the dealer refused. This was my second Jim Ellis car, but it will be my last. They gave a lot of lip service to wanting me to be happy, but in the end, they really didn't care.

General Comments:

The car is beautiful. I really love how it looks. It's also pretty quick. I imagine the manual is a little quicker, but I wanted the auto this time.

The ceiling is pretty low. I'm 5'9" and I feel like I have to slouch or my head touches the ceiling. If I were any taller I wouldn't have bought it.

I've been really pleased with the trunk space. It has decent leg room in the front, but the back seat is totally useless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

10th Jun 2003, 17:52

Steven

I'm sorry you had a problembs with your New Tiburon. I bought a 2003 and I am enjoying it very much. As for the head room I am 6'4 and have no problembs with it. I think you just bit, but I know you still enjoy the car.

11th Jun 2003, 16:28

I purchased a 2003 tiburon GT about two months ago and haven't had any issues with it. I am 6"2" and still have plenty of room for my hair. However, the low ceiling did prevent me from opting for a sunroof (which cuts two inches of head room).

That back seats aren't completely useless. My seven year-old nephew and 5 year-old niece enjoy riding in the back. Besides, I don't buy cars to give my friends rides. If they are uncomfortable in the back seat, let them get their own cars.

It is a nice car and it looks great. Don't let people that nit-pick everything try to convince you that all these little detail detract from your driving experience. Also, don't pay attention to the Internet reviews by the many people that don't own one. They are still stuck in the idea of Hyundai from years past. Every "bad" company will come to a point where they need to either make a better product or go bankrupt. I believe that Hyundai choose to make a better product, and I expect their line of vehicles will continue to improve.

6th Apr 2004, 15:11

I've got about 2600 miles on my 2003 GTV6 Tiburon, and I think it's a very, very fine car.

I previously owned a 2000 model, got a wild hair and traded it in for a 4-wheel drive vehicle, but couldn't get it out of my mind, for it was a fine 4 cylinder car. So I got the 2003 GTV6 for more power, and I have absolutely no complaints other than I'm 6'0" tall, and sure, it could use a little more head room, but I'm still able to sit up straight inside, so there's enough.

What a sound system for factory! I've never been more happy or satisfied with a car in my life. No mechanical problems at all (yet!), and she just hums down the freeway and around town like she's dying to get back to high-speed. Fantastic car, best warranty in the business, and I personally think Hyundai quality is awesome. Why can't the Big 3 make something like this in this price range so I could've bought American? Oh well, I recommend this car and this brand to anyone. As for being faster then this car or that one, couldn't tell ya, I only know she screams when I ask her to, flat-out motors.

Love the car.

(Oh yeah, I never had any problems whatsoever with the 2000 model either, even after 33000 miles. And I drove it straight round-trip from Fresno CA to Dallas TX, 29 hours one-way, sleep two days, 24 hours straight back, non-stop. Fantastic trip.)

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews