2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 15 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2100 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

A very hot sports car that carries authority with complete control.

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This car will make heads turn.

You have to depend on your side mirrors when ever you change lanes.

Interstate driving is a breeze and turns daily running into joy rides.

From the time I bought this car, my husband has been very jealous of the attention I recieve while I'm driving it. But I't always the other way around when he drives my jet black Tiburon GT V6 with moonroof, body-color high spoiler and a very nice audio system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GS-R from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

Out of alignment since 66 miles.

Car still out of alignment at 6700 miles. Service can't fix it.

Clutch failed at 600 miles.

Clutch failed again at 6700 miles.

Car being serviced for the last 6 weeks.

General Comments:

This car has not worked properly since I bought it.

I have put more miles on my complimentary rental car than I have put on my newly purchased car because it lives in the shop.

My car looks beautiful, but it's maximum speed for the last six weeks has been 0 miles per hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2003

24th Jun 2003, 17:33

Sounds like you should have gotten an automatic guy because I have had mine (V6 6-speed) since they first came out and it runs just fine. Sounds like you've been dogging it out by street racing. Your own fault. A word from the wise: Get an automatic next time.

23rd May 2004, 01:25

I have had my 2003 Tiburon for less than 2yrs and have had the car serviced twice for the driver side window, wouldn't go down. Its now being serviced because there's a problem w/the clutch. The dealer said the clutch is probably worn & if that's the case, is not covered under the warranty. I've had 2 other vehicles (manual), and have never had a problem with the clutch going bad. Not to mention that there's only 27,000 miles on the car. I'm not an aggressive driver, nor do I do ANY racing. It just baffles me why the clutch would go bad so soon and not be covered under the warranty. I don't plan on purchasing another Hyundai, ESPECIALLY because of how much they depreciate!!

15th Jul 2004, 20:17

We have also had problems with this car.

When I test drove the car window went down, next day, it didn't. The dealer had to fix the window before we could pick the car up after purchasing it.

We had it fixed twice since then (there was a recall on the window motor) worked for a few months and now, not working again.

Have had problems with the sunroof since 2 months after we purchased the car. We've taken it back at least four times.

Have had the clutch replaced 2 times. Owned a used 1999 Tiburon and never had clutch problems. You'd have to do some major dogging to destroy 2 clutches and we're not like that.

All the above within one year of purchasing the vehicle.

I think it's a lemon.

I came to this website to see if anyone else was having the same problems I'm having.

15th Oct 2004, 09:32

I have had my Tiburon since '03. I've had to replace the clutch at 5000 miles and now at 17000 miles, but now the dealership will not cover it because they say it is a wear and tear part, and only covered to 12k. I don't race, and I have driven a manual for 10 years. My last clutch for my pick-up lasted 200000 miles. I don't think it's a lemon, I think Hyundai is ripping people off by putting cheap parts in their vehicles, and not covering them on warranty when they fail.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 2.7 Delta V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Delta V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance7300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

An unbelievable sports car at a great price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

OK, I've read a lot of misleading articles on the 2003 Tiburon from people that were either unlucky or had no clue on how to operate their vehicle.

This is a great car. I've owned a Jetta, 2 Integra's and a Peugeot 205. This is by far the best car I've owned.

It's very reliable and predictable to drive. It handles great, has a powerful engine and is very comfortable. The driving feel is amazing and the steering like butter.

It comes with everything for free. A warranty that no one can touch, a 360 Watt infinity system, 17inch wheels and Michelins sport tires (retails at $240 a piece), floor mats, cargo net, sunroof, air conditionning, air bags, leather seats and the pleasure to blow the pants off $40,000 "sport" vehicles.

Also, this is a very smart car. You have a keyless entry, but can't lock yourself out. Your headlights and cabin lights turn off automatically not when you take the key out of the ignition, but when you do that and open the driver door (meaning that you're ready to leave the vehicle and the lights can be turned off). You can open the trunk, gas tank and pop the hood all from a convenient location. The driver controls are convenient and practical.

OK, another thing. I live in New York City and have owned my tib for 8 months now. I promise you that there is not one day where somebody, whether in traffic or walking by, askes me what kind of car I'm driving and how beautiful it is. Sometimes, I get asked 4-5 times a day and it gets so annoying, I have to ignore people and turn up the music.

So please, before you listen to immature and clueless drivers that bash this great car because they were unfortunate or... (you know what I'm thinking), go try it yourself and enjoy the savings, fun and numerous comments.

If you were thinking of getting one, but are hesitant because of mixed reviews. Buy it. Don't hesitate. I was in the same shoes and I have no regrets at all.

My wife loves the car also. Too much actually, she always wants to go for a drive.

Peace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

18th Sep 2003, 22:33

Glad to see other people have experienced the Tibby. He is 100 % right!! Believe me I own one too.

5th Nov 2003, 20:10

Okay children, pay attention:

2003-04 Hyundai Tiburon GT -

Horsepower : 170hp @ 6000 rpm

Torque : 181 lb-ft @ 4000 rpm

Top speed : 137 mph

0-60 mph : 7.2 sec. (manual)

0-¼ mile : 15.6 sec @ 88.8 mph.

2003-04 Acura RSX Type S -

Horsepower : 200 hp @ 7400 rpm

Torque : 142 lb-ft @ 6000 rpm

Top speed : 145 mph

0-60 mph : 6.7 sec.

0-¼ mile : 15.2 sec @ 92.7 mph.

Hmmm? Interesting...

2003-04 Mitsubishi Eclipse GTS-

Horsepower : 210 hp @ 5750 rpm

Torque : 205 lb-ft @ 3750 rpm

Top speed : 130 mph (estimated)

0-60 mph : 6.9 sec.

0-¼ mile : 15.2 sec @ 92.0 mph.

You sure you test drove the right cars my friend?

OK, let's continue:

40,000 "sports cars" -

2003-2004 Mustang Cobra -

Horsepower : 390 hp @ 6000 rpm

Torque : 390 lb-ft @ 3500 rpm

Top speed : 155 mph (electronically limited)

0-60 mph : 4.7 sec.

0-¼ mile : 12.7 sec @ 110.1 mph

Price: 33K hmmmm, interesting?

2004 Honda S2000 -

Horsepower : 240 hp @ 7800 rpm

Torque : 162 lb-ft @ 6500 rpm

Redline : 8200 rpm

Top speed : 150 mph

0-60 mph : 5.5 sec.

0-¼ mile : 14.2 sec @ 98.0 mph

60-0 braking distance : 116 ft

200 ft skidpad : 0.92 g

Price: about 33k also, very interesting.

2004 Acura TL-

Horsepower : 270 hp @ 6200 rpm

Torque : 238 lb-ft @ 5000 rpm

Top speed : 155 mph

0-60 mph : 5.9 sec. (manual), 6.3 sec. (automatic)

0-¼ mile : 14.5 sec @ 95.0 mph (manual)

Price: about 35,000, and I wouldn't call it a sports car at all... but sporty enough evidently.

OK, one more.

2003-04 Dodge Neon SRT-4.

Horsepower : 230 hp @ 5300 rpm

Torque : 250 lb-ft @ 2200 rpm

Top speed : 153 mph

0-60 mph : 5.6 sec.

0-¼ mile : 14.2 sec @ 102.0 mph

Price: 19,900... wait a minute... under 20k? isn't the Tiburon about that much, damn. Should have bought the Neon, who woulda guessed!!!

This list could go on for days...

Anyways, the point is, don't make up crap about your cars, and don't put down other cars until you've done your research.

I drive a 95 Trans Am, which does a nice 0-60 in about 5.4s. It cost me 17K.

Info source: www.modernracer.com

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews