2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 13 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance18359 miles
Previous carAcura RL

Summary:

It is well worth $21,000

Faults:

I have had 3 transmissions since taking ownership of the car.

Sunroof shade has broken and became stuck.

E.C.M. was fried due to short in the wires; which led to a bad TP sensor, bad alternator, and battery.

10" OEM subwoofer has blown.

Shift-knob button has broken twice.

Catalytic converters have gone bad, and emissions are horrible.

General Comments:

Most of the problems associated with the car are thanks to my handy workmanship and awesome driving skills. The rest of the problems are due to the collision center that repaired my car when it was broken into last spring.

The car has an awesome warranty though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

2003 Hyundai Tiburon SE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, but still has hiccups that need to be worked out

Faults:

The sunroof opens 2 inches then gets stuck.

The driver's side window's motor blew into tiny pieces a month ago and the passenger side window just did the same thing today.

Paint chips easily.

General Comments:

This car is quick and has great handling around corners.

It is a very comfortable and smooth ride.

Shoulder checking is difficult compared to other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2004

28th Dec 2007, 13:02

When I bought the car it was fantastic!! Then just this year, the window motor went on the driver's side, similar to a previous post made by another owner, and here is the giant disappointment, the BCM went on the car. This is the mother ship of the car and without it functioning properly, you will find ourself driving down the road with the factory alarm system malfunctioning and the police pulling you over because it looks as if you have just stolen the car. Don't waste your time with after market systems on this car because it will seriously destroy the components that Hyundai has already installed. Wished I would have known that when I bought the car.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance31038 kilometres

Summary:

A quick sonna ma gun

General Comments:

This car is a drivers car. It handles like nothing I have every driven. The tight suspension and Michelin Pilot Sport tires never leave doubt when entering a corner.

Although the interior is nicely appointed with leather, it lacks the needed space for rear passanger's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Helluva bang for the buck!

Faults:

Only problem I've had with this car is that both the driver and passenger power windows quit working at some point. Fortunately, this was covered under the warranty, and were quickly fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

I have to admit that this car was a steal. It has great looks, a strong V6 engine, the leather interior kicks butt, and you have to love the 6-speed tranny.

Performance wise it's adequate: You're not going to run with the likes of the true sport cars (ie. Corvette), but you will out run many of the ricer wanna-bes and minivan driving soccer moms you'll encounter on the road.

Interior: The car is quite comfortable for the driver and front passenger. The leather interior is very well put together, and the instruments and radio are easily accessible. However, this car is defin1tely not a family car. You can maybe cram two passengers in the rear seat, but it won't be comfortable for long rides. The hatch is low and they'll probably bang their heads if they are over 5 feet tall.

Trunk Space: There is plenty of room in the hatch for a set of golf clubs, briefcase, or a suitcase or two.

Sound system: Ah, if you are like me, well then you enjoy to experience your music. This car has a very good sound system. It came with the Infinity stereo, speakers, and sub-woofer. I can say I am quite happy with it as it came from the factory. Although at some point I plan on replacing the headunit with a DVD player with monitor.

Exterior: I loved the look of the new Tiburon the moment I saw it. It's quite sporty with its aggressive shape, bulgy fenders, and low stance. I can't complain about the 17" wheels, and large rear spoiler. The only regret I have is not getting a moon roof on this car.

Mileage: I like to ride it hard, and therefore I probably get worse mileage than the average Tiburon owner. But I did not buy this car thinking about saving on gas. However the car gets good gas mileage.

Overall, I'm quite happy with my purchase. It was very reasonably priced, and you can't beat Hyundai's warranty. You also get a heck of a mini sports car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

14th Jul 2004, 13:39

I also own a Tiburon, and I love it!! the test drive sold me on it. 180hp, with black leather!! a sweet ride!!

3rd Jan 2005, 18:47

Outrunning "minivan driving soccer moms" isn't really quite an amazing feat, but the Tiburon is a nice car.

18th Mar 2005, 10:29

I, too, loved my Tiburon for quite awhile. I have a 2004 GT 6M.

The clutch has gone out twice though in 15,000 miles - and I don't ride it hard.

The dealer wanted me to pay $1800 to replace it. I complained and raised hell and finally they agreed to warranty it.

I will now sell this car ASAP to avoid such charges in the future. If I'm making a monthly payment, I don't want to pay for much more than oil changes.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews