1995 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1995 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

An ultra-reliable, user friendly vehicle that embodies the spirit of a Jeep

Faults:

The oxygen sensor needed to be replaced at 80,000 miles.

The alternator needed replacement once due to water/mud damage.

The original brake pads wear out quickly.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this Jeep.

I take it off road about three times a week, take it in snow over 3 feet deep, have jumped it in the air, and have driven it on road trips without ANY failures.

I have found it very reliable and easy to work on myself.

It does not get great gas mileage, but the peace of mind it gives to be able to go anywhere is well worth the extra few bucks at the pump.

Parts are widely available and inexpensive (many of the parts are the same from '84-'01).

I will always own a Jeep, and there are four in my family (and only three drivers).

It has great power, but don't expect to pull a massive trailer or perform super heavy duty work loads (after all, it is considered a compact Sport Utility Vehicle dimensionally).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

29th Jul 2004, 17:34

Whats the oxygen sensor.

29th Jul 2004, 18:26

The oxygen sensor is self explanatory. It's a sensor that controls how much oxygen (air) makes it into the engine.

24th Apr 2005, 17:08

Hey I have a 99 Cherokee and just did some deep water crossings resulting in my battery going dead I think due to the alternator. you had said you had the same problem? were you able to jump start it, but have no idle? I'm trying to trouble shoot whether its the alternator or if maybe some other electrical problem, any info on that would be awesome, thanks.

1995 Jeep Cherokee 2.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

25,500ukp to buy over 9000ukp in parts in 6 years, it's rubbish

Faults:

2 new air conditioning units.

1 new clutch.

1 set of new brake disks.

4 new heads on two separate occasions.

Something wrong with the gearbox, wouldn't go into reverse gear.

Driver's door top hinge came away from its mount.

General Comments:

Three of my friends bought this car within two months. All have had serious faults.

The build quality is bad.

It's back to the landcruiser for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 10:02

A 2.5TD owner with 83000miles. Had recent problems with overheating. The radiator was replaced due to an apparent coolant blockage, but overheating problems continued. I was then told the head gasket had blown. Upon closer inspection I was told that all four cylinders were cracked, all four cylinder blocks therefore needing replacement. I have been told by the garage that this is normal wear and tear. I am completely surprised by this, you may expect this type of wear on a highly stressed high performance engine but certainly not a low performance 115bhp 2.5litre turbo diesel engine.

26th Apr 2004, 08:28

Instead of getting the land rover I recommend an In line six cylinder engine. After the first jeep our family owned ran to 250,000 miles we haven't bought anything else.

19th Jun 2004, 13:39

Have had the same problem with 2.5TD heads, they are prone to cracking inside and you normally have to replace all four. I replaced mine in Mar, and now I am burning a lot of oil, around 1 L per minute! Definitely the 2.5TD VM engine is the engine to avoid.

25th Feb 2005, 20:55

Maybe you should try a CAR. SUV's haven't got anywhere near as strict of federal standards in how their built, how they run, how safe they are or anything of the sort. Jeeps, however, are less prone to rollovers than other SUVs. Oh, wait, that's right. You're narcissistic, and can't be seen in anything that doesn't make you "feel" powerful, young, and adventurous. Get over yourself and do the rest of the world a favor. Drive something economic.

19th Apr 2007, 13:04

Have a 2.5td jeep cherokee and yesterday the engine coolant bottle began to boil and leak!what is wrong please?

There is no sign of water in the oil and hoses seem warm.

1995 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 4.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Flat battery, new steering box fitted (when still under 3yr warranty, thankfully, would cost over 500ukp else).

Pulls slightly to left although dealer cannot find anything wrong.

General Comments:

Wonderful to drive. Drinks petrol around town, although not too bad for a 4 litre on a run, averages 26 to the gallon. Smaller than people think, look at one parked next to a Discovery!

The dealer has been the best I have ever dealt with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 1999

1995 Jeep Cherokee LTD SE 4.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 4.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Corrosion on Alloy Wheels.

General Comments:

Well made, easy and comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 1998

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews