1995 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1995 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Great Family Car!!!

Faults:

The brakes squea just a little and they had been changed at 100,000 miles and the air doesn't blow that cold, but all in all it is a great family SUV.

General Comments:

If you are thinking of buying a Jeep I would say to go for it. We love this car and there are 5 of us (2 carseats)and there is still plenty room for anything else that we could ever need to put in it. It runs great and doesn't use too much gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

1995 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Fantastic and fun

Faults:

Had to replace the AC belt.

General Comments:

This is one of the greatest vehicles I have ever owned. It was trouble free and so easy to handle, had great power and I hardly put any money into repairs. My favorite things was that it could turn on a dime which came in quite handy in crowded parking lots. This model came with the leather seats and moon roof and may other toys. This vehicle was especially great in the winter and I never missed a day of work because of weather. I passed this vehicle on to my son a year ago and it is still going strong and looks just as good as new. I would highly recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

19th Mar 2005, 05:33

I just purchased a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Country and really enjoy it. I actually bought it for my son to use until he is finished with college. I have a leak at the transfer case and am taking it back for the second time because it is still leaking. I was glad to read your comment about yours, I just hope that I can resolve this leak problem and enjoy mine as much as you have enjoyed yours. I bought it this year with only 58,000 miles and in excellent condition.

1995 Jeep Cherokee 2 door sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance256000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

A gas hungry, bulletproof, reliable, mini-hummer

Faults:

I had the 4wd replaced at 230 000 km

I think all the salt that they use on the roads in Ontario were a major contribution to this rusting out.

The roof rusted early in its life.

These jeeps will rust along the drip rail, and above it, above the windshield, and inside the gas door.

I have also had to sand prime and paint the side rockers 3 times. They always rust.

I wish it was lubed and undercoated earlier in its life.

Had to Replace the rad.

The rims rust easily.

I replaced the starter once.

General Comments:

The jeep weighs much less than many SUVs. They are uni-body construction.

They may be a sensitive ride, but handle like a dream.

They have a wide stance which is great for traction and handling.

The 4.0L engine is fast! way more torque than my 93 jimmy with a 4.3 v6.

The In-line 6 is way better than the V6.

The steering takes some getting used to.

You feel like you need to back-steer out of a turn. But you get used to it quickly.

The jeep has the superior 4wd system no matter what anyone says.

Even the 80s Jeep 4wd is superior in comparison with the 2000 5.7L 4wd dodge Durango.

This vehicle will never get stuck anywhere (unless the 4wd has rusted off)

You will be able to pull your friends suburban out of the ditch for him.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2004

1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

I experienced problems with the steering linkage, cooling system, radio, finish and trim.

General Comments:

The power train seemed to be very strong and provided more than enough power for my requirements.

However, I was very disappointed with the overall quality of workmanship.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

1995 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carJeep Honda Accord

Summary:

A great looking reliable truck!

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with my Jeep.

There is an annoying leak on the passenger side floor when it rains that I have not been able to find.

It recently developed a leak. I thought is was possibly the cooling system. the dealer checked it out and said there was no problem with the cooling system, but the leak remains (back to the dealer).

Other than normal wear items, no problems!

General Comments:

I really enjoy my Jeep. It carries purchases back from Home Depot just fine! On the weekends, we go off to the beach with all our stuff and the dog!

The back seat is horrible to get in and out (4 door). Although, a friend has a 2 door and it's not any better! But since I don't sit in the back, it's not a huge concern to me!!

This has been one of the most reliable vehicles I have owned.

I recently bought a used Lincoln Continental, but I'm keeping the Jeep!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

5th May 2004, 12:49

I'm having the same problems with my 98 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Have you had any helpful suggestions?

18th Jul 2004, 09:42

I have a 96 Cherokee Sport and had a similar problem. I developed a coolant leak that appear to becoming from the top of the coolant hose that runs from the water pump to the radiator. So I drained my coolant system, re-placed the hose and re-filled the system. Unfortunately that leak persisted. Upon further (much closer) investigation with the engine running (be careful!!!) I noticed that the leak was coming from my water pump. So I drained the system and replaced the thermostat (mind as well since the water pump is already off), water pump and re-filled the system. I have had no problems since. I hope this helps.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews