1995 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

187K and still going stronger than ever

Faults:

Bad thermostat, replaced front brakes, catalytic converter. All just basic wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car has been awesome, it actually runs better now than when I bought it 110000 miles ago. The catalytic converter was blocking the exhaust flow limiting my power. The tranny, transfer case and engine are great. I even got 160000 on the first clutch before replacing it. I change the oil every 3-5K miles, I change the tranny oil every couple of years. Further I don't even burn any oil not a drop. I had one mechanic tell me the 4.0L straingt six is bullet proof...I'm starting to believe him.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2005

7th Dec 2006, 18:11

I would have to say your mechanic is right.

16th Dec 2006, 06:49

I haven't still owned one of the legendary Cherokees, But I'll searching for one, I heard a lot of comments on them, but the comment that I Kept hearing from every one that the 6 in line is a BULLET PROOF.

10th Jul 2008, 23:06

Bought me one of these for $2000 at SLIGHTLY over 200,000 miles and it runs like it's brand new.

Only my 3rd day of owning.. but I'm positive I'll love it for however many years it has left.

A fantastic deal, in my opinion.

26th Jul 2009, 21:09

My Jeep has 208,500+ miles on it and it runs like new. A/C is ice cold and haven't had too many troubles so far. I have replaced the thermostat and the right rear brake cylinder, that's it.

1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport 2 door 4.0L HO from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This Jeep is strong and reliable.

Faults:

Jeeps are notorious for their bad radiators, I replaced this and the entire cooling system around 120,000 miles. The transmission recently started slipping for the first time since it was built, and I put some Lucas Transmission Fix in it which has stopped the slipping for now. I have replaced several parts for the AC this past summer as well, around 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

This Jeep doesn't get the best gas mileage ever, I average around 13 miles per gallon, but it will outlast any other car on the road. I plan to take care of this jeep, and keep it forever. It is reliable, and is amazing off road because it is so light. I have a 4.5" lift on it and 31 inch pro comp mud terrain tires. I have not gotten stuck in mud yet, and have taken it through some serious stuff. Overall, I think this is a perfect car for a teenager or anyone because it is so versatile and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

1995 Jeep Cherokee Country 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Long-lasting, gas-eating, tank of a car!

Faults:

The biggest thing is that my head lights flicker on and off. I've never heard of this problem on any other car, so I don't know if it is Jeep related, but it's a problem none the less. I physically have to hold my bright lights on at night... not just have them on, but hold them on with my hand while driving the car. It has caused quite a few problems on the road, but I've done it for 2 years now and am used to it. Another small thing has been that the passenger window buttons got pushed into the door, so the driver must always roll down the window for the passenger.

General Comments:

Love this car! Surprising with the problems it's had, but I've put 250,000 miles on it with no major mechanical problems and it's still trucking. Low gas mileage, but a long lasting car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

15th Jan 2006, 11:12

I have a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport that also had issues with the headlights as you have described. All you need to do is change the headlight switch, mine was a $16 part from NAPA. Takes and hour or so to put it in and it was pretty aggravating doing it because there is no room to work under the dash board, but it will solve your problem. Same with the window switch, if you just replace the switch, problem solved. Love my Jeep, 145,000 miles and still runs like new!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews