1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America


Will never get another one


Replaced starter.

Replaced air conditioning regulator.

Replaced driver's window electric regulator.

General Comments:

I got a 1 year extended warranty for this car, and it costs me 99$ every time I have to bring this car to the dealer, but the total cost of repair in only 1 year is 1500$.

The car is pulling to the right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

4th Oct 2006, 18:53

Get them to re-balance and re-align your front end tires, that should do it!

30th Mar 2007, 07:05

Learn to spell properly and fix the jeep already.

1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 Liter from North America


Air Conditioning quit working at 85,000 miles. R-134a had leaked out.

Two of the electric windows quit working while under warranty, they were repaired... a third quit at 87,000 miles,the right rear, due to some type of electrical short in either the switch or motor. The vehicle filled with smoke... it took approximately 10 minutes for the fuse to trip.

General Comments:

Why hasn't Jeep fixed the electrical problems with their electric windows?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 Power Tech I-6 from North America


A true go anywhere and through anything type of vehicle


My power locks went out and my left turn signal would flash both rear signals when used within 6 months of owning it. Dealership fixed it for nothing.

The rear passenger side window came off track and was fixed again for nothing.

The driver's door latch mechanism somehow went missing a bolt. Dealership fixed that once again for free.

General Comments:

The Jeep Cherokee defines the word sport in sport utility vehicle. With its urge to just take off and handle like no other sports utility I have driven or even been in, you can surprise even yourself when you're flying by a sport compact who's driver thinks his car is fast.

The only bad thing about this Jeep Cherokee, it didn't come with a v-8 option. But with the capabilities of the 4.0 6 cylinder, I really can't complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

24th Nov 2004, 18:08

Only problem I have found with the 1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport/Classic is, you better have good "mud" tires if planning on going off road in wet conditions! SUV is a tad heavy with normal "all-terrain" tires!

3rd Jan 2005, 19:44

I just bought a 99 Cherokee Sport from Carmax, and not one later, after I purchased it, my friend who was following me called me and said my Hazards were on (even though my left signal was on). Turns out the Turn Signal Switch is bad... no biggie...free fix.

1999 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 6 cylinder. from North America


A real SUV


At 20,000 miles, both front wheel bearings were replaced under warranty. This has been the only problem with the Jeep.

General Comments:

The Cherokee has the best 4 wheel drive system that I have ever used. We do not pamper this car and it has exceeded our expectations as far as reliability is concerned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1999 Jeep Cherokee Limited 2.5 TD from Belgium


Comfortable, but not a good Jeep!


Alarm problems and very difficult to use!

The 4 wheel drive have big problems: strange noises, one time it brake down!

The motor smokes (black smoke) very well, the dealer checked it and did nothing!

The radio (very expensive sound system " clarion") have electronic problems.

The genuine tires are from bad quality, be careful with it!

The wind comes in (windows).

General Comments:

It's a very comfortable jeep (electric seats, wood panels,...), but a little bit lazy in 4X4. The motor is very noisy, but economic.

Before I had an 4.0 and it was better than the TD engine that I have now, but no so economic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4x4 4.0L Inline 6 from North America


Classic Lines + Great Performance=Awesome


This Jeep has been a very reliable vehicle. The actuator in the passenger side front door window failed at delivery and was immediately fixed.

General Comments:

When compared to the Chevrolet Blazer and Oldsmobile Bravada owned by my brothers, this Jeep is very obviously a much more substantial, solid and trouble free vehicle.

The 4.0 Liter Inline 6 is a very powerful engine, capable of delivering accelleration that is surprising to owners of other SUV's. The transmission shifts smoothly and the 4x4 system is beyond compare, even with the allegedly superior Grand Cherokee.

Handling with this Jeep is amazing. There is absolutely no feel of being top heavy and no body lean in corners. Braking is excellent as well.

The interior of the Classic provides a feel of being completely in command of this vehicle. The control panel is well placed and layed out, the seats are very comfortable for a smaller SUV, and the stereo is generally good.

Outside, the Cherokees low roofline, combined with it's classic angular lines and aggressive stance give this car an almost knife-like appearance. Sadly, the new Libery looks more like a mini-van than a performance oriented SUV like it's older sibling.

My new Jeep will be a Wrangler Sport because I do not like the Liberty and the Grand Cherokee is far too large and expensive for my needs. DaimlerChrysler made a huge mistake in cancelling the Cherokee, but they had to. Nobody would have bought the Liberty if they still had the choice of this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

4th Mar 2005, 13:09

I rented the 2005 Jeep Liberty.. it drove pretty good for a new car, but it was not very spacious. It however made me want to own a jeep so I went and purchase a 1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic. I Love IT. I however did have problems with the oxygen sensor, but I've had that repaired so it has been a pretty good jeep. I do hear some screeching when I start the car. Can you give me some suggestion on what I should do...thanks.