1999 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 12

1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Reliable and fun to drive!

Faults:

Air Conditioning motor remains running even with heat on. Had to unhook. Able to place the wire directly to battery to keep it running, but drains battery if not removed for the night.

Passenger side window works sporadically.

Fog light switch won't work at all now. Used to come on once in a while.

Rear wiper starts and then stops half way up the window. When it does come on, it runs very slow.

Seat belts very difficult to unlatch.

Brakes grab tremendously after rain. When stepping lightly on the brakes when they're wet, I come to a jerking stop.

General Comments:

Other than problems that seem to be electrical, I love the Jeep. I haven't had the problems looked at yet due to the fact that the price will add up quickly for a bunch of small stuff.

Living in the Northeast, 4 wheel drive is a necessity and it works great.

I don't feel that the ride is bumpy at all. I owned a Wrangler and had to sell due to neck problems that were aggravated from driving it.

This car has a great turning radius and accelerates when I need it to.

This vehicle has 141,300 miles on it and hopefully it lasts 100,000 more.

I have no complaints about the body or the molding. A few rust spots about the size of a quarter each need to be fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

2nd Jun 2005, 20:32

I have the EXACT same thing on my brakes. They lock up instantly when wet or cold. Once they get dry or warm, all is good again. 1999 sport as well.

8th Jun 2005, 17:15

I am debating on whether to buy a 1999, 2000, or 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport, mostly as a second car to my Nissan Sentra to commute to work in the winter. Are there any improvements to the 2000 and 2001 over the 1999? I am leaning to a sharp looking 1999 with relatively low mileage and 1 owner. This would be my first car other than a Nissan in over 20 years. I never had any real problems with Nissan, and wonder if I should stay with Nissan, like an older Pathfinder. Any recommendations?

29th Jun 2006, 04:19

I purchased a 1999 Jeep Cherokee approximately 4 years ago now. It has been a great vehicle except for the manual transmission. At approximately 120K the clutch went. It cost me $900 to replace it. Now at 150K the clutch is sticky when hot. Mabey an automatic would have been better? Otherwise this truck has been problem free.

1999 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Poorly made, but very reliable

Faults:

Had to change the brakes at 95K miles.

You have to turn up the radio really loud to actually hear anything.

The passenger window won't work at random times.

The driver window makes this noise when rolled up.

General Comments:

This car is pretty reliable, and it's a good first car for a teenager.

However It drives very rough, and is really bouncy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

2nd May 2005, 07:47

Are you complaining that you had to replace the brakes at 95,000 miles?

That's probably at least double the miles that you should have gotten out of your brakes.

As far as the "bouncy" ride, the Jeep is an SUV. If you want a smooth ride, get a big Caddy or a Town Car.

21st Jun 2005, 17:22

I agree, that is pretty good mileage to be changing brakes. I'm on my third set at 150k. If you don't like the ride, you can always change up the tires and suspension. I personally like a 4 inch lift with the Wrangler MT/R's...

1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

I love my Cherokee

Faults:

Motor in passenger side window failed causing the window to fall into the door and not come back up. Covered under extended warranty.

Molding on sides keeps coming off. Taken it back several times, keeps coming off.

Did first tune up at 99k-spark plugs worn down to nubs--still ran like the day I bought it. Tires at 95k.

General Comments:

The Cherokee can make turns on a dime.

I only wish they made the rear seat split so I can haul stuff a little easier.

I will buy another Jeep if Jeep brings back the Cherokee style.

I plan to run this Jeep for at least another 100k miles. It runs great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews