1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 11 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Inline 6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I will never own any thing, but a jeep

Faults:

Power steering reservoir 80,000.

Front bushings are going out 166000.

General Comments:

The security alarm would go off randomly , but it was a easy fix we just lowered the hood support.

This vehicle is a killer trail rig and highway cruiser.

I LOVE this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carGMC S-10

Summary:

Not a mechanically sound sport utility vehicle at high mileage

Faults:

My fuel pump went out at 110,000 miles.

My motor mount went bad at 110,000 miles.

Muffler went bad at 112,000 miles.

Mysterious noises coming from under hood.

Viscous coupler went out at 115,000 miles.

License plate bulbs do not work, they are not blown.

The Jeep runs very rough (bogs down when at idle, or high speeds), it seems as if there is bad gas in it, but there is not. I have replaced the spark plugs, wires, distributor cap and rotor, fuel pump, and fuel filter. If anyone has the same problem, please let me know if there is a solution.

General Comments:

Responsive steering.

Powerful V8 5.2!

Four wheel drive works like a dream.

Roomy interior.

Sporty look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

17th Feb 2005, 00:33

Check your oxygen sensor or your exhaust to manifold gasket. One will be your problem.

28th Feb 2005, 22:05

Thanks for the suggestion, I will try that.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great car! Can appreciate a little better with higher mileage on it

Faults:

I constantly have to put more oil in the car.

Car will not start, or has trouble starting in cold weather.

Air Conditioning is broken due to electrical problems, and a leak in the coolant line.

Brakes were so shot that when I had them repaired I had to rebuild them. Most likely due to that you have to break heavily often because the car will suddenly change gears and give you a burst of speed out of nowhere.

General Comments:

I have determined after reading many reviews on this vehicle that while as flawed as it may be it is still reliable, and a great deal for the money. My Jeep is at 154,000 and has its problems. But for such a high mileage vehicle you cannot get more bang for your buck. I shows great power off the road and still looks very contemporary for being an 11 year old car.

If you are thinking about buying this car at high mileage I would definitely recommend it. It has a lot of minor problems, but with a little TLC you will have a great vehicle for your money.

I paid $3500 for mine and think I got one of the best older cars for that amount of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2005

27th Jan 2005, 10:32

Yes it was a V6. I have also had some problems with the monitoring computer. Just about every problem I have had with the car I have read on other reviews as occurring with other owners.

27th Feb 2005, 14:26

I have a 94 and it's an inline 6, just like all the other 6 cylinder AMC designed engines they used for that model year.

6th Mar 2006, 18:38

Yeah Mines an inline as well.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

It really isn't worth the stress and headaches

Faults:

I purchased the 94 Grand Cherokee in July 2001 and the transmission went out in August of 2001. I paid 1300.00 to fully rebuild it, however, in April of 2004, the transmission locked up again, and this time I paid 1500.00.

Other problems include; leaks from the rear vent, leaks from under the passenger side, which would leak water onto the passenger's foot.

Another problem that it has is that the alternator cannot recharge the battery, it took two brand new batteries and a rebuilt alternator to realize that in fact it was the computer that is faulty. It was bypassed, and now I do have full power, however, the interior lights dim and blink when I use them.

Also, today I was haunted with the discovery of my anti-freeze+water laying in the driveway. Apparently, the water pump went out and it's shooting anti freeze from under the engine when turned off. And the engine shuts down every now and then.

Last summer, one of the pulleys jumped clean off the engine, the starter went out, and it has a hard time picking up power. This V8 was definitely the worst vehicle that I have ever encountered. I paid more in repair than what the car is worth. I am very dissatisfied with Jeep and their poor efforts to put together the 94 Grand Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

10th Sep 2007, 09:38

Yeah, the 318 has a tendency for the waterpump to go out. Ours went at 120k miles. The overdrive pretty much shattered in the transmission at about 130k miles. I have also experienced leaks, but have managed to fix those after some interior removal and sealant. The most annoying thing is that the rear calipers wear in the brackets and start to make a rattling noise. The plastic piece holding the lights and grille is also pretty fragile; a dog ran into the front of ours and broke it. Note: The vehicle was parked and the dog ran into it. Overall, I think this is a pretty good vehicle for a domestic. The 4.0L is definitely a more reliable motor, and the transmission will last forever on a 4.0. The vehicle as a whole needs close attention and good maintenance to keep it rolling. I could see in the 7 years that you did not own the jeep that it might have been mistreated. It definitely is a big risk purchasing a vehicle that old. If you're going that old and want something with a motor that will last and take a beating, I would recommend going with a Toyota.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews