1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee ZJ 4.0L inline 6-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline 6-cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles

Summary:

Running like a tank! Even after heavy offroading!

Faults:

Transmission went out about 176K miles, had it rebuilt.

Camshaft gasket blew due to high oil pressure, had it replaced.

Oil pressure regulator switch went out, had it replaced.

A/C went out.

Exhaust broke off before muffler (due to heavy off-roading).

Front u-joint axle replaced with new CV axles due to play/clicking.

Power steering pump started to leak, had it replaced.

Rear sway bar broke (due to heavy off roading).

General Comments:

This was/is my first car. I've driven it for a few years now and I must say I've fallen in love with it. Of course some things have worn and broken, but it's at 196K miles so that's expected. And for an old Jeep, I beat the HECK out of it offroading. Everything is still stock too, and somehow, it manages to handle hard trails like a tank. I've jumped it on trails too, and the suspension is still going strong!!

They say these 4.0L engines are the strongest and I'm proud to say that my Jeep is proof of that. I'd strongly recommend buying a ZJ (Grand Cherokee '93-'98) model, but I'd also recommend getting a 1998 just because they updated the equipment. This Jeep is going to go well over 200K miles.

Wouldn't leave home without it. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2010

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo straight 6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission straight 6 Automatic
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

If it was fixed, then great!

Faults:

I have a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. When I bought it the vehicle ran fine. Four days of owning it the transmission fell apart. OK, $850.00 later, a new transmission. Then a week later the motor started to flood out. Now I have gas in my oil. Someone told me to replace the fuel regulator to solve that problem, but now my brake lights are on and won't go off. I'm ready to junk this thing, but don't really want to due to it being a Jeep. Some one please help me figure this thing out.

General Comments:

Need to figure out what is wrong with the brake lights staying on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2009

8th Apr 2010, 14:34

Brake lights staying on usually mean the pressure switch is bad. The switch is on the brake pedal arm. Try to disconnect it. If the lights go out, that's it. Cheap and easy.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 5.2L (318 c.i.d.) from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V8 5.2L (318 c.i.d.) Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance181500 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle

Summary:

Simply the best

Faults:

Coil wire popped off after severe off roading.

General Comments:

This Jeep is very comfortable. The leather seats are still in great shape. The interior is still perfect.

No dents, dings, or rust.

The quadratrac works perfectly.

This is my 3rd Jeep and is so far the best of the 3. My previous Jeeps are the 1990 Cherokee 4x4 4.0 I-6 and the 1983 AMC/JEEP EAGLE 4x4 wagon 4.2L I-6.

The ride is smooth for an all wheel drive. The steering is quick. Brakes work very well. The information center is very helpful. Auto climate control works great.

F.Y.I. If you are new to Jeeps, be aware that you must use the 4 wheel drive at least once a month for about 20 miles to keep the transfer case working properly, or risk spending a lot of money for a new transfer case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2009

30th Apr 2009, 17:35

Even though the Eagle was made by AMC, I would not consider it a "Jeep". It was more a 4WD AMC Hornet Wagon. You wouldn't consider an AWD Chrysler 300 a Jeep too, would you?

30th Apr 2009, 18:45

Isn't that information regarding the transfer case - specific to certain older Jeeps?

2nd May 2009, 01:18

As to the 1st comment. It is a Concord wagon on a CJ-7 drivetrain minus the low range. All drivetrain components interchange from the CJ to the Eagle with the exception of the front differential. It is a modified Dana 30 that is bolted to the block in the Eagle application. The other is the lack of a low range. I have taken the Eagle on some trails that some other 4x4's that are not Jeeps would not attempt.

Answer to the second question is no. All 4x4's with part time transfer cases need to be exercised. My dad owns a 2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 4.0L I-6. Found out he needed to do this or the T-case will bind. When he used the 4x4 mode the T-case was very hard to shift into due to him not using it for 3 months. It is recommended to use it once a month to keep thing running smooth, so when you really need it, it works seamlessly.

2nd May 2009, 12:59

Once a month for 20 miles?

Seems extreme to me.

I've owned & driven Wranglers for many, many years and only used my 4WD drive in the winter. I've never experienced that "binding" that you speak of.

Are you sure about that?

3rd May 2009, 07:36

You will do more damage than good if you drive your Jeep in part-time 4WD anywhere near 20 miles on dry roads.

Part-time 4WD is only to be used off-road or in wet/slippery conditions. It is not to be used on dry pavement.

5th May 2009, 12:23

If your dad has a 2004 Grand Cherokee, then at the very least it has select-trac 4WD. This is not the same part-time system that is used in Wranglers (command-trac).

Select-trac is a full-time system that you can switch to 2WD. It is "full-time" in the sense that you can leave it in 4WD high even on dry pavement without damage to the drivetrain. This is because it has a 52/48% torque split between the rear & front axles. Command-trac is a part-time system, which must be disengaged on dry pavement. It has a 50/50 torque split.

Depending on the model your dad's Grand Cherokee may even have a more advanced AWD system. However since he switches into 4WD my guess is that it is the select-trac system.

5th May 2009, 17:46

What???

Statements such as that should go to show you that you shouldn't believe everything you read on this site.

6th May 2009, 12:01

Correction: You can leave select-trac in 4WD high even on dry roads. 4WD low is only for low-speed off-road use, mud, or heavy snow at low speeds.

Your engine is turning about three times the normal speed in 4WD low.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews