1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 5 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Lumina APV

Summary:

I have NO complaints on this SUV

Faults:

Water pump.

Steering stabilizer.

AC Compressor.

Rear wiper motor.

General Comments:

This SUV is reliable and I'd take it anywhere.

The 4.0 motor is plenty power enough to tow a 16 foot aluminum boat.

Inside is comfortable.

Black in color, makes this SUV stand-out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2007

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

I used to love it

Faults:

Brakes keep going out.

Fixed the transmission twice.

Ignition twice.

Muffler twice.

Ignition coil.

Fuel pump.

General Comments:

My Jeep keeps dying, and I took it in, and they thought it was the fuel pump, but not even 5 miles later, it died again. I took it back in, and they cleaned all the gunk out of fuel tank, and then changed the ignition coil.

I took it home, and it is till dying, but it dies when I am at a stop sign, or if I am coasting down the street.

It is back in the shop, but if anyone has any ideas, let me know thanks.

I don't know if it has something to do with the RPM or not, but it only dies between 0 and 35 mph, and when that happens, the RPM shoots down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

22nd Jul 2007, 08:57

Always keep at least 1/2 tank a gas in the older jeeps, it will prevent the fuel pump from failing.

5th May 2008, 09:32

Yea that's the same thngs that happening to my TRUCK Does anyone knows what its..

31st Dec 2008, 20:23

I had a 1995 Cherokee and it cut out on me twice while driving in traffic going into NYC. I know it was an engine sensor that went bad. I think it was the Crank sensor. I hope this helps.

5th Jan 2009, 12:47

It's your crank sensor on top of your transmission.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2 318 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.2 318 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance205355 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Most reliable vehicle ever owned

Faults:

Viscous coupler went bad in the T-case at 170,000.

Rear axle had seals and bearings replaced at 200,000 due to a whine.

General Comments:

205,000 miles and still running great. No major problems besides general maintenance. Only problem that was had was with the viscous coupling in the NP 249 T-case. Other than that it shifts great has just as much power as when it was bought new. It runs 185psi on a compression test on all 8 cylinders. The seats have held up great and hardly even show wear. I saw all these negative comments and thought that I should put something positive up about Jeeps. They are not bullet proof if you take care of them they will take care of you. I do not baby mine, and I take it offroading quite frequently. All you have to do is keep them serviced and maintained and they will be great dependable suv's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2007

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles

Faults:

Our 1994 Grand Cherokee now has 216000 miles on it. Lately the oil pressure gauge has been going haywire. When you get at or above 60mph the oil pressure gauge bottoms out at 80PSI. I've replaced the oil sensor and it stays bottom out at 80PSI now. Has anyone ever had this problem? If so what can be done to fix it. Thanks for any info, Jeff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2007

18th Mar 2007, 17:02

Umm, that sounds like you have an oil problem. if you replaced the oil sensor and its still giving an unpleasant reading, chances are there is a problem. you need to have it checked out ASAP.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee LIMITED 4.0 inline 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance61540 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Once I got used to it, this vehicle is fun to drive, especially on rough terrain, oh yeah baby

Faults:

Viscous coupler was bad when I bought it at 61,000 miles.

Passenger rear power window doesn't work.

General Comments:

The jeep is solid.

Runs great.

I am sure I would not have gotten a better vehicle for the money.

I just bought the car about a week ago, on the way home from the dealership I noticed that I couldn't make tight turns without something bumping in the front, I did some research and came to the conclusion that the viscous coupler was bad, it was not covered by my power-train warranty, but the dealership gave me half off on the repair ($650), it was no big deal because I know that as long as I fix these types of problems as they occur the jeep will give me many years of service.

I do have one minor issue, 1 out of 3 times that I start the vehicle, the key is hard to turn, once the Jeep is started the Air Bag light, E-brake light, and ABS lights come on and none of the power windows, blinkers, winshield wipers, or radio work. I would Greatly appreciate any feed-back on this problem

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2006

16th Aug 2007, 02:37

Maybe check the Clock spring in steering column under airbag. Mine is out and I had intermittent airbag lights on and off.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews