1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America




My transmission had went finally after over 800000km's, alternator was also going.

Driver's seat belt would pop out sometimes.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. Lasted more than 800000 km. Pretty sure everything was original (engine/transmission).

It's very reliable and I recommend anyone with a tight budget to get this!

OK on gas, and comfortable if you get a limited edition (leather seats).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2009

19th Mar 2009, 14:47

"Driver's seat belt would pop out sometimes."

By Federal law, the seat belt mechanism is warranted forever. You should be able to go back to any dealer and this repaired at no cost. Anyway, it might just need a good cleaning.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2 litre V8 F.I from North America


This is a tank with economy


A fuel injector shattered when starting in extreme cold, 30 below; expected, it's half plastic.

Front and rear seals had to be replaced at 140,000 miles.

Had to use a Lucas transmission treatment at 145,000 miles.

Needs steady greasing.

Steady tune-ups and maintenance is a necessity with this vehicle. If you are not mechanically inclined, a 318 is not for you. A 318 (5.2 V8) is the simplest motor to repair, and is durable. I've had one before that rolled the odometer.

General Comments:

Very powerful, tows with class 3 at a breeze.

Handles excellent in hazard road conditions.

Brakes excellent considering its weight.

Interior is excellent and comfortable, I could spend the night in it, or do a long road trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0. I6 from North America


It's too difficult to diagnose problems


I have replaced both front CV axles and joints... no problem since.

Once shut off after running, it won't start again for 3 to 4 days,... however when it does start, it runs and drives excellent. Whatever the problem is, keeping the fuel pump from kicking on when ignition is turned on. So far I have replaced the fuel pump, ignition switch, fuel filter, and fuel pump relay but the problem still exists.

General Comments:

The hassle and cost of maintenance and repairs is extremely high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2008

20th Feb 2010, 11:48

Try using an experienced automobile technician, it's really a lot cheaper than guessing yourself as to what might be wrong with your car. Mine has 220,000 miles, but I don't ABUSE it.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America


Very fast car


Motor blew.

General Comments:

Swapped the motor and it ran a 7 sec. 1/8 mile. And it was a comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2008

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2L V8 from North America


Jeeps are a one of kind vehicle when you buy it at the right time


Alternator and a new battery changed when I bought it used. Car dealer said it had problems, and I swear it was the original battery still. (about $160, both)

Had chipped of paint on the hood and a little rust on roof. Heard Chrysler had bad under coating for a few years around then. (94-97?)

Inside fair condition, sticky steering wheel when it rains outside. Easy fix with a cover.

Driver's seat feels lopsided to the left.

Around 152000 the O2 sensor (had to lift engine to get to it), and points and plugs @ the same time as the O2 sensor, just to be sure since the the engine was already up and out. (maintenance $423)

175000: front brake pads (easy and cheap).

2-1/2 years later, got a minor oil leak (too expensive and hard time finding it, so I let it go).

1 week before it was paid off ($3,200), it blew the rear seal bad main bearings. Haven't fixed it yet, but with no car payments now I`m having it repaired.

General Comments:

Overall I love my Jeep, and from reading all the comments here about the 94-95 GC Laredo, I think it`s best to buy em after someone else has paid for the first few years of costly repairs to the tranny and electrical problems.

I ran this poor auto to the ground, but once the rear seal and bearing are fixed, I`ll keep on having fun with it.

Nothing seems to stop it off road. I really enjoy fishing and camping in the mountains with it! Lots of power from the V8 blew away a Commander a month before the big problem. Handles well on and off road, even in the snow and ice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2008

9th Oct 2012, 14:03

This is an old review, but I wanted to correct a mistake. You mention replacing the "points and plugs!" American cars haven't used 'points' in the ignition since the 1970's. With such a blatantly wrong comment, I would say to be careful about ANYTHING else this reviewer posted.