1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 13 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance162000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Great vehicle for the price

Faults:

Water pump failed, installed new one myself $40.

New exhaust system Installed myself $85.

New fuel pump installed myself $100

New Brakes installed myself $150.

Crank sensor dealer installed $150

Paint is in excellent condition considering it lives in Michigan winters.

Intermittent wiper has failed.

Interior has help up very well, looks as new.

General Comments:

This car is excellent on snow and ice, very stable. Goes like a tank.

Very reliable and doesnt burn too much fuel if you dont jack rabbit from traffic light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Sharp looks, good performance, mediocre reliability, poor customer service

Faults:

Transmission went at 112,000 miles. Cost about $2100 to replace.

A/C has problems every summer since 75,000 miles - just after the warranty ran out! Systems leaks R-14 (freon) from multiple locations. A poor design.

Jeep kept me on hold over 30 minutes once when I called to complain.

C/V boots crack about once per year - a $60-$80 job.

Engine mounts need replacement about once per year - a $40 job.

Wheels developed strange and unsightly "worm-holes" on the exterior after 60,000 miles.

Factory stereo burned out at 140,000 miles.

Fuel pump needed replacement at 150,000 miles - $800.

General Comments:

Strong engine. I've become spoiled by the powerful 5.2L V-8 and the acceleration.

Perfect size.

Decent gas mileage; about 21mpg under ideal conditions, about 15.5mpg in city conditions.

Good on snow.

Excellent turn radius.

Running boards hamper any serious off roading attempts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

25th Jan 2005, 15:04

I don't know where you bought your fuel pump, but I payed 180$ for mine at Auto Zone. The labor for installation was only 125$.

2nd Feb 2005, 17:05

I had a gas station service dept try to give me an estimate $800 to do the fuel pump job. Found out that they wanted to charge me $400 just for the pump. I picked up the pump at the dealership myself for $240.00.I took it to them, not much to their liking, and gave it to them to install. They anded up only charging about $200.00 more for the labor which I think was fair because they had to drain out a full gastank.

Depends on where you go to get service these days. Some may try to charge you a fortune while others will be more fair.

4th Jul 2006, 19:59

Question on motor mount comment..what's with all the changing?..I have a '94 with a 318..just asking.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance237000 miles

Summary:

A very reliable 1st car

Faults:

Steering wheel started to wear at 90000 miles.

Transmission blew around 100000 miles.

Air conditioner stopped working at around 100000 miles also.

Key-less entry quit working at 150000 miles.

Parking brake broke at 200000.

The driver side 6.5 inch door speaker blew at 235000 miles along with the back seat door speaker on the same side.

Gas pump broke at 236000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has great pickup and the engine works like new, even with 237000 miles..

However the gas mileage isn't that great with 14 miles per gallon in the city and 18 for the highway.

It has very comfortable seats.

The car handles very well.

The paint only has a few chips in the hood and side mirrors.

The only rust is on the tailgate and a little under the doors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 Inline6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

An easy to drive SUV

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the car so far. (Knock on wood)

General Comments:

This car is so comfortable. Like sitting in a lazy boy while you drive.

Very easy to drive. Easier to park than most full size cars, due to the tight turning radius.

Engine a little rough and kinda loud, but prefer the better gas mileage than what I would be getting out of the V-8.

Looks very good. Never thought I would like gold accents on a car-the Grand Cherokee definitely pulls it off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

27th Mar 2004, 06:23

Another reason why you should be glad you don't have the V8 is b/c of all of the problems people have had with it. Read other reviews on here about people with the V8 and Quadra-Drive (quadra-junk is its nickname).

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews