1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 16 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

It's a great vehicle

Faults:

"Service 4 wheel drive switch" light comes on continuously. The dealership has put in 2 new ones, but the light still comes on.

General Comments:

We love this Jeep. It drives good and is comfortable. The only problem is the 4 wheel drive switch light. We don't know if it's torn up or if a computer chip is making the light come on. The dealership says the light does not come on when we leave it there.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

20th Aug 2004, 14:54

Steven.

I have also had a problems with the "Service 4 wheel drive switch" light. My husband boss also have had problems with it. He took into the dealership and they told him not to worry about it. However, it gets really annoying.

Jacci Baker

Jamestown, ND.

8th Sep 2004, 17:23

We have also had this problem and it has our Jeep service dept baffled. It is really annoying.

Tom & Sherry Startzman

Eldon, Mo.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance189672 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Properly optioned, a highly capable OFF-Road machine

Faults:

Brakes every 40,000 miles on average.

Ac evaporator twice in 10 years.

AC Condenser 3 times in ten years.

Annoying water leak into floor pans from rain at 186,000 miles.

General Comments:

If you bought the right options this is an excellent OFF-ROAD vehicle.

If all you did was buy a Limited/most expensive edition, you did not get that OFF-ROAD award winner.

Do Not blame your inability to find a decent mechanic on the vehicle or its' manufacturer.

All cars need repairs, continuous repairs mean lousy maintenance/mechanic, your fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

7th Sep 2003, 09:34

Have you ever had trouble with the "Service 4 wheel drive switch" coming on? This is the only problem we have. We love this Jeep. But the switch has been replaced twice and it still comes on.

6th Dec 2003, 19:52

No, I never had a problem with the warning light that you indicate. If the dealer doesn't seem capable of fixing the problem try another dealer or a repair shop familiar with jeeps.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Jeep has put out a good looking powerful money pit

Faults:

About one week after we acquired this vehicle, the fuel pump went out.

After having this problem fixed, we began to experience problems with the engine cutting out as we are traveling down the road. This is especially distressing at 55 mph in heavy traffic.

Took the vehicle in for a 30/60/90 service and were told the brakes were bad. They were not that bad when we took it in, however they had been squealing so a brake job was in the future.

Priority though was having the front axle replaced as the 4x4 axle was very worn. The service center that replaced the axle returns the truck to me with further brake problems stating the brakes are now dangerous.

Replaced everything from the brake lines to the brake pads, and we are still having problems. We are yet to find out if the problem lies somewhere between the booster and the ABS or if it is as simple as air in the system.

General Comments:

I am rather distraught over the amount of problems we have experienced with this vehicle and the mounting repair bills to attempt to keep it functioning.

At this juncture I am afraid to tow with it though I know it has the power.

On the whole the interior is comfortable, and at least the air conditioner works.

Would be nice if the whole vehicle would work properly all at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

6th Dec 2003, 20:20

How many miles were on the Jeep Grand Cherokee when you 'acquired' it? All that you describe could be caused by abuse from the previous owner. I just bought my 3rd new Jeep, a 2004 Grand Cherokee Overland. The 94 Limited is still my primary vehicle and every repair I've had in 10 years was normal maintenance, and replacement of parts that wear out while putting 200,000 miles on the vehicle. At this point it still runs flawlessly, uses 1 qt. of oil every 6000 miles (V-8) and I replaced the Bilstein shocks that were OEM, I had the Up-Country Suspension option, even though they still worked just fine.

I suspect you bought a marginally equipped pre-owned model that was abused by the Pre Owner who figured they didn't want to keep the Jeep. A lot of lease drivers do this since the next guy to drive the vehicle gets to pay for their neglect & abuse. Next time buy a new Jeep, equip it well, and properly maintain it. You'll have a much happier experience that way.

3rd Jan 2008, 00:19

I have bought a 1994 jeep grand cherokee used in 2007 and it has over 200,000 k on it it has lats of power and it is the 4.0ltr witch I really like only I had to do was put in a new windshield and that was it. It runs great and as far as buying a other one goes I would. And my hubby owns a 1989 jeep cherokee he paid $100.00 for it two year ago and other than the regular where and tear on it is has be vary reliable his too has the 4.0ltr and they are both 4x4 we will never own anything else the jeep.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews