1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 19 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Powerful and reliable

Faults:

Interior bulbs have only blown out.

After purchase and having it for my first summer. I notice there wasn't any cold air coming out of AC. I recharge it and everything was OK.

General Comments:

This car has been so reliable since I bought it. It has been taking a beating since I drive to work everyday. It has never let me down in any weather mother nature has to offer.

I live in NYC where the roads aren't friendly and traffic is ridiculous and this car takes a beating a keeps on running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance150239 miles

Summary:

A gas sucker that likes to break

Faults:

I had owned the car for less than 1 month (135,000 miles) before the fuel pump went out.

At that same time, the air conditioning failed.

Along with that, the engine was burning a steady stream of oil.

Most recently, however, is the problem with the transmission and the transfer case.

I have a problem with the transfer case leaking transmission fluid.

And as of yesterday (1/13/03), my transmission is slipping, not accelerating correctly, and when I stopped my car yesterday night, the engine room was smoking.

General Comments:

This Jeep is designed for low mile usage, and is extremely unreliable at higher mileage.

There is little room in the cabin.

Too many faults, high operation costs, high pricing for parts, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

15th Nov 2010, 14:56

First of all... you bought a used vehicle. When you buy used you take a risk.

Second, things must be replaced after 100,000 miles, so deal with it.

Thirdly... you don't have to buy mfg parts. There are parts known as "aftermarket". Shop at Kragen or Auto Zone. You don't have to be a Jeep owner to know these things.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Run, don't walk from this product

Faults:

500 miles-Rear bearings replaced.

For the next 5 consecutive winters, no 4 wheel drive was available. Linkage adjusted without avail. 5 star dealership claimed nothing was wrong with it. After chief mechanic worked on it, 4 wheel drive nearly impossible to engage. When successful, Disengagement was difficult.

42,000 miles-Transfer case changed at another "5 Star" dealer. 4 wheel drive still not working.

53,000 miles-Transmission failed. Dealer wants $2300 to fix it.

General Comments:

Chrysler products are poorly engineered and horribly expensive. It's no wonder they sold this moribund operation to the Germans. 5 star service means nothing. It's an advertising gimmick to hide poor product and expertise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

It looks good and drives good when it's working right LOL

Faults:

Fuel pump at 100000.

Wheel bearing at 107000.

Rear axle seal at 111000.

Intake gasket at 140000.

Oil sending unit at 161000.

Trans seal out at 161500.

Power steering pump at 166000.

A/C the first week I had it.

Wiper motor at 180000.

General Comments:

Parts are so high for Jeep. I thought Jeep was tough, but I guess they're not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance261000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Got my money's worth out of it

Faults:

A/C compressor replaced.

A/C leaked until evaporator core replaced.

Fuel pump at 175,000.

Transmission replaced at 261,000.

General Comments:

Very comfortable as a daily commuter, but filling up every other day on an 80-mile commute is a drag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Transmission problems again?

Faults:

The fuel pump failed at 126,000 miles.

200 miles later the transmission failed and needed total rebuild. Within 1 week after the rebuild, the torque converter failed and the vehicle had to be returned for more repairs (under transmission warranty).

The transmission had been rebuilt sometime before I purchased the vehicle.

7 months or 7,000 miles later, the rebuilt torque converter failed again causing automatic transmission fluid to coat the entire underside of the vehicle... plus the rear door and bumper!

Full-time 4WD transfer case makes noise when making sharp turns. Transmission mechanic states its the viscous clutch and it costs $800 to replace!

Owned vehicle less than 2 years and spent over 31% of the purchased price on repairs.

General Comments:

I bought the Grand Cherokee because I thought it had a more comfortable interior and larger wheelbase than the Chevy Blazer.

Overall, the vehicle has been fun to drive... but the repeated transmission problems makes me want to get rid of it ASAP.

My gut feeling is that my next vehicle I buy will have a manual transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

1st Feb 2003, 21:03

Usually the Grand Cherokee is a very reliable SUV. There was a recall on all transmissions for that year, I had mine changed about 4 weeks ago. Give it a try, call your local dealer.

26th Apr 2003, 14:05

I am looking at a used 1994 Grand Cherokee with 179,000 miles. I have not test driven it yet. What should I look/listen for when I drive it.

Would it qualify for a transmission change?

7th Oct 2004, 17:01

I'm on my 5th Tranmission in my '94 224,000 miles. I hate to say it, but get used to it. Mopar has great engines, but terrible transmissions. I've grown up with Mopars my whole life. Here what I can still remember from days gone by:

'82 Dodge D150 2 Trans

'90 Dodge D150 1 Trans at 60,000

'92 Chrsyler LeBaron 2 Trans

'94 Dodge Intrepid 4 Trans (first model year)

'94 Grand Cherokee 5 Trans

'00 Dodge Caravan 1 Trans

'01 Grand Cherokee starting to go, traded in!

I know there is more, but I can't remember.

Bottom line, Mopar makes weak transmissions, no one can tell me other wise.

19th Oct 2004, 20:03

Hi, I'm an owner of a 93 jeep grand cherokee laredo 4 x 4, but it makes some strange noise while I'm making turns and also when I start the motor too, anybody can help me?,thank you.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews