1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 22 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

A good student car

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with it is that I flipped it. That was my fault though. Other than that, no problems.

General Comments:

My Jeep runs very well, and I abuse it, gunning the engine and such, but it still keeps going.

The interior is in great condition, and is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

17th Sep 2003, 19:32

Yeah they flip very easy. My friends flip their Jeeps LOL. I don't believe you flipped it LOL.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 L six from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 L six Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance171000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Faults:

Water pump.

Power steering pump.

The last two years it is hard or impossible to start in hot weather when the engine is hot. If you leave it to sit for a few hours it will start normally. I had it in to the dealers to put on the computer and they said everything checks out. Anyone else had this problem???

Please post an answer if you know the fix.

General Comments:

Quiet comfortable ride. A little hard on fuel, but I guess that is what it costs to run a SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 14:51

I have had the same problem. I recently bought the car used and have had it into the shop 5 times. The first four times it was the brakes which squeaked. Yet, the dealer kept telling me nothing was wrong.

Then, the steering made a grinding noise when I traveled on the interstate for 2 hours or so. The steering refused to work.

Finally, I had parked it for an hour or so, on a somewhat hot day. When I returned to the vehicle, it refused to stay running. It was towed to the dealership and, of course, there was "nothing that they could duplicate". Has this happened to anyone else??

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2l V.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2l V.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance95100 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

A costly mistake!

Faults:

Fuel pump went out 9500.

Oil leak in the transfer case.

Oil leak in the transmision.

I had it for 3 days and it started with all these problems, the dealer said it was in perfect condition when I bought it.

General Comments:

A great looking vehicle. Drives great, costly repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Perfect SUV for the Northern U.S.A.

Faults:

My 1994 Jeep G.C. never had a tranny problem. It also never had steering problems, or any other odd problems.

This vehicle with quad-ratrac has been excellent in the snow. It has 120,000 miles!!!

General Comments:

Very nice SUV.

Fun to drive.

V-8 is powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChrysler Van

Summary:

You get what you want, and THERE IS NO LIMIT with a Jeep

Faults:

Other then regular stuff, and running the brakes down fast, nothing.

General Comments:

People say that these cars have major problems, well I have yet to see one. My stock tranny is fine after 100,000 miles, so drop the bad tranny bit. This car has been on deep word trails, off-road competitions, and has been treated very bad. But never once has it failed me when I needed it. As long as you treat the car right it will treat you right!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

2nd Jan 2001, 12:43

I beg to differ with you, but then again it could be because you had the V8 version and mine is a I6. But, since owning my 1994 Jeep Cherokee since 12/95, it has been one nightmare after the other. I replaced the oil pump, water pump, AC evaporator, radiator, and the tranny was rebuilt in June of 2000, and as of today ( 1/2/01) it's in the shop again for what appears to be the tranny again.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L 6 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0L 6 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle Wagon

Summary:

A worthless piece of junk that spent more time in the shop than on the road

Faults:

Transmission refused to shift into 4-low.

Brakes needed to be replaced.

Interior pieces broke 3 weeks after purchase.

Car hesitates when started.

Occasionally won't shift out of second gear.

Rear end makes growling noises.

All four wheels were up to 80 thousandths out of round.

Cracks in the exhaust manifold.

Fuel injectors plugged.

Cracks in transmission case.

Brake light wiring went out in the middle of the city.

Things like that - the list goes on and on.

General Comments:

Never, ever buy a Chrysler product, especially a Grand Cherokee. I was told never to come back to a dealership after I complained about waiting three hours to get a part that I was told was on the shelf. The repairmen didn't even have the proper tools to check if the wheels were in round, so I had to bring my own tools in to show the mechanics how to test the wheels. The car was in the shop 22 times in 2 & 1/2 years. Better off with a Kia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

9th Jan 2001, 21:36

I agree, that's why they call it Chrysler crap.

13th May 2001, 19:09

Have had 2 jeeps, 89 Gr. Wag. A REAL DOG! Worse horror stories than have read here. Next had a 92 Jeep Cher. Laredo. Nice, got at an auto auction cheap 4 years ago, went with a dealer. Rode great, good mileage, Parts broke off, wore out, electrical door locks quit, etc. Leaked oil, but didn't use it. But she would not quit running. Just sold it, looking for a 95 Jeep.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews