1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 21 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 1.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance178683 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A nice vehicle, but requires attentive maintenance

Faults:

Transmission refuses to shift out of first gear every so often.

Leaks oil in about four different places.

Engine frequently cuts off when I stop at a light or when I am idle.

Engine also stutters from time to time when I am on the highway, but does not shut off.

General Comments:

It is reliable and handles well, but just doesn't seem to have a lot of performance (engine wise) to be such a nice vehicle.

It is very comfortable.

If someone can give me any information on performance parts for the engine or the transmission, e-mail me at www.ampp_tru@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2002

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I-6 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission I-6 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

Paid 1500. Feels like a new 30,000 Jeep

Faults:

Bolts for the passenger side motor mount broke off in the engine block.

Alternator not working when bought.

Radio not working when bought.

A/c blowing hot air.

Oil pressure sending unit not working.

General Comments:

I bought this Jeep, which is in excellent condition other than the above problems, for 1500. I am a mechanic and repaired all of these problems for free, (no parts needed) and in a matter of hours.

I love this truck and will keep it for along time even if I have to replace the engine. I have owned BMW's, Porsche's and VW's etc and they have all lasted with just careful driving and routine maintenece.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

4th Jul 2002, 15:42

Hello there. I'm only 15 but my dad bought a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, and I really like it. The back seats could of been more comfortable, but otherwise, it's a great car. We had a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited Edition and it was a V.I.P car... and I'm telling you, it was awesome. It had a mini computer.. with all kind of info. in it which it would give you.

I still think our 94' is a great car.

He paid $4500 for it which I think is a good price, do you?

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance216634 miles

Summary:

A great deal for all the excitement and fun!

Faults:

Actually nothing major has gone wrong with my Jeep.

A few problems are expected, but nothing that has left me stranded.

I had a fuel pump go out on me at about 170,000 miles, that was the most expensive item that I have had to fix on it.

General Comments:

This is what I call a truck that can handle like a freight train.

My vehicle can go through just about any kind of weather you would like it to, I have never been stuck in the snow and last year I did get into about 4 foot snow and of course, it was able to make it out without no help.

Seats could be more comfortable, but hey, who is riding in a BMW?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

29th Jan 2005, 15:04

Hello, I am thinking about purchasing a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. It has 250000 miles on it. I test drove it yesterday, and I have a couple of questions. It was a little bit noisy when it was idling. That is probably due to the mileage, but have you experienced many problems with the motor? Is there any advice you could give me?

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carMG B

Summary:

Buy something else

Faults:

Air conditioning leaked. After several attempts to track the leak down, to include replacing O-rings, I added some Stop-Leak. This seems to have fixed that problem.

The transmission will not shift on its own, it starts out in 3rd and stays there. I can manually shift through all gears, but over-drive will not engage.

Flap control valve of the A/C will not change over to the heater. I understand this may be associated with the condensation drain backing up into the vehicle interior.

Visor clips... what can I say there? They're weak!

Front end will not stay aligned.

Transmission leaks as well, replaced the filter and pan gasket 3 times.

Replaced: Alternator, both front rotors (were warped), power steering pump and hoses, fuel pump (twice).

General Comments:

It is nice when it works, but the problems seriously detract from the enjoyment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 14:24

Had a new transmission after 103,000 miles on a 1994 Grand Cherokee, the Limited. And now it's back in the shop because of transmission leaking and it's still not ready. And also I had to get my head valves cleaned because the breather is broken and the oil went in my air filter. Tune up again... New belt. The body is still perfect, but engine is OK...

6th Dec 2003, 20:30

Warped Brake Rotors? You didn't Torque the wheel Lugs properly, you must have let the 'high school dropout' at the tire store air wrench your lugs. I have 200,000+ miles original engine, transmission, transfer case, and trac lok differentials, and I never once had a warped brake rotor. All still work perfectly, and the engine has plenty of power. I used 100% Synthetic oil since I bought my new Grand Cherokee in December 1993, in all the gear boxes, differentials and engine. It seemed the cheaper way to go than replacing worn parts and having a sludge filled motor. Too bad your Jeep didn't have those advantages. Oh, and I carry a torque wrench to tighten the lugs myself whenever I buy new tires.

23rd Feb 2009, 21:51

Actually not just a impact gun will warp brake rotors.. Overheating them, riding the brakes down hills, sticking slides on your caliper mounts, a rotted off backing plate. So it's kinda hard to blame it all on a "high school drop out". Oh and they're called torque sticks, they were made so you can use an impact gun on wheels and still get the proper torque on the lugs. :)

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews