1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 20 of 23

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Money pit

Faults:

Master cylinder at 75,000 miles.

Distributor at 80,000 miles.

Radiator needed replaced at 77,000 miles.

Miscellaneous leaks in the cooling system.

Heater hose blew.

Windshield wiper motor went out at 74,001 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been nothing but a money pit since I have owned it.

I do believe it is quite a comfortable ride, and the seats are quite nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

30th Sep 2002, 12:39

I own a 1994 JEEP Grand Cherokee Limited, and it has treated me well. It has 170,000 miles on it, and holds the original transmission and engine that it had when it was driven from the dealer. I keep excellent condition of my vehicle and believe that anyone else who does the same will never have out-of-the-ordinary problems with their Grand Cherokee.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V8 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 318 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

Utilitarian, powerful truck with some minor problems

Faults:

Air Conditioner does not work. Transmission a little sloppy.

General Comments:

I believe the way to buy a Jeep Grand Cherokee is to let some other sucker buy it new, along with the headaches getting all the problems fixed. Then we, the lucky ones, get to drive it for many many trouble free miles!

My big question: Why has not Chrysler done the proper long mileage testing on these vehicles to solve problems before mass production?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

If I didn't still owe so much on the loan, I would love the vehicle in spite of the problems

Faults:

Cam shaft position sensor needed replaced at about 80,000 miles because the car would shut off with no warning. Took the third garage all day to figure out what the problem was.

Replaced radiator now A/C not very cold.

After driving for 30 miles or more, when I turn the steering wheel hard enough to enter a parking space I get a thumping and bumping (like if you were driving on a flat tire) that no one can find. The noise and rough ride goes away as soon as the wheel is straightened out. It doesn't happen on shorter trips and not all the time on longer ones.

Automatic transmission just starting to have hesitation when shifting gears.

General Comments:

I bought the car for comfort and safe winter driving.

When it's not shutting off or making horrible noises, I love the vehicle.

The problems that no one can "find" really make me afraid to drive the thing with my family inside.

Any ideas on the unidentified problem would be very much appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2002

25th Sep 2002, 10:30

Your thumping and bumping when parking could be due to your viscous clutch in your transfer case. If you have full time 4WD; your viscous clutch is probably worn out.

4th Sep 2003, 22:22

Your bumping and thumping problem could be due to worn out front universal joints at the front wheels. I replaced mine and car is now fine. new ones also come with grease nipples to keep them lubricated.

15th Jun 2004, 11:53

I own a '93 Limited and have experienced the problem you described. After replacing both front axles, with no apparent effect, a transmission mechanic finally traced the problem to the front drive shaft. While there is still a problem associated with the viscous coupling going out, the thumping and grinding on low speed turns has disappeared.

Ken.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles

Summary:

Good deal

Faults:

Two major things that went wrong with my car since I have owned it was the transfer case went at around 85,000 miles. The second was the transmission was slipping at 118,000 miles. I was lucky both were replaced free due to GEICO mechanical breakdown insurance.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep, I bought it in 1994 because it had the best gas mileage, best handling, best ride, best re-sale value and came standard with driver's side air bag. I think it was Motor trends car of the year. You might check me on that. I have 173000 miles and still runs and looks good. Brakes needed repair, AC recently went, just the normal car stuff on a older type car. All around, I hope to have the car a few more years, its been good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 83 reviews