1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 17 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChrysler Lumina

Summary:

No good

Faults:

Broken tie-rod, front rotors (twice),driver's door popped (open stop?), shifter cover, rear end bearings at 60K miles, leaking gear casing, check engine light came one and it cost me over $100 to have it turned off with no findings of problem.

General Comments:

I'm fed up and want to know if all Grand Cherokees have these problems and should I give up and get something else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 08:53

What year is your Jeep? I have a 1999 Grand Cherokee Limited, and I don't seem to be having any problems with it. The only problem that I have is that I notice that the "Perform Service" keeps coming up everytime I start it up, but yet there is mp service to be performed on it. I don't know I like my Jeep.

14th Oct 2004, 18:04

I to have a 99 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I bought used and enjoyed driving it home. However after driving it for 24 months I have replaced the rear-end once, 3 tweeters for the infinity sound system and (no I don't crank it) gas tank had a leak, replaced driver side window regulator, driver side side-mirror. Occassionaly the transmission shifts incredibly hard. I tell you it scares me to drive it sometimes. I have also had to replace the rotors and brakes. Will this Jeep ever be what I expected? I don't think so. I just want to be done with it.

30th Oct 2004, 11:07

Two happiest moments-bought it, and now when I sell it! What a piece of junk, my 1999 GC Ltd only has 49K miles on it. Brakes all around w/rotors twice, twice for idle air control, check engine lite still illuminates, power door lock motor, 3 tracks on CD Changer don't work... shifting is klunkish.. seems like it likes my mechanic's garage more than mine! Sell it!

22nd Nov 2004, 16:29

My 1999 Grand Cherokee has also been a huge disappointment. Warped brake rotors, bad front wheel bearings, bad tie rod ends, bad fuel pump, all before 60,000 miles. This vehicle has never been driven off-road and has had all scheduled maintenance. What a piece of junk!!

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Poor Manufacturing. Cut too many corners

Faults:

The Radiator went bad and the overflow was always full.

New tires due to unusual wear about 6 months.

New Tie Rod ends at 50,000 miles.

New brakes and rotors twice due to unusual wear.

When I put my Jeep into reverse it makes a loud thump and pull.

The light in the hatch back has had a short in it since I purchased it. The dealership did not take responsibility.

General Comments:

I am a single mother and cannot afford the upkeep on this vehicle. I saved my money for 3 years to buy an SUV. I only drive to Walmart and 4 blocks to the Elementary school. I should not have this many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4WD V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Some components are low quality

Faults:

Both front wheel bearings had to be replaced at 62,000 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased the Chrysler 800+ components guarantee with the car, which was presented as covering power train and power drive. It was a surprise to find out that front wheel bearings are covered on front wheel drive, but not on four-wheel drive Grand Cherokee Limited Jeeps. Does Chrysler try to cover a weakness?

Unreliable front wheel bearings are a significant potential hazard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

18th Mar 2004, 09:36

I can understand your disappointment, but come on, at least know what you are talking about. You have posted two blatantly wrong things about Grand Cherokees. First, the six cylinder engine is an In-line 6 cylinder, NOT a V-6. Second, and the one that jumped out at me as soon as I saw it, you wrote that "It was a surprise to find out that front wheel bearings are covered on front wheel drive, but not on four-wheel drive Grand Cherokee Limited Jeeps." You need to know that, if a Grand Cherokee, or any other Jeep vehicle, is sold as two wheel drive, it is the rear wheels that are the drive wheels, not the front.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews