1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 21 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A quality, dependable, functional vehicle

Faults:

Fuel pump went bad around 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

I read previous reviews of this vehicle, and besides the fuel pump problem, I cannot relate to all the rest of these other owners problems. My Jeep is very dependable, and I have never had a problem with it besides the fuel pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

26th Apr 2004, 16:39

I love my Grand Cherokee Laredo '98 as well- however I am experiencing a fuel pump problem right now too. Got the whole thing replaced last week and there's something wrong with the replaced one now- it stalled on me on I95 last night and is back at the shop today.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Comfortable SUV with lots of options

Faults:

Just purchased this vehicle. It is 2WD, but loaded! Leather, power moon roof, heated seats, tow package, 4-wheel ABS disks, on-board computer, and everything works except the right window. The small used car dealer has promised to fix that. It drives well, accelerates smoothly and shifts smoothly. There is tire noise (don't think it's bearings), but the tires are on their last 5,000 miles. These "off-road" tires don't belong on a 2WD anyway. For $12,300 before tax and license, it's like my '99 5.7 4x4 Durango, only more luxurious and way better on gas.

General Comments:

Hope all the other bad reviews are just not being offset by happy owners. The "loaded" model is quite nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 8 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 8 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A bargain all the way around

Faults:

Just a little wear on the side of the leather seats. The brakes need more repair than most cars that I have owned. Over all it is a superb vehicle. The other people that have griped about their Jeeps, should have never bought a Jeep. They are in my oppinion not Jeepers, and have no business owning one.

General Comments:

Jeeps are wonderful vehicles. Complainers should drive a Ugo, and spend their money on lap tops, or anal plugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

13th Feb 2006, 12:55

Hi there,

I currently own a 1997 Ford Explorer Sport (2 door model) with the OHV V6 and am in the market for a newer more comfortable riding SUV. I have Driven several newer models such as 2002 Explorer V8, 2001 Chevy blazer, etc. and I Drove the 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 V8 and instantly fell in love. I have heard lots of brake replacements are needed, but after some research and dealer questioning, I found out that a permanent fix for the rotors warping is to have after market slotted and vented rotors from the jeep dealer installed, and the high end brake pads to join the new rotors. The salesman at the dealership swore by it and gave me his word that if I were to purchase a 99-05 Grand Cherokee from them he would install it for half price and if I ever came back with a problem with the new brakes, he would take care of it free of charge and refund my money from the cost of the new rotors. So just a tip the next time your brakes need servicing look into slotted and vented rotors from the jeep dealership it just might save you some money.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55200 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great Car, bought from a great dealership

Faults:

I bought the Jeep from CarMax, which I highly recomend, When I first bought the Jeep, it was making a funny noise like an auto-tensioner was bad, well anyways I took it back to car max, and they found the auto-tensioner was indeed bad, and the water pump was also on its way out. I have driven it from Texas to Georgia, and I have put 2400 miles on it in less than a month and have had no problems with it, it rides great. I guess it all comes down to the dealer. I will never go to a traditional car dealer again, I highly recommend Car Max.

General Comments:

I read all these bad reviews about My Jeep, and honestly I am scared now. But I take care of my vehicles, because a couple of dollars extra for the premium gas, and Fully Synthetic Oil, and Good Brake Pads and Rotors. if put garbage in your vehicle then you can expect garbage out of it... I love my Jeep and I only run premium gas, and put a quart of slick 50, with 20w 50 fully synthetic motor oil, and I never had problems, same with my other vehicles.

Bottom Line, you take care of you car, and your car will take care of you...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

9th Apr 2004, 17:03

I have always taken a lot of time and money yo keep all my vehicles perfect inside and out, but my 1999 jeep grand cherokee limited is a lemon. Too many brake problems, too many electrical problems, too many trnsmission problems. If you make a mistake and buy junk, you get junk. Never again, I'm going back to GM.

2nd Aug 2004, 19:32

I take car of all the cars I've ever owned, including my Jeep GC Laredo. Fact is, it is a 4 wheel drive SUV. I had a Toyota Paseo as my first car that NEVER once in 85,000 miles needed new rotors. My Jeep needs them every other oil change. Face it, Chrysler put out a very poor design when it comes to the brakes. Be thankful you got lucky. (Also and FYI... if you read and follow your owners' manual it recommends NOT using premium or high octane gasoline)

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews