1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 24 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.1 turbo diesel from Spain

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25559 kilometres
Most recent distance74550 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Great second-hand buy if it has low mileage

Faults:

Tyres change at 40,000 km.

Brakes changed at 40,000 km.

Electric side mirror changed 3 times.

Excessive shaking (now fixed)

Brakes changed at 60,000 km.

General Comments:

I am very happy with this car as I use it as my work vehicle. It is very comfortable and the diesel version is not bad on fuel consumption.

I have had this car for 3 years now and have had no major problems as such even though I don't think this car is worth its cost price now.

99% OF PEOPLE ARE IMPRESSED BY THIS VEHICLE. The acceleration was surprising for a vehicle of its weight. This car is a very good car as a 2nd-hand buy with low mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.4 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Great fun, but expensive to maintain

Faults:

Oil seals in the transfer case started leaking at 35,000 miles.

The shocks were worn out at 44,000 miles.

The tires were worn out at 55,000 miles.

The brakes were worn out at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

With new Michelin tires and new Monroe Sensamatic shocks the Jeep rides like a dream.

It gets 19 mpg on the highway at 75mph.

With the 5.4 liter V8 it tows a 6000 pound load with no effort at all.

This Jeep is an extremely comfortable vehicle for cross country trips and has lots of power for around town driving from stop light to stop light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

3rd Feb 2003, 23:44

A Jeep Grand Cherokee only has three motor options starting in 1999. One is the straight six 4.0 liter, another is a 4.7 liter base V-8 and the other is a 4.7 liter HO V-8. Chrysler does not make a 5.4 liter engine for the Grand Cherokee line. The 5.4 liter is manufactured by Ford.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Near Scrap Hi Maintenance

Faults:

1) Problem: Rattling noise at idle

Where: Under dash

When: Stopped transmission in drive, engine at idle, foot on brake mostly when engine is cold.

Frequency: 70% of the time.

2) Problem: Grinding noise slow speed.

Where: Rear end of car Possible Rear-end, wheel bearings.

When: Slow speed less than 20 MPH.

Probably all the time, but masked.

Frequency: 100% of the time.

3) Problem: Steering wheel shimmy car surges.

Where: Front end of car.

When: When applying brakes lightly.

(Rotors have been turned and replaced).

Frequency: 50% of the time.

General Comments:

Rotors have been replaced 2 times and turned 2 times

Original rotors

Turned original rotors

Replaced rotors

Turned replaced rotors

Replaced rotors 36,000 miles

Rotors bad again 48,000 miles.

Is their a High Performance Rotor (Slotted) available?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

This is a roomy, sporty and all around good vehicle

Faults:

When we first purchased the Jeep Grand Cherokee the rotors had to be replaced as well as the pads. That was at 60000. Today we had the speed sensor replaced at 67000. I understand that every vehicle is not perfect. I would buy another Jeep Grand Cherokee again if I had the chance.

General Comments:

This is a very nice sports SUV. I love driving this vehicle. I've put 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months. The steering is incredible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58800 miles
Most recent distance69100 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This could be the worst vehicle ever manufactured in history

Faults:

From the moment I got the vehicle, it was apparent it had problems.

The first instance of major trouble was that it would just stop on the highway, usually while the cruise was on and it was accelerating on an incline. After waiting 5 minutes, it would start up fine, go 10 miles and stop again. If you barely touched the accelerator, you could go 10 mph on the shoulder, but any attempt to step on the gas would be met with dead response and it would stop again. If Jeep ever reads these, they must understand my wife and I were fearful for our lives going down the shoulder of the Interstate going 10 mph.

After several trips to "my repairman", we had checked every possible technical problem and found nothing. O2 sensors were good and fuel tank appeared clean. We did a complete fuel system cleaning, replaced the fuel filter, and changed all the fluids.

That lasted about a week. We took the Jeep to NY to get married. We almost didn't make it on-time because this nonsense happened 6 times there and 3 times on the way home.

We are only getting 11-12 mpg in town and maybe 15 on the highway.

The only way we've gotten any relief is to use Premium unleaded at all times. Any less than that and it starts all over again.

The Jeep always feels like it is towing a boat every time you first get in it and start driving. It is extremely sluggish.

The newest problem looks like a bad transmission. Every 3rd or 4th shift into reverse yields nothing. Then after 10 or 15 seconds... the engine races and clunks into reverse.

When you first start out on a drive, it shifts from 1st to second just fine. Then, it races in 2nd for several miles, red lining at 40-45 mph, before it finally shifts into 3rd. After you drive it for 10 or 15 minutes, it appears to ride a lot smoother.

I refuse to take it to any Jeep dealer for repair. Their prices are like highway robbery for anything. Several people I've talked to say you can't get out of a dealership for less than $500 for anything.

I've talked to 4 other 1999 Laredo owners, and all 4 have had transmission troubles. Three have had the transmission replaced at 56K, 38K, and 18K.

When you talk to a Jeep dealer however, they have had no recalls on the transmission.

The former Laredo's have a 3/36 warranty. The 7/70 warranty on the drive train only applies to the new QuadraTrac transmission.

The battery completely discharges if it sits for more than 3 days. I can't park it at the airport and go out of town. If I do, I have to have it jumped as soon as I get back just to drive home. it is a brand new battery.

The console clip broke the first time I opened and closed it. The rear compartment retractable shade broke the first time I used it.

The bearings went bad in the rear causing severe road noise and had to be replaced.

The vehicle rides very hard and you get tossed around on every bump and turn.

General Comments:

I refuse to take it to the dealer and pay hundreds, if not thousands of dollars to try to "figure out" what might be going wrong.

I am not about to spend one dime to replace a transmission on a vehicle with 69K.

This vehicle is the Edsel of the SUV industry. I am going to hire a lawyer that specializes in this type of litigation and put the pressure on Chrysler. Since I work for a newspaper and with a competent lawyer, we ought to cause enough bad press for Jeep, they'll have to come clean and put out a recall on these transmissions.

A good friend had the same problems with his 2001 and Jeep replaced EVERYTHING that was wrong with his including the transmission. His went bad at 58K.

This vehicle was purchased in April 2002 at 58K. I parked it in August 2002 with 69K and have not driven it since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

31st Mar 2003, 07:39

I also own a '99 laredo. I have had nothing but problems with it since I drove it off the lot. I am now dealing with the fact that it needs a new transmission. This is a real blow to me. I am currently unemployed and a single mother with two small children. I do not have the thousands of dollars to get a new transmission. I am highly disappointed with Jeep. I thought I was buying a safe and reliable vehicle for my kids and I. Shame on you Jeep.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews