1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 26 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance44760 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A high performance luxury SUV

Faults:

New tires 450.00 mounted, new brakes 170.00 - I installed.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle. Comfort and reliability. It rides smooth, and handles well, plenty of power with 4.0 liter 6 cyclinder w/4speed automatic and really decent gas mileage for a SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Poor quality matches poor service

Faults:

The transmission was replaced at 22,000 miles. It is slipping now and has a delay during engagement.

The front axle was replaced at 25,000 miles.

The transfer case (Quadra Drive), rear differential, and brakes have had constant problems with groaning and clunking noises.

General Comments:

The dealer, (Bayside Chrysler), kept the vehicle for 24 days and refused to compensate me. I had to argue for a rental car. They gave me one for 10 days only. I was without a car for 14 days. When the work was done I had to return the next day so they could put the dashboard back together correctly and reconnect my CD player and amplifier.

They also tried to charge me over $900 for the 22,500 mile service.

The transmission and drive shaft clunk whenever you drive it. The car slams into drive and reverse. I was told that this is all normal.

Nothing is ever fixed correctly. Chrysler has no customer service. They will pass you to anyone and everyone until you stop calling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2002

3rd Feb 2005, 20:58

Write a complaint to www.NHTSA.gov about all the problems you have with your Jeep.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Not worth buying at any price

Faults:

The water pump went out at 47,000 miles.

Both driver and passenger front side windows stopped working after 8 months. They have been "repaired" three times and have stopped working again.

All the power train seals started failing at 50,000 miles.

The brake rotors had to be replaced in less than one year.

The transfer case needs replacing at 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

We will never buy or lease another Chrysler product. If all the on-line reviews had been available in 1999, Chrysler would have never gotten our $35,000 check.

We've owned Fords, Nissans, and Toyotas. In the past 25 years, we spent less on repairs for all those cars combined than we have on the Grand Cherokee in less than 3 years.

This 4X4 has such poor reliability, we're afraid to take it off-road. I just hope we can unload this high priced lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

25th May 2002, 00:43

I'm sorry to hear that about you jeep.. I bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2001 and I only have 5700 miles on it and the Rotors just got replaced after arguing with the service dept. for an hour.. I'm scared to see what will happen next.. I'm gonna ditch it asap and get a better vehicle that will last the long haul.. Thanks for your post it made me realize I need to do something and quick.

Mark_wimberly@yahoo.com.

10th Jun 2004, 07:34

I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 36,000 miles and have had the rotors replaced twice under warranty... they need to be replaced a third time and Jeep will not cover the cost, although the mechanic and service writer acknowledge that this is a constant problem. FAIR WARNING TO BUYERS.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A piece of junk at any price

Faults:

Where shall I begin?

I think the first component that failed was the fuel pump, and it was replaced under warranty. The symptom: my engine not starting with the first turn of the ignition - it always started on the second turn. My roommate also owns a 99 Jeep GCL. He had the same problem at about the same number of miles.

The transfer case was "cracked" and was replaced under warranty.

The transmission started kicking when shifting up. I've had the transmission computer software updated many times. The dealership's service advisor told me there was nothing else that could be done to fix the problem.

The steering wheel had a lot of slack. The service advisor had the steering column replaced. This did nothing about the slack. I just live with it now.

The car never seems to track straight no matter how flat the road. I've had my alignment "done" many times, but it doesn't seem to help.

The "check engine" light turns on intermittently and the technicians cannot figure out why. Every time the light comes on my engine runs at a really high rpm. I am almost red-lining doing 70mph.

My engine to this day sounds like a turbojet when I step on the accelerator before the engine is completely warmed up.

My roof leaks whenever there's heavy rain. The technicians could not isolate the leaking. To this day the problem has not been resolved.

The rivets holding the wheel well skirts in place came off and the skirts were "eaten away" by the tires. I had this taken care of under the warranty, but the rivets popped off again recently.

One day I tried to lock my doors with the remote. The doors locked and I heard an electrical whining sound. I tracked down the noise, and it turned out that my passenger side mirror was adjusting itself. Every time I hit the "lock" button on my remote the mirror would start moving down and hit the limit. The motor kept going for 10 seconds or so after hitting the limit. A software upgrade supposedly fixed this problem. I know that a memory option adjusts the seat and mirror positions for a particular driver, but I don't have that feature on my vehicle.

The electrical components on the right side of my vehicle just quit sometimes. The door locks and windows do not work. My service advisor said that a "modulator" needed to be replaced and was replaced under warranty (I didn't get the impression that he knew what he was talking about). This intermittent problem still exists. I just restart my engine when this happens.

The recline mechanism of my power seats started grinding. I've had this problem fixed twice.

The latch for the center console compartment broke off.

My coolant pump was leaking. I had to refill my coolant every 2-3 days just to keep the "coolant low" warning from coming on. I had the pump replaced under a limited warranty. I had to pay almost $200 to have the thermostat replaced along with the pump.

General Comments:

This car can really accelerate and is therefore really fun to drive. Unfortunately acceleration isn't the primary or only quality I look for in a car.

Gas guzzler. I think I get about 11-12 miles/gallon.

Is Jeep familiar with the concept of product testing? Maybe I am the test.

I would choose a root canal for every tooth in my mouth over purchasing another Jeep.

Anybody want a used White 99 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Unfortunately, because of my experience with this vehicle, I'm unlikely to ever buy an American car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2001

17th Oct 2001, 15:31

Don't generalize that all American cars are built that way. Go ahead, help the Japanese or Germans. Maybe your job will be gone one day.

1st Mar 2002, 18:16

I am in complete agreement with "A Piece of Junk..." I have had the same problem at about the same number of miles. The worst is the brakes. I find it incomprehensible that rotors have to be changed with about the same regulaity as the recommended oil change!

Does anyone want to buy a red GC Laredo?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews