1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 28 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31 miles
Most recent distance15600 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Own one once, great fun

Faults:

Drivers seatbelt inertia lock has come on a couple of times.

General Comments:

Excellent 4x4.

Heavy on the front tyres.

Commanding comfortable ride.

After 12,000 miles the engine really got better, now holds it's own when pulling away.

Not a lot of boot space however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance23616 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Poor value, high cost, poor warranty

Faults:

3 full sets of rotors and pads have been replaced, starting at around 6000 miles. The Jeep is in the shop, again, for it's fourth set of rotors now.

The vehicle shakes when braking over 50 MPH and seems to actually thrust forward before slowing down, even after rotor replacements.

Both the driver and passenger side window motors have failed and have been replaced.

General Comments:

I've been told by the dealership that Chrysler/Jeep has full knowledge of the brake problems on the 1999 JGC Laredos. There is no intention on the manufacturers part to fix the problem, which is, I've been told, a material issue. I understand that Chrysler has supposedly fixed the issue with the 2001 models, although I haven't spoken with any owners to date.

The dealership and Chrysler's stance on the safety issue surrounding brakes is uncanny and totally unacceptable. I was told this evening by the dealership to claim the lemon law on the Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

2nd Jun 2001, 07:31

I have a 1999 GC Laredo with 20000 miles. I have also had the brakes worked 4 times and have been told essentially the same thing by the dealer. I have not had problems with the windows (knock on wood). This was the first NEW car I have purchased. I believe it will become a major disappointment. Extended warranty is in the works.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740 GLE

Summary:

Expensive and poor engineering

Faults:

Steering problem - pulls to the right side.

Brake rotors - 3rd set that I have to had to replace within 12 months.

Electrical problem.

A/C noise.

General Comments:

I am in the lemon law case with DaimlerChrysler. They have offered me $1500 for all the repairs that I have done on the Jeep. I didn't accept their offer and I will keep fighting until they will take the Jeep back!

I won't buy a Jeep again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

15th Dec 2000, 13:35

Can you please forward me any information you have? I'm having the same problems....

brew_ski007@yahoo.com

Thank you for your time.....

23rd Jul 2001, 11:25

I am now having the same problem with my dealership... I just had the third set replaced at $400'ish and they are telling me that it is just the way it is and that I don't qualify for the Lemon Law.

13th Oct 2001, 12:45

I own Grand Cherokee 1999 8 cylinder. I have to get the rotors either replaced or turned every 6000 miles. I wrote to Chrysler, but their response was that it is normal (let me laugh). I would like to get a response from other owners of this lemon (high priced) with the same problem, so we can start some action against Chrysler (rather Merzedes now).

My e-mail: jhron@cgocable.net

17th Sep 2003, 17:23

I have a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have had brake problems that took numerous visit to brake repair to solve or I should say to make them operational. At approximately fifty thousand I had to replace the the water pump.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carford tarus

Summary:

Good ingredient for lemonade

Faults:

Transmission started hard shifting and whining at 2000 miles.

Rear end developed a high pitched whine at 70 MPH at approximately 5,000 miles. Dealer road tested and stated "normal operation". Fleet manager asked me to drive it several more miles and return if it didn't improve. At approximately 6,000 miles I returned and took the shop Foreman for a test ride. He stated that Chrysler representatives told him to turn the fan motor and radio on and if the noise was above that they would do something about it. After two weeks in the shop some improvement. Returned at 10,000 miles with front end shudder (brake rotors) and transmission and rear end problems still existing. It has now been in the shop for 3 weeks.

General Comments:

I contacted the manufactures rep and he promised some technical assistance. Have no confidence that it will be fixed. In Alabama you must agree to arbitration and that is my next step. Will post the final results.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

4th Nov 2002, 19:42

I just purchased a used 1999 Grand Laredo. When I started it for the test drive it took about 5 seconds to crank. The salesman said it was cold and had been started in a couple of days. Understanding that this can happen thought nothing of it. I have owned the Jeep for 2 1/2 weeks and it rarely to never starts up. I count one one thousand, two one thousand, etc. get the picture. It also shift very hard into reverse. It has a 60day warranty on it. Any suggestions on a possible path to take on dealing with the dealership. They seem to think that there is not a problem and it's in my head or they say that's normal for Jeeps.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews