2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited from North America


Continued problems that can't get resolved


Brakes, Brakes, Brakes.

I've owned three jeeps now and each one I have replaced the brakes more than once on each model. Last May 2007 I replaced the rotors on the 2000 Jeep. I was just told they are warped and need to be replaced again. Just one year later.. I put 10,000 miles on the car. What is the problem?

I also have this horrible grinding noise when I turn the car to the left. I've brought it to the shop 3x for it.. paid $500 each time and after about 9 months.. it does it again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America


I love my Jeep!


Rear transmission housing needed to be resealed.

Crank sensor needed to be replaced.

Rear tail light needed some tweaking...

General Comments:

The tail light issue is an easy fix; don't spend hundreds at the dealership...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2008

24th Aug 2008, 18:51

I have the same problem and I haven't been able to repair the rear driver side light.. It's not the light bulb, can you tell me how to fix it?

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L from North America


We also have had problems with our Jeep, although we used it in harsh conditions for four years and it held up. In the last three years we have had major problems.

1st: The radiator fan will not work it shorts out, we have replaced it three times and it shorts out every time.

2nd: We replaced the engine.

3rd: Won't start on first try (we know how to fix this problem.

4th: the left turn signal started to fail, then it became the driver side door locks, the alarm system, the windows, the on board computer, the radio. What else...

Now we have no clue how to fix this problem.

Our doors have never made any grinding noises and our back tail lights have always worked.



Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2008

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0, 6 cylinder from North America


Very poor vehicle that is unreliable


This Jeep Grand Cherokee has been by far the worst vehicle I've owned.

Have had to change the rotors twice in the past year, have replaced the fuel lines, the tie rod ends, and there is still a loud noise coming from the front end.

The front window just stopped working.

The motor is making a loud knocking noise and the oil pressure is low.

There are numerous recalls that I just found out, so before I do anything, I am going to make sure all the recalls are fixed.

By far the worst car I've ever owned. I have had all the same problems as most others on this board, and it's horrible that Jeep has not made a recall for these issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2008

6th May 2008, 14:52

I own a 2000 Jeep Cherokee with approx. 133k miles. This weekend the tie rod broke while driving. It was one of the most frightening experiences I've had in my driving career as I completely lost control of the car without warning... I can't find any information regarding any recalls for this issue. Luckily I had slowed down to make a turn... had this happened 3 minutes earlier, I would been on one of Chicago's busiest expressways (290)..I'm sure the outcome would've been much different.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 from North America


Passenger side rear view mirror motor is out.

Rear actuator for the rear hatch is out

Rear wiper motor is out

Driver side rear power window motor is out.

General Comments:

Bought this Jeep used in Mar 03 with 77K miles on it. Now have 206,000K rides good, no major problems until now, both right and left rear axle seals are leaking. Had to replace starter motor 2 years ago. But I must have a good Jeep. I have driven all over Oklahoma and Texas, and it has been VERY reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 4.7 from North America


Rear Tail light works just fine until you step on your brakes, then it goes out. Having a younger brother who works for jeep, he says they replace these in his shop at a rate of a dozen or more per week. I notice around town other jeeps with the same problem. Although you all are getting ripped off I paid 89.00 for a new jeep tail light fixture. My dad drives a Grand Cherokee the same year and model as mine he replaced one and within days had to replace the other, My brother states this is common also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2008