23rd Mar 2003, 15:28

We had the same problem, too. We always have fixed it because we've had to (and it's never been covered under warranty - dealer always says it's normal wear and tear) and the rotor problem will resume in about 1 month. What a $ pit - and never take your Jeep for servicing at Eastside Jeep in Bellevue, WA. Worst service and when I complained to Jeep (the actual company) they said to take it up with the mngr. Turns out the bad service came from the manager.


1st Apr 2003, 11:34

My wife has a 2000 Grand Cherokee and it has the same problem with brakes everyone else has described. The dealer said it is a problem with the manufacturer of the rotors. They warp for unknown reason. We have had them turned and that fixed the problem for a while. Then had them replaced and that also fixed the problem for a while. Normally the fix lasts about 12,000 - 13,000 miles. This was all done under warranty. It is time again to replace the rotors. I am looking to go with high performance (non-factory) replacement rotors. Has anyone had any luck with anything other than the factory parts?

My son and daughter both have Chrysler products and I have a Dodge truck. No problems at all with any of the other vehicles. This Grand Cherokee is another story. I would never recommend it to anyone.

12th May 2003, 14:15

I have a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 40k miles that I'm about to spend $350 to get new rotors on. The dealership offered to sell me a "caliper fix" at $160 per side. They recognize that it's the caliper that is causing the warping and have since updated newer models with the "improved" calipers. This should be a recall. I suggest that all of you do what I am about to do: send you bill to Chrysler Daimler demanding reimbursement and new calipers installed at their expense.

12th May 2003, 19:03

2001 Grand Cherokee Ltd.

Love this suv EXCEPT for the rotor problem. I replaced theem at around 12,000 miles and now have to replace them again at 33,000. A mechanic friend recommended using Bendix, which is what we will put on this time. Says they are made better and will last longer than what the dealer will put on. Have not been totally satisfied with service from dealers in the Nashville, TN area. Car will be out of warranty soon.

Front seat heater is not working and will go to dealer to have that fixed, but as for the brake work, it will be done elsewhere.

3rd Jun 2003, 14:00

I have a 2001 Grand Cherokee, Laredo and a vibration is visible every-time I brake, at the speed of 65 mph while slowing down. The steering wheel vibration so bad that it looks like floating on the road. One more item that I cannot understand is while approaching a stop sign or traffic light. The engine suddenly stop. I have to put it back in park to restart. On sudden engine stop would someday cause bad accident. Not only the jeep cost to much 40,000.00 should it does not conform a quality of some import cars. By the way I have a 1990 Saab 9000s. with 215,000 miles on it. and still running at least it does not vibrate at 65 mph.

10th Jun 2003, 05:46

We've had the same rotor warping problem with our 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo and the same dealer indifference to fixing the problem. We're fighting them, but it looks hopeless. They blame the factory and suggest that we call the district manager, who doesn't return calls.

10th Jul 2003, 15:06

I have had a 2002 Jeep Laredo for 1 year, I had to take it in several times for the steering wheel vibrating and shaking when braking above 40mph. by the end of 12 mos. I had 3 complete brake sets & 4 repairs to the steering pump because of excessive noise when turning, I traded it in for a 2003 Grand Cherokee Ltd. it just reached 6000 miles. and the steering wheel shaking and vibrating when braking is starting again! I will never buy another Jeep product, my dealer has been helpful, Chrysler was absolutely not!

10th Jul 2003, 15:38

I see a pattern here and it does not look good for the car owner. Yes, I have 2001 Grand Cherokee Limited V8 - and my brakes pulsate when slowing down - at both high and low speeds. Service dept says my roter/pads have 10k or more drive life, however I was quoted $650 for new calipers - Mr. service at Naperville Jeep says it 'should' fix the problem that has caused the rotors to warp - so replacing pads/brakes won't fix - the current calipers create too much heat and it is the hot/cold condition that causes the warping. Good news, it makes sense - Bad news I can fix it at my costs...hmmmm?

12th Aug 2003, 11:37

My wife's Jeep sux big time. Recently went over 36,000 and had the rotors, brakes replaced. Now she gets this light on the dash stating there is a problem with the Catalytic Converter. What a blow!

12th Aug 2003, 21:50

I also have a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The vibration when braking at over 40 mph started when the car had 24,000 miles (July 2002). I took it to the only dealer in town and was told it was normal wear and tear. I told them this was crazy. I asked if there was a service bulletin out from Chrysler and there was. Dealer or Chrysler paid for new rotors and the caliper kit which was supposed to fix the problem. Car now has 43,000 miles and the problem has returned. For $297 I had the rotors resurfaced or turned (whatever they do). Boss has a 2002 Grand Cherokee and just had the same problem corrected at 13000 miles. It is time to demand Chrysler stand behind their product.

13th Aug 2003, 08:10

Same problem with the steering wheel vibration when applying the brakes on a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. Has anyone had any luck getting the manufacturer to address this problem? Sounds like the manufacturer ought to be on notice by now and doing something to remedy the situation. I am dealing with Eastside Chrysler Jeep in Bellevue, WA. and would appreciate any comments about this problem or your experiences with the manufacturer or dealer.

M.L. Johnson.

16th Aug 2003, 23:53

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo, same braking problems as everyone else here. I took it in last year because of vibration when braking, and the repair lasted 2 days!! I brought it back, had to argue with them that it was NOT fixed. They finally replaced the rotors and my Jeep's been fine until this summer. It's now vibrating again. I truly love this Jeep, except for the braking problem, and it's a big one. I released the Jeep for an additional year, which ends March 2004, so thank God for this site. I was planning on buying the Jeep since it has less than 40,000 miles on it, but not so sure now. Since I do love the Jeep, I will continue to keep watch, see if Chrysler will make this a recall and take responsibility for this problem, as they certainly should. THEN I will consider buying it. It's a shame to have such a wonderful SUV and not back up poor design or craftsmanship. So, Chrysler, what are you going to do about this???

A Lady in Minnesota.