2002 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 16 of 21

2002 Jeep Liberty from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Libby, the car my ex didn't want me to have

Faults:

Nothing wrong with my Liberty except that my husband is very jealous.

General Comments:

I love my Libby and although my husband wanted me to drive a Ford Explorer, I decided to buy a Jeep.

The Libby looks much better and handling is great.

Now that I have a new car, I also want a new life and I will dump my narrow minded boulding husband for a younger one, one who doesn't need an Explorer (of all cars) to show that he is the man.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

A foo foo mattel toy car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car because I simply refuse to drive. (wife does)

General Comments:

I have a 1996 Ford Explorer xlt that will run circles around the Liberty in comfort, handling, gas mileage, interior head and leg room, passenger room, towing, and hauling capacity. I refer to the Liberty as the foo foo Mattel toy car. Might fit somebody well that is 5'2 and weighs 130 or less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2003

5th May 2003, 09:24

Don't drive circles to fast in your Ford Explorer, else you will roll over.

I'm happy for you that you drive such a manly car, you probably need that to feel like one.

5th May 2003, 09:38

See you in the mud buddy!

The only thing your Ford will explore is the rear end of a tow truck.

I feel sorry for your wife, she has a good taste for cars and she knows what she wants, but how could she get involved with such a caveman.

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport V6 3.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

An urban size Hummer or almost!

Faults:

After 15 months and over 54000 Km (32400 miles, mainly highway) the Liberty has been very reliable although I did not know what to expect since I've heard a few bad stories on Chrysler/Jeep products. Its 4x4 is very efficient. Living in Canada, I had the opportunity to use the vehicle in various road conditions. Deep snow or ice, the Liberty (which I equipped with 4 Nokian Hakkapeliitta winter tires) performed very well. Actually, much better than my previous 4x4 : a Ford Explorer Sport. The only negative points are : front seats too shorts which make long drive uncomfortable. Also, any 6 footer will not enjoy seating in the back where legroom is simply non-existent. Finally, the gas consumption is very high.

General Comments:

Great 4x4.

Front seats should be improved.

Gas consumption is very high for the size of the vehicle (easily 15 liters/100 Km).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

2002 Jeep Liberty Limied 3.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance11217 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A lot of bang for your buck!

Faults:

One of the drums on the brakes was warpped when the vehicle was purchased.

General Comments:

This SUV is comfortable and ergonomic.

The engine is peppy; it gets out of it's own way, quickly.

Even the guys like to drive it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired495 kilometres
Most recent distance3700 kilometres
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

A money pit vehicle

Faults:

The spark plug was defective and the dealer didn't have one in stock in order to repair the car.

The interior does not clean up well.

The gas mileage is terrible.

The seats and carpeting look shabby after only 4 months of usage.

General Comments:

The Jeep Liberty is fun to drive, however, you cannot drive it much due to such poor gas mileage.

So far in snow it has performed very well. The weight of the vehicle and the traction make you feel you can go anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

This was my favorite of all cars I've owned

Faults:

I was forced off the road by a driver running a stop sign. I went head on in to a tree at 25-30 mph and the airbag never deployed. The engine block cracked and they say that the car is totaled. I sustained head trauma and a broken left leg, plus severe soft tissue damage to my right leg. The dealer has stated that the G-switch would have set the bag off only at higher speeds. Good thing my belt was on.

General Comments:

This was the best of all cars I've owned up to his point. However to have my life and safety jeopardized, and very little concern shown from dealer, is very disconcerting. I hope that the manufacturer will show a bit more beneficence and attentiveness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

27th May 2003, 08:38

It is not the dealer that you should be crossed with, but with the manufacturer.

A collision at 25-30 mph should have triggered the airbags.

Whats the point of having the airbags inflate at a higher speed when so much damage was caused to you at a "low speed".

7th Oct 2005, 16:38

My wife's 03 was hit by a Semi in the drivers door. NO Bag Deployment. Impact of 45 MPH...??? When does the SRS function? She was injured and will require spinal surgery. One other note: The Semi driver was not insured. So, our Uninsured Motorist Coverage denide totaling it and rebuilt the entire left side. Recently we have had to return the vehicle for a complete redo. The Body shop failed to properly locate the side pannel prior to spot welding it in place. What a nightmare.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 66 reviews