2002 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 17 of 21

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I loved a Lemon

Faults:

Spark plug "fouled" at 5200 miles.

Spark plug replaced the next day.

Mystery check engine light issue diagnosed as fuel injector problem evolved into engine valve problem and then into cylinder problem, and finally into cracked engine block at 8500 miles, with no overheating incidents.

General Comments:

I loved this Jeep at first, but it has spent more nights than I would care to count in the garage.

The look and handling of the vehicle have been outstanding.

Until things under the hood started failing, I felt very safe in my Liberty Sport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

4th Jan 2003, 10:50

I felt the same about my Liberty, until I met the 'service' department from Jeep.

I will trade it in as soon as BMW brings it's X3 on the market.

29th Aug 2003, 13:56

My 2002 Jeep Liberty is presently in the shop and has been for several weeks. The service department doesn't know what's wrong with it. Without warning I started my Jeep and it was idling rough and stalled and the check engine light came on and started flashing. The service department thought it was a bad spark plug and fuel injector, but replacing the parts has not fixed the problem.

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.2L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Looking for another used Cherokee

Faults:

A noise from the right rear suspension.

The cargo space is smaller than the Cherokee.

The electric window controls are inconveniently located on the center console.

The doors lock by themselves, but do not unlock, you have to unlock using the fob or front locks to open the back.

The brake dive is severe; it gives a false sense of braking until you realize that you are approaching the obstacle in front of you much faster than anticipated.

Handling is poor.

The Liberty has less power than the Cherokee, but weighs 500 lbs more for the 4x4.

General Comments:

Hard seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

28th Nov 2002, 07:44

I don't believe the person who wrote this review actually owns a Liberty.

He probably drives around in a Volvo with big wheels (old Cherokee) and has a problem because is car looks very dated now.

29th Nov 2002, 10:08

Nice try!

But in reality you have not even driven one.

21st Jul 2003, 10:02

Poor handling?

Bad breaks?

Small cargo space?

This review must be fake!

I think this guy has a problem with the fact the Liberty is and looks much more a Jeep than his Volvo estate (Cherokee).

He still drives his AMC designed (I use this word very loosely) peace of crap and is bashing all thinks new and better, poor guy.

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance5250 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Our best buy!!!

Faults:

The only problem I had with my Liberty is the rear seat belt on the driver's side did not work when we bought it. It is only when my mother sat on the back seat, she noticed that the seat belt did not work. Two days and it has been fixed. We received great service from the dealership.

General Comments:

My wife and I love our Jeep. We are planning to have kids and we have plenty of room in the back seat. I cannot wait to try my 4X4 in the snow and I can assure you that we have plenty of snow here in Canada. We also enjoy the leather seats and the radio control on the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition 3.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1542 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

A lot of truck for not a lot of money

Faults:

I have currently had the truck for approximately 2 months now and I have not expereinced any major problems.

It seemed that the truck was pulling slightly to the right when I drove it off the lot. I took it back to the dealer who fixed the tire pressure in my right front tire.

In addition, the dealer also informed me the truck is built to pull slightly to the right for safety reasons.

General Comments:

This truck rides better than most cars that I have owned.

The interior on the Limited is far superior to that of the Sport and is worth the upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

17th Sep 2002, 08:24

"In addition, the dealer also informed me the truck is built to pull slightly to the right for safety reasons"

Don't believe this bullsh**, no car is built to pull to the right for safety reasons, what is safe about crashing into a parked car or even worse a tree at the road side.

I live in the UK and we drive at the 'wrong' side of the road, are our Liberty's build to pull to the left for safety reasons or is it OK for us to crash head on.

You better return to the dealer and have him look at your car, there is a common problem with some Liberty's which pull to the right.

17th Sep 2002, 08:36

Even worse, after my Liberty flooded after getting stuck in one foot of water, my dealer, Seafield Motors in Inverness Scotland, told me that this car is not suitable for off road driving, it is designed to drive around town.

When I asked him about all the pictures in the showroom, showing Liberty's in water and other off road conditions, I was told that these where specially prepared and you can't do this with a "normal" Liberty.

1st Nov 2002, 22:00

I purchased my KJ 2002 Renegade (2WD) in the 1st week of October, now have 1500 miles on it. I too thought it was pulling to the right. But I did notice that the roadway had a noticible crown to it. While driving in the desert, where there was no traffic, I drove in the opposite lane, where the crown sloped to the left, sure enough, my KJ pulled to the left. I believe that the additional sensitivity of the Independent Front Suspension causes the KJ to follow the slope of the crown of the road.

Overall I believe my KJ is an excellent vehicle. We have had no problems with it.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 67 reviews