2002 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 20 of 21

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance186 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Looks great, drove great for the first 186 miles until it died

Faults:

I've only had the Liberty for 186 miles and the body control module has already gone bad. It's in the shop as I write this. No speedometer, headlights, air conditioner, power locks. It's a shame that the good feelings about this car lasted only two days.

General Comments:

I hope that this experience is just a fluke because I am really looking forward to driving this car. This is a 4X4 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

25th Jul 2002, 16:53

I drove a new Liberty on the sales lot, and experienced no speedometer and power door locks not working too.

15th Dec 2002, 22:30

Being used to a GMC Jimmy and against my better judgment, I test drove a 2003 Jeep Liberty Sport with on demand 4WD. Selected one from the lot and leased it for four years because it looked kinda nice, felt sturdy unlike the Japanese products. Trouble is, the transmission I got was not the one that I test drove. Had several call from the dealer because I was an irate customer... no results.

The vehicle does not come with a cargo cover (go figure). Had to purchase it. When folding the seats down, this has to be removed and stored behind the driver and passenger seats. More design work needed here. Install that thing on the side like GM does.

Driver side seat belt would not retract properly. Had to get that replaced. Passenger one is a bit sticky too I find.

Has a roof rack, but no impact rails. Dumb design omission.

Have pointed out the omissions and all I get is that they are trying to keep the cost down...

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition 4x4 3.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Great vehicle for the money

Faults:

Bought the Liberty in Late Feb. at 1510 miles I had an electrical problem. My speedometer, odometer, wipers, and headlights all stopped working. The dealer had to replace the "body control module"..which required reprogramming. I believe this problem all started after I had left the headlights on after shutting off the vehicle.

Now my rear flip up window latch needs readjusting and my security alarm doesn't work and I am not sure if it ever has... I have never seen the blinking red light near the fuel gauge.

I do not however, have any problems with pulling to the right, although I do notice a slight rattle coming from the brakes on the passenger side front during slower speeds.

Other than all this, I enjoy this vehicle very much... I feel the suspension is great the leather heated seats are wonderful, and the stereo is awesome. The looks are great!

I also have NOT had any problems with my factory installed sunroof.

The rugged off road personality this vehicle has is tough... unlike the Honda and Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance560 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

The Liberty is the most bang for the buck in it's class

Faults:

Nothing, not even a rattle or a squeak.

The fuel low light doesn't come on until you have about 1.5 gallons left, but that is probably just how it it works.

General Comments:

At first I did not feel the Liberty would be up to the task of replacing the Cherokee. I owned 2 of them and they were very reliable and the most bang for the buck for a small to medium SUV that can honestly up 5000lbs.

The Liberty is a little smaller, but it makes up for that short coming with a much improved ride and a very quiet ride.

The fit and finish is excellent. It seems to be very well made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition Upgrade from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Upgrade Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance5250 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Not bad, Not great- Wait until they fix a few things to buy one

Faults:

Transmission seems to be slipping somewhat. I'm glad I bought the extended warranty. The interior seems to be wearing pretty quickly as well. With only 5K on the vehicle, the seats seem to be wearing, which is not good.

General Comments:

Car is good looking and has lot's of pickup with the engine upgrade to 215 HP. It doesn't handle great around corners, but it is an SUV. Interior is nice with the chrome trim, but the fabric used on the doors and seats is unbelievably cheap; couldn't Jeep do better? Overall, I'd have to say that while I still like it, I may have been able to do better with a slightly used car or by shopping around a bit more. Too bad the Toyota RAV 4 is such a female designed car; I'd have bought it instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

10th Jun 2002, 13:39

What year did you purchase and was it new? I am looking into buying the Liberty and was surprised to hear the "not so good" reviews? Any problems with brakes?

8th Jan 2003, 21:05

I am suspect of this review. There is no cloth on the doors or seats of the Liberty Limited Edition. They are leather! Hmmmmm...

2nd Jun 2005, 20:40

There is no cloth on the doors of the Liberty period. It's very tough plastic.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 67 reviews