2003 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 5 of 16

2003 Jeep Liberty Special Edition from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Do not purchase this vehicle

Faults:

Bought my Jeep in Oct 2006.. Drove the Jeep for 45 Days, lost 4th gear... The Jeep will be in the shop longer than I have been able to drive it. Transmission is being replaced. Recall with ball joints... Due to transmission issue, may have engine issues... It took three dealerships to find the problem, and will take a month to get the new transmission.. Dealership #2 told me that Cherokee's have this problem not the Liberty...

General Comments:

When the car was running correctly, I loved it. However at this rate I should have kept my Camry with 217000 miles on it, at least she never left me stranded. Next car will be a Toyota, Honda or Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 18:41

You were lucky... Here's the problems I had with my 2003 limited edition Liberty.

.. Squeaky brakes (without even having the foot on the pedal) Replaced front rotors and pads... Didn't fix problem. There was supposed to be a recall coming out on these late /94...Never did come out.

.. Replaced rotors for 2nd time... Warped.

.. Rough idle ....Mechanic noticed it, but because nothing showed up on the computer, he wouldn't correct it.

.. Hesitant transmission...You'd sometimes have to wait a few seconds for the trans. to engage. Acted like low fluid, but the fluid level was fine.

.. All the cheap chrome plated plastic lettering peeled off -- for every chrome-plated word. ...Costs close to 50 bucks to replace each one. ...I just did the front, to make the lemon look more presentable for trade-in purposes.

.. Rust started showing up in the seams after only 2 years. Ended up phoning the head office over this. They basically told me to go F. myself.

.. Slabs of paint peeled off front grill, and I was very careful while washing the vehicle.

I was happy to unload this vehicle while it still didn't look too bad...Mind you, I lost a S. load of money by having to trade it in when I did...I'll never deal with Jeep again.

23rd Jun 2008, 20:59

I am also unhappy with my 2003 Jeep Liberty Limited. I loved it at first (when it was running)

I haven't even had it for a year and it needs a new engine?? I think this is a problem that Chrysler is aware of, I just need to find the right person to talk to.

Any suggestions??

Please email me at mike-runnels@sbcglobal.net.

Thanks for your help.

2003 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Good overall, but 2 poorly made

Faults:

Complete blown transmission after 30,000 miles.

Electronic window roll up broke.

Blown rear differential after 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

Way 2 wussy of a SUV for any off road driving in stock form.

However very comfortable.

4 inch lift kit with larger tires made it WAY more of a off road truck along with bigger tires.- Must have.

After stock rear differential blew, I installed a rear true track locker. Must have.

Great gas mileage IMO, 20mpg all the time.

Even with lift, still handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2006

21st Nov 2006, 14:04

Maybe you should learn how to drive... don't knock the quality if you bought the discount version.

2003 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

My Liberty is much more comfortable and solid than I expected

Faults:

The car has exhibited no faults, other than relatively poor gas mileage (at the lowest end of the EPA ratings).

General Comments:

I've been extremely happy with my Liberty. I love the luxury features, which surprised me in a Jeep -- leather, electronically adjustable, heated seats. The vehicle has the very best steering-wheel-mounted stereo controls I've seen in any vehicle.

The ride is rock solid, smooth. I love the way the car handles. It grips the road well.

My only, minor complaint is that the seat bottoms are not deep, or long enough. I wish I could adjust the seat so that the cushion provided support under the backs of my knees. I'm not particularly tall, and I imagine these seats might be very uncomfortable for someone over 6 feet tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2006

19th Jun 2006, 23:37

Agree Jeep Liberty seats are fairly hard, not cushioned, even the leather are pretty thin and hard. We bought 2005 new Liberty Limited model to get better seats and find them marginal. Of course we are spoiled by our Grand Cherokee 5.9 Limited (1998) with super soft leather cushioned seats.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews