2003 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 7 of 16

2003 Jeep Liberty Limited Edition 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Nice vehicle to drive

Faults:

The rear brakes had to be replaced due to moaning noise when cold.

General Comments:

Great power, handles nice, but the glove box is too small and the gas mileage is poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

2003 Jeep Liberty SPORT 4 X 2 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles

Summary:

Will end up trading this vehicle in. Would not suggest buying the 4 cylinder model as it is crap

Faults:

28,000 miles spark plug #1 fouled. Backfiring/engine not firing properly. Dealer replaced spark plug #1.

28,050 miles Engine backfiring, IDIOT light not on, Dealer will not fix.

28,100 miles Engine backfiring, all plugs and wires replaced by dealer.

38,000 miles Engine backfiring, spark plug #1 fouled, replaced spark plug and wire.

Engine still not running properly.

General Comments:

This is a known issue which they have a service bulletin on. The dealership wanted me to hold out until I reached 30,000 miles so I would have to pony up my own money to fix a known issue with the vehicle. Contacted Chrysler they wanted me to have an engine diagnostic done and dealer refused.

Not happy with the treatment of me personally and with the issue. I would be happy if they could fix the issue completely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

3rd May 2006, 13:22

Jeep needs to get rid of thest cars and bring back the cherokee.

2003 Jeep Liberty sport 4x4 3.7L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3300000 miles
Most recent distance3300300 miles

Faults:

4 x 4 shifter is very stiff.

General Comments:

The Liberty is adorable and I love driving it. No real problems as of yet and this is buying it used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

11th Sep 2005, 21:40

So according to your review, your Liberty has three MILLION, three hundred thousand miles on it??? (3300000)

4th Feb 2008, 22:14

Man, I will never buy another car. 3 million miles and going strong!!!

2003 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24721 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Looks great and fun to drive

Faults:

The gas mileage is not up to what is promised. Especially if you live in a hilly area.

Louder engine than expected.

Rough ride on roads that are poorly maintained. Very Bumpy.

General Comments:

Turning radius surprises.

Quick pickup, great for highway driving and off road.

Great car for weekend sports, good cargo area, can carry camping equipment and such with ease.

Towing capabilities are top notch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

2003 Jeep Liberty Limited V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired123 miles
Most recent distance19200 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A poor little lemon

Faults:

At 19,200 miles the whole transmission is gone. I was driving it recently and I couldn't get out of first gear. The care was towed to the dealership and they said a valve body broke into multiple pieces and they had no idea how that happened. They replaced the part which was $1,000 but thank goodness I am under warranty. Then they gave the car back to me and it functioned appropriately for one day before the transmission did not work appropriately again. Now the car is getting a whole new transmission at 19,200 miles -- can you believe it???

Also, after taking it home for two days after I initally bought it, a wire had to be reconnected because the turn signal did not work.

General Comments:

I really love Jeeps, but the reliability is driving me insane.

The car handles very well.

Let us hope nothing else goes wrong!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

24th Mar 2005, 18:48

A problem with the tranny (within 20k miles) makes it a lemon, eh? Not quite. That just makes it a typical jeep.

24th Mar 2005, 21:33

You can't expect a jeep to be very reliable in tranmission. I remember back 2 years ago, I visited my cousins on the farm, they drove a jeep sahara, and the gears barely meshed.

2003 Jeep Liberty from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

I don't trust it anymore

Faults:

Brake system and calipers, warped rotor at 25,000, cv joints bad at 32,000.

General Comments:

I would like it to be fixed, but don't know if they can convince me that is will be "fine".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

13th Mar 2005, 07:25

It will be. Brakes are a common wear and tear item, and 25K on the OEM's isn't really that bad. And CV Joints are pretty straight forward to replace. Everything should be good to go once they fix it. I'm assuming "they" is the dealer.

13th Mar 2005, 18:18

I hope you are right. My Liberty is at the Dealer and they plan to go over it with a fine tooth comb. I will give it one more chance to be dependable. My main gripe is that we have an 88 Commanche with 150K on it and a 99 Cherokee with 110K on it and they have not needed anything, but routine maintenance... and never left me stranded by the side of a country road... call me spoiled! As a somewhat "delicate" female, I expect a vehicle that I paid good money for to get me back and forth to work each day without stress. Brakes going bad at 25,000, give me a break, if you pardon the pun...95% of my driving is fairly passive country roads and a little bit of I-70 highway... I hit about 4 stop lights in the "big city" on the way to work and I have 5-speed manual and I do know how to slow down without riding the brakes all the time. If I didn't know how to drive these things, the others would be in Jeep Heaven by now (and the old man would ban me from even getting into the thing! Front end going out at 32K...don't get me started...) I might as well ride my mule or drive one of my tractors on the 100 mile round trip. I am just a little disappointed with my Liberty, Patriot Blue by the way! GO TROOPS! Thanks for responding and cheering me on... I haven't given up on her yet and your encouragement may help me thru this! Pleasure chatting with you.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews