2004 Jeep Liberty Reviews

2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance325450 miles

Summary:

I love this truck!!!

Faults:

Nothing!!!

This baby has never let me down. Had to replace the battery, and the water pump went at 250,000 km.

I will definitely buy another.

General Comments:

An amazing SUV, handles great in all weather conditions.

Easy to drive, everything in the cabin is close at hand, absolutely no complaints on this ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2013

2004 Jeep Liberty from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Taking it to the dealer to check out what's wrong with it, or if I'm at fault

Faults:

When on black ice, my Liberty spins in a circle when the brakes are applied. This has happened to me four times, twice on the highway. Fortunately, because of the short wheelbase, I didn't hit anything, just a curb or snowbank. I put my Liberty away for the winter, but will be trading it in.

We also own a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee, which I believe saved my son's life when he was t-boned by a drunk driver. Love the Grand Cherokee! It presents no problems on ice. We live in Calgary.

General Comments:

My friends love the look and ride of the Liberty. It's fun to drive as long as you have it under control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2010

2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Second Jeep I've owned, I'll probably buy another someday

Faults:

Check engine light goes on in my 2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade.

Still runs/performs normally.

General Comments:

Have not had any of the problems other owners have had. So far it appears to be the gas cap not being tightened enough, causing the air flow sensor to go nutty.

That's it... so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2010

2004 Jeep Liberty from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It is a great vehicle if Jeep would back up and check out some of the complaints on it

Faults:

Pulls to the right.

Windows mechanisms broken.

General Comments:

The car has always pulled to the right, and it took a Goodyear dealer to find the problem when Jeep could not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2010

2004 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.7 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

I will keep it until the wheels fall off!

Faults:

Nothing - replaced tires and all 4 brakes at 55,000 miles - that's it!

General Comments:

It is quick, responsive, can cruise easily at 85 mph on the interstate.

Decent gas mileage for a 4WD with V-6; 16 city, 22 highway.

4WD is great on snow and ice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2009

2004 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

I would never again buy a Jeep

Faults:

Had to get a new water pump at 75k miles.

Had to get a new radiator at 92k miles.

Have had extensive overheating problems throughout my ownership.

Had catalytic converter problems at 98k miles.

Currently in the shop now for what I assume to be transmission problems at 100k miles.

Gas mileage has been extremely poor for a Liberty to say the least. I average between 14-16 miles per gallon. I usually am lucky to get 300 miles to the 19 gallon tank.

General Comments:

The interior and comfort of this car are great for a Jeep.

I love driving this car, and it handles decent in off road conditions with the exceptions of deep snow or mud and rock crawling.

If it weren't for the close to 5k in repairs over only 2 years of owning this car, I would have no complaints. Unfortunately, that is a pretty huge complaint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2009

2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance79000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cobalt

Summary:

Don't Do It! - Major Electrical Problems!

Faults:

The transmission slips, and there is a mysterious short somewhere in the charging system that no one can find...

General Comments:

This vehicle is the most frustrating vehicle I have ever owned. Transmission started slipping after the first 2000 kms of ownership (I guess they're known for that). But that's only when I can get the thing started. There's some sort of drain in the charging system which is killing my battery that no one can find. So far I have replaced the battery, the alternator, and the battery terminal cables. I have had it in the shop 3 times to be looked at. It's not the starter, the solenoid... who knows?

The Chrysler guy said they have problems with the wiring harness from 2002-2004. Most of it is located under the carpet, so they'll have to take out the seats and tear up the carpeting, then test each wire one by one...I'll trade the lemon in, before I do that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

2004 Jeep Liberty 3.7L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

More utility than sport

Faults:

Needed O2 sensor @ 11000kms.

Rear window rattles.

Plastic dash scratches easy.

Stereo could be better.

Not a lot of Jam for a motor that size.

General Comments:

I have so far put 38,000kms on this Jeep, with nothing more than routine things like fluids and tires.

It is a Jeep, it's rough and not exactly easy on fuel.

For a 3.7L, I do not think it is any harder than any other SUV with a similar motor. If you want gas mileage, then you should consider a Honda CRV or something.

I am not nice to this vehicle, yet it still manages to take a beating.

It is excellent in snow with a good set of tires. I am currently running Cooper snow-grove.

So far has been a decent second hand car, and can be purchased at a good price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2008

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 30 reviews