2004 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2004 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

I think that the vehicle is as good as any given the cost

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

I love the jeep, it looks nice, great shape and comfortable. it handles great in the mountains of WV. For the money you really get a lot of vehicle. It does seem to get lower than hoped for fuel mileage, but it's a SUV and we are spoiled on low fuel costs.

I wish that the stock interior was a little nicer, but a wood dash kit took care of that.

However i did own a 2003 sport and had some problems with it, fouled plugs, the clutch was slipping and the exhaust manifold went out. the day i traded up for my 2004 i got a recall for the ball joint, I was a little disapointed with what went wrong on it, but remember its a new model and it takes a few years to get all the bugs out

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance12050 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A joy to own and drive if you can afford high fuel consumption

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great off the line acceleration.

Good on and offroad ability.

Great fit and finish for a mid-priced domestic SUV.

Seats are clearly designed for little people.

The stereo's sound quality is sub-par.

The gas mileage should be a little better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

6th Apr 2005, 20:23

I do agree that fuel mileage could be better. To date my 2004 liberty sport has gotten a best of 18mpg (all highway) to a worst of 11mpg (all city). This is a far cry from the EPA 17/21. I think Jeep needs to retest the gas mileage.

16th Aug 2007, 10:02

I own a 2004 Liberty Renegade. I just recently went on a trip with the back loaded down full of gear for camping and 400lbs worth of passengers. I averaged 25mpg the whole way there, and about 18 city.

2004 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance961 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

It is awesome overall and if you can afford the low gas mileage it is great

Faults:

I am overall very happy with my Liberty, but not happy with the gas mileage. I am averaging about 13-14 mpg on a truck that is rated 16 city.

Other than gas mileage, I am happy with it. It handles great, really comfortable and very nice looking. Interior cabin room is surprisingly larger than it looks from the outside. I have had a 6'4 person sit behind me very comfortably and I am 5'11 in the drivers seat.

General Comments:

Great truck, very comfortable, handles great, sucks gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2004

27th Jan 2005, 08:26

To add a bit of reality to the "real truck" perspective I offer this. I too was unhappy with mileage, sometime 11mpg city driving. I also had some delay when the car hit 40 mph. Turns out that the shift mapping was hosed up and they re-flashed the chip. Big difference. I'm not getting 50 mph like the "perfect world" might give me, but its better. And the shifting is smoother. My advice is to take it in and have them check it out. It's under warranty and Jeep is usually good about such issues.

2004 Jeep Liberty 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance2100 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Nice, but expensive to operate

Faults:

Gas mpg is lower than the quoted estimates, very low at 13.8 mpg.

General Comments:

It is a gem of a car. Handling is excellent. Comfort is excellent and nice quite running engine. The Gas Mileage is poor to say the least. Window sticker stated 17 city/ 22 highway. Just really did my first check. A combination of mostly city and getting 13.8 mpg. I am really disappointed in mpg. I have talked to people with full size SUVs and they are getting much better than this. Even 8 cylinder suv's are beating my poor 13.8 mpg. I hope I didn't get a lemon because from most of the Liberty surveys I have read on line, the mpg exceeds the estimate mfg. quote.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

7th Aug 2004, 19:03

Weather has a lot to do with mileage. Really hot or Really cold make the engine work harder and therefore it uses more gas. Running the A/C sucks through a lot, plus, give it some more time to get broken in and the mileage should go up. Enjoy your Liberty, It's a whole different world in a Jeep!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 30 reviews