2004 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2004 Jeep Liberty from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

Very nice

Faults:

The water pump had to be replaced at 31000 miles.

General Comments:

The jeep liberty has a very tight steering and turn radius.

I have driven 325 miles on a tank of gas in the city

I have driven 400 miles on the highway

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

2004 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance22800 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

The Jeep Liberty is adequate standard transportation

Faults:

The rear brake calipers locked at 22,400 miles and I had to have them replaced along with the pads as the pads were ruined by the locking. It was not extremely cold and the emergency brake had not been on.

The vehicle also transmits all road bumps directly from the road to the passenger compartment without smoothing them at all.

General Comments:

I generally am very happy with the car, except for the recent locking of the rear brakes, which caused me to have fixed out of warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

2004 Jeep Liberty Limited from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired233 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

I have a 2004 Liberty Limited. A couple of week ago, I was traveling on a rural road, following another vehicle. When I started to go around a right curve in the road, the car would not steer to the right. As I crossed the left lane, I saw a Dodge Ram pick up headed at me, so I tried to steer to the left, but the car wouldn't turn to the left either. The pick up ended up hitting my Jeep at the rear axle, and I continued into the ditch. My Jeep rolled onto the driver's side, and then back up onto the wheels. My jeep sustained extensive damage, but the air bags never deployed. The driveline is missing, and we have yet to be able to determine why the car wouldn't steer.

I'm looking for anybody that may have had a similar incident regarding the steering of the 04 Liberty. If anybody has experienced a similar problem, please let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2005

18th May 2005, 01:00

We`re the stains on the seat covered by the warranty?

18th May 2005, 20:22

Ya know, instead of making jokes about an unfortunate accident, perhaps you should be more concerned about the fact of how is the writer still alive today to tell the story!

Perhaps a faulty power steering pump is to blame for this terrible accident. But at the same time, the Liberty did it's job and kept you safe, and that's the most important thing.

Sorry to hear about your accident.

-A fellow liberty owner.

2004 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Don't buy it

Faults:

Brakes freezing up in winter when temperature is 10 degrees with windchill of minus 20. The brakes did not work. Calipers froze up and vehicle failed to stop. Had an accident with it because of the brakes. The dealer fixed the vehicle and said that nothing is wrong with the brakes. Another time I tried to stop at a stop sign, when there was snow on the ground and only the front brakes worked. The rear brakes did nothing. Again the dealer said there is nothing wrong, and only the front brakes are supposed to lock up, but not the rear.

Wrote to Jeep and they said the dealer is right and he is the only one that understands Jeep brakes. Took it to a brake shop and they told me that the proportioning valve is bad. Jeep dealer says that the brake shop doesn't know jeep brakes.

At 5000 miles the transmission is starting to slip when you stop briefly at an intersection, then try to go again.

Sometimes my rear window hatch opens on its own for no reason and the panic alarm goes off. It's intermittent and no one can find the cause.

General Comments:

Boy am I sorry I got rid of my Ford Ranger for this piece of junk.

Had my Ranger for 10 years of trouble free miles, 130,000 of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

22nd Oct 2005, 18:39

Well I wish mine did, now that it's a year old, the engine quit for no apparent reason. Had to push it off the road. That's where the mittens would have been handy. It was 35 degrees in the morning when it quit. Had it towed to the dealer, sat in their garage for 2 hours and it started again. They couldn't find out why it quit. As for the rear window, my dealer said there is no recall on the 2004 liberty.

The transmission slips when you stop at a stop sign and then proceed across the road. The dealer said its normal for this transmission to slip after you stop. It takes a while for the clutches to engage. There is a strange banging noise coming from the dash when you turn on the heater and everything gets warm. The dealer also said it was normal.

I think that I got a Friday special.

10th Apr 2008, 04:16

That is your rear differential spline that needs to be lubed with 'Lucas Red' found in many auto stores..

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 30 reviews