2002 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 15 of 26

2002 Kia Sedona LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Could be a winner, but is undependable

Faults:

Rear glass shattered upon first driving home. Dealer said glass was installed too tightly.

Alternator went after 15,000 miles.

Idler pully flew off while vehicle was leaving driveway. This was at about 27,000 miles. At this time, CD player would make weird clicking noise and all power would shut off. Dealer says they ordered new radio. No radio yet!

Air conditioning made loud hissing noise and blew white smoke out, then there was no cold air. Around 30,000 miles at this time. Dealer recharged after two days of denying any responsibility.

Air conditioning blew again within two weeks. This time, dealer claimed that a new unit was put in and that the seal was the cause.

During the last time (above) that the car was in dealer, s shop, other things needed addressed. Passenger sliding door is messed up. Don't know if track needs adjusting or grease or what, but dealer forgot to address this issue.

Also at present time, we are bringing Sedona back to dealer to have new seat belt/airbag sensor installed.

Last time Sedona was in shop it was there for seven days.

Yesterday, July 18, 2004, car died and battery was discharged and needed a jump while we were in motion, leaving Home Depot. Also, air conditioner still continues to let out small amounts of smoke and is slowly getting warmer.

We'd guess that car has been at dealer's for approx. 18-20 days all tolled since we bought it.

Currently, noticed that either gas or brake pedals will pulsate, car hesitates at will and brakes feel as if they are not power brakes.

A note here, that the brakes have given out for short period of time, but car could be stopped on these occasions.

Left middle seat arm rest fell off too. at about 28,000 miles. dealer said it was loose.

General Comments:

We like the ride that the Sedona gives, but unexpected problems that are constantly occurring makes one learyto drive the Sedonaon long trips.

Very unhappy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

6th Jun 2005, 16:04

I have had nothing, but problems with my 2002 Kia Sedona. It only has 38,000 miles on it.

The first problem, within one week of purchase, was the battery constantly going dead. They replaced the battery with a new one, but it kept going dead. They finally said it was the lumbar switch and that other Sedona's previously had the switch go out. Why did it take months for them to finally address the issue?

It's been in the shop numerous times because the A/C won't blow cold air. The first time they said it was the "O" ring which they replaced. Finally, we paid for our "family" mechanic to look at our Kia to see why the A/C kept going out. They said that the hose had a hole and was leaking oil and coolant. Now it is sitting in the Kia shop once again getting fixed. I asked them to find out why the A/C also sounds like it's going to blow up when it's on.

Also, the front of the van makes a horrible cracking/popping sound. It sounds like the entire front window is going to bust open. I'm so worried that some day the window will come crashing in on me while I'm driving. The service shop has yet to explain to me what it is.

The van sounds like it is a VW Bus... the engine makes a loud, fast clicking noice like those old VW vans.

The brakes squeak loudly and the brake pedal vibrates under my foot. The service shop has replaced the brake pads, but the problem still continues.

If anyone insists on buying a Kia make sure that you put in the contract that you will get a free loaner vehicle while you car/van is in the shop! I'm without transportation while they try and fix this problem yet again. No transportation and 5 children is not fun!!

2002 Kia Sedona EX Premium V6 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Pray for Fire-Pure Junk

Faults:

The Lord has answered our prayers last week.

We bought a new 2002 Kia Sedona in February (2002) for my Birthday. Before we got 10,000-miles on the van it had been in the shop more than we had it on the road. The entire transmission was replaced before the first oil change.

The alternator continues to go out every 7,000-miles or less.

Our A/C blew a line off last summer (2003) -August. They put a new line on it and recharged it. 3-days later all the Freon blew out of the dash along with oil all in my face.

It was horrible. I was on the way to get my drivers licenses renewed. Called Kia and they said to drive it. They got it back and turns out to of been a defective valve in the system and a weak dash part that gave out. (8000-miles)

Drivers seat broke (8000-miles)

Drivers side door off track, sliding door, almost fell off, would not shut, I had to go back in Wal-Mart and buy rope to tie it up because I didn't have 2-hours to wait on Kia to send a tow truck.

A lot of other things have went wrong as well.

Our Prayers were answered hear is how.

It was about 9:45am last week and Kelly came running into my office and telling me that Security said a car was on fire in the parking lot. I never even thought it was mine. We walked out to see and it was my White Sedona. The fire started in the dash area and the fire department got it out before it took the entire van.

The insurance company considered the van a total loss and cut us a check for $17,884.

We tried to trade it in a few months before and all they would allow us at Honda was $11,100. We would have been so upside down that our payments on a new Odyssey would have been over $760 a month.

Not that it mattered, but I got to watch the security video from about 10-minutes before we started to first see a flashing light glare off the inside of the glass till I saw myself running over to the van after it was put out. We offered to show the tape to the insurance and Kia, but neither wanted to see it.

Maybe of you all run the heater on real high and then park it in the sun it will burn like mine did. The fire was ruled accidental.

Anyway my prayers were answered and I got out of mine for free and will never, never, never, never, and never, ever buy another Korean car for as long as we live.

Never again, no matter how cheap and how long that warranty is.

Never, Never, Never

Texas Family of four.

General Comments:

They are all pure junk. Kia looks good and feels good, but no quality.

We have got a new Odyssey now.

Never again, ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

23rd Dec 2004, 17:19

Should have bought a chevy.

9th Jan 2005, 19:55

Good luck with the Odyssey-your problems may or may not be over.

21st May 2005, 15:46

Hmmmmm... due to this mysterious fire you are now 6k better off than if you'd part ex'd it at the Honda dealer?

I'm off to church tomorrow.

5th Oct 2005, 21:35

I'm currently suffering from Sedona syndrome, I can only hope this happens to mine soon. At least I know these things were built to self destruct I can now live in hope.

21st Oct 2005, 11:28

It doesn't seem right to ask God to start a little fire in your Sedona, but he did part the water for Moses and stuff like that. So helping rid the world of things like the Sedona may be a good thing.

11th Jun 2008, 08:04

Amen to that sentiment!

24th Jul 2008, 14:33

A wise man once said, "There are no good Korean cars." While I don't entirely believe that myself, that certainly seems to apply well here. That man's name, by the way, was Jeremy Clarkson.

High school student in Richmond, Virginia

7-24-2008.

24th Jul 2009, 19:12

I guess problems with the Sedona doors are not rare? I just had the passenger side sliding door fall off it's track today. How embarrassing was that?!?!? I was picking up my sons friend to stay the night and I went to shut the door and it kind of stuck, so I pulled on the door again and off it came at the back. The kid's dad tried to help me put it back on and after all that, we still had to bungee the thing shut to get home (it is Friday night, after 6). My Sedona is no longer under warranty so I get to take the thing in on a Saturday, and pray that the shop can fix it before work on Monday.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 87 reviews