2002 Land Rover Freelander SE from North America

Summary:

Sucks

Faults:

Transmission, thermostat.

General Comments:

I bought a 2002 Freelander SE with 78000 miles on back in May 2009 for $6500. Was really excited to get a LR, since I heard they were a reliable brand.

Whatever, within the first week, the transmission went; cost me $3500 for AAMCO to fix, LR wanted $6800.

Then a month later, it overheated while going to work; coolant emptied out of the bottle. Towed it home, and the engine sounded good.

I planned to change the thermostat, but after 7 months of taking up space in my driveway, I traded it in for a 2011 Kia Sorento. The best thing I ever did.

I wouldn't recommend buying a LR vehicle to anyone, except maybe an enemy.

Good luck to all who are still stuck with a LR Freelander.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2010

17th Feb 2010, 09:23

Land Rover was once a reliable vehicle, sadly not anymore.

18th Feb 2010, 05:16

Honestly, Land Rover has had a bad reputation for decades, but they are amazing offroad; when they actually work that is.

26th Feb 2010, 15:50

Just bought a Freelander this week and you guys are scaring me to death!! So far so good, but I'm starting to wonder if I should take it back while I still have the chance!

8th Mar 2010, 11:40

After thinking about it and looking for a family car too, people don't have to tell me twice.

2000-2003 Rover, no way Jose.

2002 Land Rover Freelander 2.5L V6 from North America

Summary:

Good truck, but too much money to fix

Faults:

Well so far I have had to replace two coil ignitions.

Had to bring the truck in at least 4 times because my service light has come on.

I'm going in again because now I'm losing power It wants to go, but real sluggish off the line till about 40 miles an hour.

I did find out though where the coolant was going; there are sleeves holding the pistons in place, and when it seats and the motor is cold, the sleeves somehow shrink and coolant falls into those sleeves. The way the manufacturer built these trucks, well they didn't do a very good job.

I also found out that a M3 BMW motor fits as a replacement for 02 Freelander SE models. This is because BMW is one of the co-manufacturers for Land Rover.

All these trucks need is some TLC and money to go with it, but overall I'm OK with the Freelander; it gets me from A to B; just needs to be fixed too many times, which is the only thing that sucks about this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2009

2002 Land Rover Freelander ES 1.8 petrol from Ghana

Summary:

I love my Freelander, but I expected it to be tougher

Faults:

My clutch port fell off and landed on the protective metal cover under the engine.

My air-conditioner is not functioning properly.

There is some uncomfortable noise in both the steering wheel and under the vehicle.

The noise from the steering wheel may be due probably to the change from right-hand drive.

General Comments:

Its metallic black colour stands tall among others, and it drives excellently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2009

2002 Land Rover Freelander S 2.4L from North America

Summary:

An embarrassment to Land Rover

Faults:

Where do I start?

Control arms x2 at 79,000km.

Transfer case at 100,00km ($4000).

Vaccum pumps (twice).

O2 sensor (twice).

Starter at 90,000km.

Wheel bearings, hangers, etc.

There was a lot more, but I have erased them from my memory.

General Comments:

This car was the most unreliable, and expense to fix car I have owned.

I couldn't wait to sell it.

Brought it used for $12,000 and have spent at least that back in repairs.

Tried twice to take it on vacation and it broke down both times about 200kms away from home.

Bought a second car to cover the times it was in the garage being repaired. Parts are super expensive and take (at least where I live - major city) about 3-5 days to get from Toronto.

Even the Land Rover dealership that repaired it said "the Freelander is a total embarrassment to Land Rover"

Things that went wrong with (above) continued to need repairing more than once.

A/C was useless as was the heat (bad choice for the Canadian prairies)

The pros... urm... I really like the sound system, the drivers seat sits high, and I have to say, the traction control and AWD made it a tank through heavy snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2009