2000 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 11 of 12

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance60400 miles
Previous carLexus RX300

Summary:

Top of the line car- easily in Mercedes/BMW class

Faults:

Remarkably little has gone wrong.

Engine light went on at 58,000 - was determined to be a computer 'glitch', had nothing to do with the engine. Cost $300+ to fix at dealership.

Had to replace brake pads at 60,000.

Had to replace tires at 60,000.

Nothing else has gone wrong with the car. I bought it certified from Tri County Lexus Dealers in Totowa, NJ.

They do the maintenance and are extremely fast and reliable. They always provide a loaner car as well.

General Comments:

I don't think I will ever buy another car. I have owned a Honda, Huyndai, Toyota, Audi, Chevy and a Volkswagen Kharman Ghia and Jetta. All of these cars had problems.

Comfortable, luxurious interior.

Feel very safe driving this car.

Only thing I would change- tighter turning radius.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2005

31st Jul 2005, 08:34

I have had overall good luck with my RX300 45K miles, I agree with someone else comment about the turning radius.

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable, poor cruise range and mpg

Faults:

Needed rear brakes and replaced the timing belt.

General Comments:

Great car very comfortable, nice ride.

Fuel economy worse than expected under 20 mpg. when commuting in orange county.

Small fuel tank and under 20 mpg. means frequent trips to the gas station.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

12th May 2005, 03:03

First of all, did you expect to never perform any maintenance on your Lexus? It's a magical vehicle, but not miraculous.

Second, if you drive in Orange County, it can hardly be called freeway driving, so one wouldn't expect to get 25 mpg. Mileage-wise, stop and go driving on the 91 will always be much closer to city driving.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Luxurious, reliable, very comfortable SUV

Faults:

The drive light bulb on the display went out. Replaced under warranty for free, would have been $300.

Two tail lights went out, replaced them myself at a cost of $3 instead of the dealer charge of $80 a pop.

The windshield has a small leak in the seal. Took it to the dealer at 51K miles and they said the warranty had expired at 50K miles. Going to split the repair bill with me of $135. This is a certified car with the 100K mile warranty which I learned doesn't cover everything I thought.

Glove box is very difficult to close, a known engineering flaw. Lexus I believe took care of this in newer models, but nothing has been done with mine.

General Comments:

Overall I have been very pleased with this car. It is the first SUV I have owned - previously drove Honda Accord, Toyota Avalon, Acura CL and Integra. The reliability has been on par with the Japanese reputation and the only repairs have been minor cosmetics like the light bulbs. I give it very very high marks for comfort and room. Ergonomics are first rate and interior feels very luxurious as one would expect from a Lexus. Does ride like a large sedan with the visibility and convenience of an SUV. Will buy another, but not for awhile as I anticipate this will keep me happy for years to come. Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2004

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Luxury and performance that makes driving fun

Faults:

If there is any complaint it deals with the original tires, they seem to have worn faster than is reasonable, but that's not a big deal and I will rectify that with tires that are more suitable.

General Comments:

The car has performed admirably, with no complaints about either service or reliability of the vehicle.

It handles extremely well on icy, snow covered roads with no fish tailing or sense of losing control.

I was in a car accident, rammed in the passenger side and the integrity of the Lexus prevented any injuries to myself. The other car, a Chevy, was crunched like an accordion and they suffered soft tissue damage. A real compliment to Lexus and the type of vehicle they manufacture.

The dealership truly treats the Lexus customer like one would like to be treated, my only complaint is I like this car so much I will not be in a rush to buy another newer Lexus model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

21st Jan 2005, 15:25

Hi, What kind of tires do you have? I have a 2001 RX300 AWD. It skids on icy and snow covered road ALL the time.

21st Feb 2005, 14:00

I Just bought a 2003 RX300 for my wife and she and I both love it. I my self have a 4x4 truck and when you are dealing with ice and snow you will slide and there is no getting around that at all. Just be patient and drive safely.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews