2000 Lexus RX Reviews

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance165355 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

The transmissions are made CHEAP!!!

Faults:

My transmission went out at 165,000; my Camry had over 180,000 miles on it and never had a problem with the transmission, so I got a Lexus for an upgrade, but boy was I wrong!!! You would think the transmission would be better on a LEXUS!!! There should be a recall on the transmission, made so cheap, not to last...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2014

13th Jul 2014, 12:02

Why would you think a Lexus is any better than a Toyota? It is a Toyota with a different badge so people will pay a premium for it!

14th Jul 2014, 16:50

This vehicle did not cost the reviewer very much. It was purchased with 110K miles 12 years after it was made. We're not talking about a new Lexus. Making it to 165K miles tells me that it's a good truck.

14th Jul 2014, 20:09

The Lexus RX300 comes as a used Japanese import to New Zealand as a "Toyota Harrier." The Lexus GS is a Toyota Aristo, the Lexus ES is a Toyota Windom, the SC is a Toyota Soarer, and the LX is a Toyota Celsior.

20th Jul 2014, 04:17

You're lucky you made it to this mileage - according to the local transmission specialist, these transaxles are "frequent flyers" at his shop.

20th Jul 2014, 21:34

The biggest problem is that the transmission is almost always one of the most neglected components of a vehicle. It simply is forgotten until it fails. Toyota did not do itself any favors by sealing the unit and claiming it did not need routine servicing and fluid changes. If these units are serviced with a flush, fill, and filter change at "at least" 50,000 miles (80,000 km) by a reputable shop (one that not out to sell you a transmission repair) they will last. What usually happens is the filter clogs and the unit, starved for fluid, burns out.

2000 Lexus RX 300 AWD 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles
Previous carLexus LS

Summary:

This has been the best car that we've ever owned, and certainly the most reliable

Faults:

Driving home from the 60,000 mile service, the newly replaced timing belt broke. The dealer had to replace the engine.

The fuel cap not being properly tightened after filling the tank, caused a $600 device to fail.

The engine burns only premium fuel.

General Comments:

We live in the country, and drive unimproved roads daily. The AWD works effortlessly, but fuel economy is not as good as we would like.

We use the car for long trips as well, and find the seating to be comfortable.

The sound system is superb, as is the climate control.

We have owned many luxury German brands, but the Lexus has had stellar performance, and the RX300 is our favorite of them all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2011

5th Dec 2013, 00:10

You got taken on the gas cap = a $600 repair. Impossible.

RX300 = dang good car, I agree!!

6th Dec 2013, 13:57

We had the same issue with the timing belt with our 1999 RX300 - also while driving home from the dealer.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Very disappointed in Lexus

Faults:

Gas light kept coming on, even though it was checked out by a mechanic several times. They would always tell me that it was a glitch in the computer, but I couldn't get the car inspected unless the engine light was off. So every year I had to get a friend to unplug wires for inspection.

Driver's side window would not roll down. Was told it needed a motor, which would cost $760.

Sunroof stopped working in 2009.

Paint starting peeling off. It looked really bad.

General Comments:

I was so excited to purchase my first Lexus. The first few years it was OK. But as time went on, I noticed that I was having a lot of electrical issues. Not sure if this is something that affected this particular car, or if I was just sold a lemon!

Not very roomy. We are a family of five and would be squished when going somewhere.

Trunk space was small.

Paint started peeling off of the hood. I had to spray some stuff that you try to hide the scratches with over my whole hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th December, 2010

9th Dec 2010, 02:15

Sorry to hear that.

I think the older Lexus was much better, the 1990's Lexus. More luxury and quality back then.

They cut too many corners; now their cars look cheap.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 48 reviews